We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never want to go home, please let me stay!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Scogliera

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Riomaggiore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Scogliera
Save Saved
You added La Scogliera to your Saves list
Salita Castello, 178,, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
€85 (EUR)
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Riomaggiore
2 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Never want to go home, please let me stay!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We knew this would be good. However it is so much better then good. Everything is brilliant. This would have to be one of the best places we have ever stayed!
Lemon cake and limoncino home made as a welcome. Seriously I was won over before that but it just made it all soooooo much more amazing.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    166
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
124
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We had some trepidation about staying here as we are in our sixties and had felt that it may be a climb to the room. It was indeed quite a haul up the steps but so worth it! The room was lovely with bright and airy decor. Small but adequate bathroom and useful stuff like coffee maker, fridge and safe provided. Paolo, the joint owner with his brother, provided so many clean towels that we didn't use them all. When we arrived there was a bottle of limoncello waiting for us made with lemons from his own grove and to this, later in the week, was added the gift of a tasty lemon cake, again from his own production and a bottle of his own wine. Incidentally, seeing that I had finished the limoncello, he ran back upstairs and brought down another! The view from the windows out over the ocean and the cliffs was spectacular. We were lulled to sleep by the sound of the waves and woke to the calling of the family of seagulls living under our window. We had a really splendid time at La Scogliera

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boise, Idaho
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

Everything about this place is fabulous, At the bottom of the marina the up, up, up, the stairs! Rang the bell of the apartment and Maria (the mother) came out from her apartment. She speaks no English, and I speak no Italian, and the translator app on my phone was not much help, but she had a list of guest names and pointed to ours then gave us the key. Walked into 4 days of heaven. A good sized bathroom, a cute dining area and kitchen with a walk out terrace with a fabulous view, then a bedroom with adequate closet space and safe deposit box. The apartment sits on the cliffs just above the ocean marina. Something about the waves crashing on the rocks below was so soothing, I slept so well. We had a bottle of homemade Limoncino awaiting us and then a delicious lemon tart made by Paulo. Speaking of Paulo, a genuinely nice and hospitable man We enjoyed his visits, and though we speak no Italian, and he does speak limited English, we were able to communicate and have a couple of lovely visits with him. He shared pictures of his family and of Riomaggiore both past and present and was interested in knowing about us and our hometown. If you are thinking of visiting the Cinque Terra, do yourself a favor and stay in Riomaggiore, it's smaller and not as crowded with tourists and by all means stay here. Then buy yourself some wine, bread, cheese, and salami from one of the local stores, sit on the terrace and toast to the Cinque Terra.




b

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We booked our stay in Riomaggiore with some trepidation as "The Room" sounded a bit scary. I am writing this review sitting in front of my window in "The Room" and listening to the incredible surf and sea gulls with all my stress melting away. The room is wonderfully equipped with all the emenities and we love the view and feeling so much we are going to eat in our room and watch the sun set. Please communicate (Email preferred) when you expect to arrive and don't be afraid to ask for directions down the the marina as it is a bit challenging to find. The bed is a Queen and there is a small fridge and sitting area by the room's window that looks out over Mediterranean Heaven. The bathroom is excellent with its own hot water supply. We couldn't be more happy with this incredible "Room"!!!

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This beautiful accommodation in Cinque Terre took my breath away immediately. As I stepped out onto our balcony for the first time I was instantly captivated by the most incredible seascape I have ever witnessed. During the mornings we listened to the crashing waves and in the evening we sipped our complimentary limoncello given to us from the owner's son, Paolo (who is a gem of a host himself), while watching the sunset - everything was so beyond enjoyable and staying here is truly like a dream. Fully recommended to anyone in the Riomaggiore area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homosassa, Florida
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

This is a gem of a place to stay. The view is unbelievable & the sound of the crashing waves below create a "white-out" sound that is relaxing and peaceful. The owner and her son are very friendly. Their concern with our needs was very nice and extremely genuine. This is THE place to stay in Riomaggiore. The son made us a cake from his local lemons which was still warm as he handed it to us. He also had a bottle of homemade wine and a bottle of his own Limoncino. Where else can a visitor get such amenities? Top rated is my feeling about La Scogliera!!!

Room Tip: Both units have spectacular views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aol
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Just returned (May 2013) from perhaps the best experience we have ever had. When we entered our room At La Scogliera we were mesmerized.by its charm (and that means really charming charm). Awaiting us on our little kitchen table, was a welcome bottle of Paola's family wine and windows overlooking the sea which I immediately opened and hung out of to fully appreciate the Mediterranean directly below me. The room was meticulous and well designed. It included a queen size bed, flat screen TV, complimentary WiFi, safe, ample closet space, coffee/tea machine and room to easily move around in.The bathroom was modern with a great shower, hair dryer and self hot water heating tank. Our friends stayed in the apartment two stories above where we shared our breakfasts that we were able to purchase up the street (juice, milk, yogurt ,fruit,and coffee cake.) Maria, Paola's mother, was our greeter. Paola came later baring gifts, a freshly homemade limoncello torte and a bottle of his own made limoncello. We suggested where he should hang Trip Advisor's 2013 Outstanding Award, right above 2012's!!!

Room Tip: Travel light. Most accommodations require old stone steps to reach them. Take the boat over the tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Scogliera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Scogliera

Address: Salita Castello, 178,, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Riomaggiore
#2 Family Hotel in Riomaggiore
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The apartment has a small entrance, a bright kitchen with terrace on reef, a double bedroom and bunk bed, bathroom with shower, air-control system for summer/winter, fridge, TV SAT, hair-drier. Rental price includes: linens, utility expenses (light, gas, water) open all year round ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Scogliera Hotel Riomaggiore
La Scogliera Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Scogliera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.