We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place for 5 terre visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Due Gemelli

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Due Gemelli to your Saves list
Due Gemelli
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Litoranea 1, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Riomaggiore
Rome
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Amazing place for 5 terre visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We didn’t want to stay in one of the 5 towns so this was the perfect place close by. You need to have a car as this is 5 minutes’ drive from Riomaggiore. (I never saw the bus even there is one)

The good thing about this place was our terrace room (that was as big as the room itself) with just amazing view. The room is no luxury accommodation but clean and simple. No fridge in the room though. The staff was amazingly helpful and ready to do whatever you asked them for.

Only negative thing about the terrace was the neighbors next door, coming in very late at night and the walls are paper thin and they slam doors and stayed outside on the terrace drinking and chatting until late night.

Restaurant is very good and you have the same amazing view from there. We would defiantly come back here, absolutely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    63
    26
    8
    2
See reviews for
28
66
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Castle Rock, Colorado, United States
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Our family had a great stay at Due Gemelli. The staff treated us like family and you have an amazing view of the Mediterranean Sea. The restaurant was excellent as well. It's a perfect spot to explore Cinque Terre.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

If you are travelling with a car then this is an amazing place to stay. Lots of parking. It is situated on top off the cliff a few kilometres from Riomaggiore. Our room was great, free wifi, some English channels on the tv. But the best part was having a terrace in front of our room looking straight out to sea. We bought a bottle of wine from the restaurant and had a picnic on our terrace as the sun set. Magic. The next day it started to rain and a storm developed by the afternoon. It was the best possible place for this to happen. I sat in the restaurant of the hotel with a glass of wine and caught up with emails and postcards to friends and family and was entertained by the uninterrupted sight of the storm over the ocean. The staff here are friendly and very helpful and they put up with my pathetic attempts at speaking Italian. If you have a car and you are visiting Cinque Terre I highly recommend you stay here.

Stayed October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squamish
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

Stayed there for 3 nights, and loved it. Definitely need a car though since it is a good 5 km of windy roads from Riomaggiore. Staff super friendly and helpful, and the food is very good! Nice and quiet, with amazing views on the ocean. We recommend!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed there for three nights in September. Since we had a car, so we decided to stay outside the town instead of fighting for parking. You can catch infrequent yet adequate bus to Riomaggiore, so it is not that inconvenient. Place is quiet and our room was at the top with a open balcony. Room was simple but very clean. View was spectacular! Breakfast was very nice and included in the price. After seeing the congestion at Reiomaggiore, we were glad we picked this place. Staff was very friendly and provided good information around the area. The last bus leaving Riomaggiore is 7:45pm, so schedule your visit accordingly.

We also find a nice day hiking trail down to the ocean. This is not for the unfit, though. You will need steady shoes. The trail starts at the nearby Borgo di Campi (would not recommend that hotel to those who carries a lot luggage), follow the trail, passing many vineyards and camps, and eventually winds almost vertically down to the ocean. When you get to the ocean, there are several swimming holes with great ocean view and no one bothers you. Great experience!. It took us 45min to go down and 1hr to get back. Primitive trail so be extremely careful! If you like hiking and have the time, put on your swimming suit and you will enjoy the hike and the swim!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

If you want to stay in the heart of one of the cities, this hotel is not for you. It's located outside of the main cities. This hotel worked for us. We drove to town and needed a place to park our car, which they provided. We were able to easily drive to each of the Cinque Terre cities.
The lobby of the hotel has been upgraded. The staff is friendly and there is a restaurant on-site. The view is phenomenal. We got wine from the restaurant and stared at the ocean. The problem is the room. It is clean, but very much looks like a Motel 6 room.

Room Tip: I'm not sure if all of the rooms had the view we did, so make sure to ask for a room with a view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

The hotel is nice and clean. It is located a few kilometers up the mountain which you need a private car to get there. Our room had a great view and nice (but little bit old) balcony.
Had a nice breakfast. It has a good value for the price we paid, we stayed for 1 night before visiting Manarola vilage.

Room Tip: Choose a room in front of clif!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Due Gemelli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Due Gemelli

Address: Via Litoranea 1, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Riomaggiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Due Gemelli 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Due Gemelli reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Due Gemelli Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre, Italy
Due Gemelli Hotel Riomaggiore

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Due Gemelli, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.