We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A delight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alla Marina

Save Saved
You added Alla Marina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Alla Marina
Via San Giacomo 61, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #2 of 28 Riomaggiore B&B and Inns
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“A delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

These rooms are fresh, modern and just on the boat ramp to the water. Sandro meets you at the station to show the low stair route and settle you in with all the information you need..
We had not expected breakfast to be included so were pleasantly surprised when found all prepared in the room and fridge.
Bed great with extra pillows. Large room safe big enough for the laptop. Large bathroom, great shower plenty hot water.
Some local noise at night but good glazing & very quiet for sleeping.
Pegs & line provided were so appreciated as the town laundromat closes at 7:30!
Sandro around for information & anything you need.
We loved our stay here, walking all day into the surrounding hills, sitting down on the harbour in the evenings after the tourists had left watching the sun set, and then eating in the restaurant just downstairs.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    251
    21
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
46
150
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeville MN
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

This was by far the best accommodations we've had our entire time in Italy. Sondra and Annette were extremely helpful in every way from meeting us at the train station, explaining everything to us about the area, recommending activities - hikes and restaurants (even making our reservations) and lending us an umbrella! Our room looked out over the local marina and sea, was clean and comfortable. We listened to the sea all night long! Riomaggiore is the first of the towns but Alla Marina is very conveniently located to the train station which easily connect you to all of Cinque Terre.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This property has windows that open to the tiny Riomaggiore harbour.
Ther is no room with a balcony and breakfast is supplied in the room.
As a base for walking the cinque terre towns it was ideal despite the coastal walks between Riomaggiore and Manarola and corniglia being closed at the time of our visit from27 April to 1May.
We found beautiful scenic walking trails inland from Riomaggiore and manarola.
Sandro, the manager met us at the train station and orientated us to the town. He remained available personally or via his deputies for the whole visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keego Harbor, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The host: Sandro was wonderful and very accommodating. He met us at the train station, and was helpful with our very heavy luggage (we had just come from Barolo, with 9 bottles of wine in our bags). During the walk to the room, he took time to point out everything we needed to know about the location (markets, restaurants, etc…).

The room: Large, airy space, with modern amenities, and comfortable beds. Incredible view of the Med from 2 windows (one off the bedroom, and the other off the sitting room). The windows also gave the space great natural light throughout. Americans may want to pack a soft pillow, but European travelers will feel right at home.

Location: Right above the harbor, with fantastic views of the Med, and the town. Close to the harbor; the beach trail; the town piazza (square); great little restaurants (La Lanterna is steps from the front door), and a local market. 5 minute walk from the train station.

Price: Very reasonable. When considered with the location; the quality of service, and the room, the cost was an excellent value.

Expect much stair climbing. …not only in the hotel, but throughout the Cinque Terre. Built 500 years ago or more, and into very steep hillsides, you don’t need an exercise facility in the hotel. Everywhere you go will give you a good cardio workout, and with a much better view than any health club.

Overall, a fantastic experience. Without hesitation, I would stay again, and recommend to anyone visiting the Cinque Terre.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Alla Marina for 2 nights in April 2013.
TA was right- stunning view, great and spacious room, perfect location, and on top of everything Sandro and his welcoming attitude.
We will definitely come again!

ממליצים מאוד מאוד, לא תצטערו!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is the best B&B - friendly owners, wonderful view and great location, There are 3 small apartments overlooking the boat harbour. The building itself is extremely old but Sandro and his family did a totaly internal renovation in 2011. The room is quite large (Room 2) with a lovely view and the afternoon sun which is great in April. Sandro met me at the station and assisted with my luggage chatting and explaining the village along the way. The breakfast offered is wonderful, cereal (2 types) milk, youghart, tea, coffee, croissants, jam more than anyone would need. It was lovely each morning to wake up and have breakfast planning the day ahead without having to go to a dining room. Nothing was ever too much trouble for Sandro - even happy to assist with my luggage when leaving. This is a wonderful quiet location with access to everything in the Cinque Terre.

Room Tip: Rooms 2 or 3 have a view but room 1 is less expensive without a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 3 days in March 2013. We have but positive things to say about the location, the owner, and the facility itself. There are several small apartments completely furnished with modern decor, very clean and pleasant. The building itself is from the 1300 but the inside is completely renovated and modern. Location cannot be better. Minutes walk from the train station at Riomaggiore, and right in the heart of the beautiful small marina. Views are breathtaking. The owner, Sandro was very helpful even before our arrival, answering our many inquiries by email. He even waited for us in the rain at the train station to help us with our luggage and showing us the shortest way to his place. Riomaggiore is beautiful, and our stay was great.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Alla Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alla Marina

Address: Via San Giacomo 61, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Riomaggiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest house "Alla Marina" is set right by the sea in Riomaggiore, one of the Cinque Terre villages.Train station is 4 minutes far on foot.Private Parking – upon request.Rooms are modern and have free Wi-Fi, private bath, and a free little breakfast inside of each room.Comfort facilities - hair dryer, safe and fridge bar in every roomThis singular position offers a marvelous panaramic view. Simply descend the stairway there is a restaurant/cofee bar.There are 2 rooms with sea view.Alla Marina guest house has been completely renovated in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Alla Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alla Marina Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alla Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.