We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing great views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bed and Breakfast Il Vigneto

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Riomaggiore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bed and Breakfast Il Vigneto
Save
You added Bed and Breakfast Il Vigneto to your Saves list
Via Pasubio, 64 | Volastra, 1907 Riomaggiore, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 31 Riomaggiore B&B and Inns
traverse city, MI
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing great views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2008

Il Vigneto is overall a wonderful relaxing experience and charming place to stay. It has a small Italian village ambiance with many locals, very helpful. The small environment was what we were looking for, and I am so glad because after a day in the busy towns of Cinque Terre, also very nice, we were ready for some R&R and soaking up the views of the sea and vineyards. The perch high above the towns in the oceans is an awesome experience, the owners of the B&B were so helpful and let anyone use the patio terrace to sit at to enjoy the views. Our room was small but comfortable with a private bathroom, very nice for a small B&B. The owners helped us with finding a bus to catch our train back, we had no idea what to do and they solved our problems. The only downfall to the location is that the shuttle bus from Volastra down to Manarola is limited in it's hours and we had to plan our day around catching the bus back, especially at night, the last run was at 7:30, which limits dinner options. One night we did walk back up, a 3Kilometer, steep walk but if you are fit not a problem.
Overall highly recommended, we would go back here.

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    29
    8
    4
    3
See reviews for
14
27
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
daytonabeach
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2007

We stayed here July 10 to July 14, 2007 and found the place restful and beautiful . The rooms were very well appointed and our view of the sea and mountains was fantastic. Volastra is up from Manorola and very quiet which is refreshing after a day in the Cinque Terre towns. Every evening we would sit on the beautiful terrace overlooking the sea and mountains and watch the evening approach. Patrice and Andrea were very nice and he even helped us with our car when it wouldn't start. His parents are also very pleasant. There is a little store a few doors down that was very handy for bread, cheese, and wine.
Perfect holiday place!

S. Quick

  • Liked — Private and quiet
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2007

We stayed three nights in June, and wouldn't stay anywhere else. The innkeepers were quite friendly. We had a very simple, but nice and spacious room with a large bathroom and a view of both the mountains and the sea. This was like a sanctuary away from the touristy crowds.

This B&B is very close to the Hiking trials.

We had a great, authentic Italy experience by staying a little out of the way. The people of Volastra are very friendly. Brush up on your Italian. While down the hill most people speak some english, that is not so in Volastra.

Highly recommended.

  • Liked — Quiet out of the way location, felt like a secret!
  • Disliked — Leaving
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
asldkfj
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2007

- We booked a twin with private bathroom and seaview, we got a small double room with view to the street with bathroom some steps above with window to the terrace (I actually never had a less private bathroom) and noise starting at 7:45 when preperations for breakfast service started. We didn't need any alarm clock ;-)

-The host (Andrea) was really (!) unkind. I don't bother you with details. However all chambermaids have been very cheerful and friendly.

- The bus service is quite limited up to the village. We had to get up early to chatch the last morning bus (10:30) and had to take the last bus from Manarola at 7:30 p.m. up to Volastra. We didn't have the chance to have dinner somewhere out of Manarola.

+ We often used the magnificent terrace for our dinner.
+ We liked not being in the "center" of chinque terre for it was quite cramped in May
+ Beautiful view from up the hill to the vinyards and down to the sea

Nevertheless I would not recommend that place. There must be some nicer one in cinque terre.

  • Stayed June 2007
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2006

My mom and I stayed here 2 years ago and just loved it. The rooms were nice but if you are young and can walk up the hill better for you. My mom is 60 and had a hard time, but it was worth it. I loved the quaintness of the place and Pat and her boyfriend are great. I heard they had a baby. I still write them once in awhile. Her boyfriend is a policeman in La Specia and he took us to the train station at the end of our stay. The balcony with the view, wow. I just stayed there looking out at all the time. Some old guy in town kept talking to us in Italian like we understood and was so nice to us. I felt like I was in an old movie. Great Great Great.

  • Stayed March 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2005

My husband and I stayed at Il Vigneto last year, and we can't stop thinking about the place and Volestra. Yes it's a bit out of the way, and I think that was the best part. We met so many locals and tourist on the bus. We were there at the begining of the grape harvest. Everyone was offering grapes for us to taste. Each sweeter than the next. The view from the breakfast terrace was unbelieveable. You just wanted to linger to take in the views. Patricia was lovely, she didn't know what to do to make our stay memorable. We toured most of Italy from the Dolamites to Positano, and we have to say Volesta was very memorable. We are going back to Italy August 2005 and will definately stay at Il Vigneto again. This time we will stay more than just 4 nights. This is the Italy we came to see.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2005

We may have overlapped one of the other reviewers as we arrived around the 4th. of June for 3 nights. While I do agree that the shuttle only running until 7 pm presents a problem, we seemed to work around it okay. The best part about this place is that unlike the 5 terraces, this town is very quiet and not overrun by tourrists as there are only 121 residents. The view from the terrace is spectacular and very romantic. Patricia is a wonderful hostess and very friendly. If you are into hiking, this is also a great place as we hiked down every day either to Manarola (30 minutes downhill) and to Corniglia (beautiful 1-1.5 hour walk, right through the vinyards!). The restaurant in town makes a great grilled swordfish! Yes, the service is a little slow, but then again, we never went to a restaurant, in Italy, that tried to get us through a meal in less than 2 hours.

We also met some people who hiked up at night, though I don't recommend it after a bottle or three of wine! It takes around 45 minutes up the path from Manarola.

If you are into hiking or just want to escape, this place is wonderful!

Of course, the Cinque Terre in general is one place that will always stay in both my and my wife's heart as it truly is paradise on earth!

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Bed and Breakfast Il Vigneto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bed and Breakfast Il Vigneto

Address: Via Pasubio, 64 | Volastra, 1907 Riomaggiore, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 31 B&Bs / Inns in Riomaggiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Il Vigneto" is a family-run Bed & Breakfast activity, in the middle of the ancient village of Volastra (from the latin Vicus Oleaster, which means the place of olive trees). Volastra is one of the most authentic realities in the heart of the National Park of the Cinque Terre, where terraces built with dry stone walling cleverly made without any cement, give place to the cultivation of vineyards and olive trees. Volastra besides offering an extraordinary natural landscape with hills sloping down to the sea, is the most important crossway of paths of the Cinque Terre. In fact, from Volastra you may hike many paths with various levels of difficulty surrounded by a spectacular nature. All the paths are duly signed with red and white strips.In a few minutes from Volastra you may reach Manarola thanks to a good shuttle bus service. The cost of the bus is included in the daily ticket to visit the National Park. Once you are in Manarola you may use trains and boats to visit the other four villages. "Il Vigneto" of very recent restructuring offers double, triple and quadruple rooms, each one with its own bathroom, TV sat, high speed internet connection, small fridge, heating and a few with sea view. Breakfast is served in the dining room while during the good season it is served on a wide panoramic terrace with an amazing sea view. From the terrace, that may be used by our guests, you may admire the sea surrounded by hills cultivated with olive trees and vineyard. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
b&b Il Vigneto
Bed And Breakfast Il Vigneto Hotel Riomaggiore
Bed And Breakfast Il Vigneto Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bed and Breakfast Il Vigneto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.