We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple but excellent rooms in great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alla Marina

Save Saved
You added Alla Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alla Marina
Via San Giacomo 61, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 28 Riomaggiore B&B and Inns
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Simple but excellent rooms in great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Great location with view of small harbor, close to station. Simple but very clean comfortable room. Exceptional value for the price. Annette met us at train station and helped us to hotel which would be nearly impossible to find on your own. She and Sandro were very helpful with maps, restaurants, hiking suggestions.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with view of harbor. Ours did not have a balcony but some do and would have been n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    257
    22
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
47
155
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

We do not need a lot of words to explain the Tripadvisor visitors that Sandro is a true gentleman with only one thing in mind which is " If you're happy, I am happy "
Excellent location, appartment and services. You're gonna love this place.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We took TA's recommendation to stay at Alla Marina and were so glad we did. Sandro and Annette were wonderful. He waited for us at the train station (even though we missed the earlier train), insisted on taking our heavy luggage and giving us loads of information to make our stay perfect. The room was very clean and spacious and the food he provided was great - juice, milk, cereal, croissants, crackers, jam, coffee. tea. Enough to get us ready for our day of exploring the area. The location was also perfect. It was so close to the train station - we forgot our camera one day, so quickly rode the train back from another town, got the camera and caught the next train back. Riomaggiore was a great place to stay - great time, good food values. We had a huge pizza and full bottle of wine for 12 euros one day!!! Make sure you walk to the top and sit by the little church and watch the children at play after school.
Thanks Sandro and Annette annd good luck with your wedding plans.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Riomaggiore was not our first choice of town to stay in around Cinque Terre - after visiting all of the towns we thought this was the best!

The apartment was in a great location, Annette met us at the train station to show us to the apartment which made it really easy.

The rooms were large and clean, we had a view over the harbour and had a great time sitting in the window with a bottle of local wine people watching.

Sandro and Annette both gave us great tips for the area and were a pleasure to deal with, making the stay really easy and enjoyable.

Breakfast in the room was great and the free coffee at the station was a nice start to the day.

When we were leaving Sandro took the time to ask if there was anything we would recommend he does to make it better - I suggested a better hairdryer, within a minute he had one in the box in our room. So if you need anything just ask, it seemed that nothing was too much trouble.

A great base to explore the region.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The owner was very helpful and emailed very explicit directions on how to drive into this extremely hard to reach town- This was very important as it is actually dangerous to take the route we were planning to drive!.He even met us at a parking spot that he was holding for us and helped us carry our bag to the apartment. The accommodations were centrally located, very clean and comfortable with a lovely view of the fishing harbor. Sandro gave us a lay of the land and was always available by email, if not in his office, for questions and useful things like new towels. I can't recommend this place more highly for anyone who has very high standards of cleanliness and (I am allergic to everything!) and wants a incredibly beautiful and fun vacation! I wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

These rooms are fresh, modern and just on the boat ramp to the water. Sandro meets you at the station to show the low stair route and settle you in with all the information you need..
We had not expected breakfast to be included so were pleasantly surprised when found all prepared in the room and fridge.
Bed great with extra pillows. Large room safe big enough for the laptop. Large bathroom, great shower plenty hot water.
Some local noise at night but good glazing & very quiet for sleeping.
Pegs & line provided were so appreciated as the town laundromat closes at 7:30!
Sandro around for information & anything you need.
We loved our stay here, walking all day into the surrounding hills, sitting down on the harbour in the evenings after the tourists had left watching the sun set, and then eating in the restaurant just downstairs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville MN
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was by far the best accommodations we've had our entire time in Italy. Sondra and Annette were extremely helpful in every way from meeting us at the train station, explaining everything to us about the area, recommending activities - hikes and restaurants (even making our reservations) and lending us an umbrella! Our room looked out over the local marina and sea, was clean and comfortable. We listened to the sea all night long! Riomaggiore is the first of the towns but Alla Marina is very conveniently located to the train station which easily connect you to all of Cinque Terre.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alla Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alla Marina

Address: Via San Giacomo 61, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Riomaggiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest house "Alla Marina" is set right by the sea in Riomaggiore, one of the Cinque Terre villages.Train station is 4 minutes far on foot.Private Parking – upon request.Rooms are modern and have free Wi-Fi, private bath, and a free little breakfast inside of each room.Comfort facilities - hair dryer, safe and fridge bar in every roomThis singular position offers a marvelous panaramic view. Simply descend the stairway there is a restaurant/cofee bar.There are 2 rooms with sea view.Alla Marina guest house has been completely renovated in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alla Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alla Marina Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alla Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.