We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, Like Others Say, Plus More!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Alla Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Alla Marina to your Saves list
Alla Marina
Via San Giacomo 61, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
30% off room rate
Ranked #2 of 28 Riomaggiore B&B and Inns
Surf City USA
Top Contributor
319 reviews 319 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 133 cities Reviews in 133 cities
197 helpful votes 197 helpful votes
“Amazing, Like Others Say, Plus More!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

To what others have said - which is all true (and more) about the fabulous hospitality at Alla Marina, I will add that Sandro's lovely home has been in his family since 1252. Yes, that date is correct, and he is a direct descendant (along with his younger brother) of that original settler in Riomaggiore. It doesn't get any more authentic than this. But last year, he embarked on a renovation of this place that makes it a Cinque Terre showplace. If you are North American, and watch Property Brothers on HGTV, you would think those dudes had been here, and personally supervised the remodeling. By law, the outside has not changed much since 1252. Inside, the 13th Century now meets the 21st. The apartments have exquisite hardwood floors, immaculate new walls, perfect ceilings and all modern colors. The furniture - beds, couches, chairs, tables - are all first quality. The fixtures are all new. The bathrooms are lovely tile, floor to ceiling, and the showers terrific. Every is delightful. Plus, if you open your window, and look out, you see the Ligurian Sea, which is only steps away. Leave the window open, and sleep in a comfortable, new bed, to the sounds of breaking surf. If you need anything, Sandro will oblige. Anything. It doesn't matter how wacky your request, he will try to make it happen. What a great personality! He knows everyone in town, everyone seems to love him, and he will make you feel as welcome as a local. Or, you could stay somewhere else, where they make you feel like tourist. It's your call.

Room Tip: Tell Sandro what you need, he will provide it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    26
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
48
168
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

If you are planning a visit to the Cinque Terre- stay in Riomaggiore and please contact Sandro at Alla Marina. If his wonderful rooms are avaiable you will be SO happy you chose to stay here. From my first email enquiry, he was quick to respond and helpful. The prices are great for his accomodation esp considering everything incuded (which are definitely uncommon "extras" in these coastal towns.) Extras such as Free WiFi, breakfast drinks and a mini fridge in your room and a parking space available for a small fee. If the apartment with a view and balcony is available even better! Enjoy your time in this magical area of LIguria.

Room Tip: Ask for the apartment with balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2012

We stayed for three nights in mid January 2012. Soon after booking I was surprised to receive an e-mail from Sandro introducing himself, offering information on how to get to Riomaggiore and offering to meet us at the train station (Great Service). Sandro met us at the station as promised, pointed out local amenities, helped with our bags, showed us our room and also pointed out the best restaurants in Riomaggiore. You couldn't ask for more.

The room itself was in a great location right above the harbour, was newly renovated, clean and tidy and spacious. Most importantly the bathroom was great and the bed was comfortable. Perfect for a three night stay. It was fantastic to lay in bed and be able to hear nothing but the waves of the Mediterranean washing up in to the harbour.

There were few people around in mid January but the weather was mild and there were plenty of restaurants / cafes open. It would be hard to beat the seafood served at La Lanterna in the harbour.

We loved our stay in Riomaggiore and would gladly stay at Alla Marina again when we go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

First off, the location of Alla Marina is ideal, it's very near the marina, a walk from the train and breath-taking views away you from your room window. The room decore is simple, modern, tasteful, and very updated. There is more than enough room to feel comfortable, and the bathroom was the largest of our entire European trip. More importantly thought, Sandro the manager of Alla Marina was spectacular. He coordinated our arrival in advance, collected our late luggage from the airport courier, provided recommendations on places to eat and things to do and regularly asked if there was anything we needed for our room or to make our stay more enjoyable.

Room Tip: Request the short and long directions from the train.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

After visiting three countries and various hotels, we arrived in Riomaggiore, what a pleasant relief, after being disappointed with our accomodation in Saint Raphael, we werent expecting much here.
The place was incredible.The owner emailed use before we arrived and offered to meets at the station and show us the most direct route and help us with our luggage, he really looked after us our entire stay. The rooms were clean and very new (recently renovated) we were put into a large room with a separate room with sofa (bed) and desk, it could easily accommodate three people. The location was superb, close to the station, restaurants, and walks, not many steps to get to the accommodation (unusual for here), our window overlooked the little harbour of Riomaggiore which was spectacular especially at sunset. The Internet was lightning fast and free, as was a light breakfast and coffee and tea making facilities in the room (unusual for Europe)
This place is excellent, reasonably priced, a wonderful Italian holiday experience made all the better by the owner. If you are going to Riomaggiore this is the only place to stay.

Room Tip: They are all good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glenview, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

I was backpacking through Europe with a friend and we stopped in Cinque Terre in the beginning of November. Though this was the off season, it was the perfect time to visit. The weather was beautiful and still warm during the day, and there were less crowds than in the summer, which was perfect for hiking the trails. Alla Marina was a great place to stay!! The rooms are modern and very clean, and they have the most incredible views of the marina and the sea!!! The service was amazing, and Sandro (the owner) even came to pick us up from the train station and gave us a tour of the town. We couldn't have asked for anything better!!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leipzig, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2012

The decoration is very new, I like the bathroom,

Service is very attentive。internet is free, breakfast is simple

Location very good, the hotel offers parking spaces. However, if your baggage is heavy, you will very tired, because some of the road is very steep slope

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Alla Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alla Marina

Address: Via San Giacomo 61, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Riomaggiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guest house "Alla Marina" is set right by the sea in Riomaggiore, one of the Cinque Terre villages.Train station is 4 minutes far on foot.Private Parking – upon request.Rooms are modern and have free Wi-Fi, private bath, and a free little breakfast inside of each room.Comfort facilities - hair dryer, safe and fridge bar in every roomThis singular position offers a marvelous panaramic view. Simply descend the stairway there is a restaurant/cofee bar.There are 2 rooms with sea view.Alla Marina guest house has been completely renovated in 2011. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Alla Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alla Marina Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Alla Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.