We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic apartment with awesome views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Scogliera

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Riomaggiore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Scogliera
Save
You added La Scogliera to your Saves list
Salita Castello, 178,, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€80 (EUR)
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Riomaggiore
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Ulverstone, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic apartment with awesome views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

During August we stayed for four nights in this wonderful apartment and were spoiled by the hospitality of Agostino and Paolo. The apartment was spotlessly clean, with amazing views from both windows and our little balcony. It had everything we needed for our stay. Like other guests, we were really impressed with the care and thoughtfulness of the family - we too sampled limocelli and enjoyed a delicious lemon torte. Also, we were personally escorted to a couple of recommended eating places. During our six weeks travel in Europe we considered this exceptional accommodation. (Only problem - not really clear on arrival and departure processes)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    11
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
23
137
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Make sure you are fit, and if possible, minimise your luggage. Lots of steps to get to this apartment, but worth every one of them. They did get smaller as the days went by.
The view from the balcony is superb. Have a few wines each evening, watching the local youth jump of the cliffs into the clear blue waters-heaven on earth.
The apartment is well kept, clean, and very comfortable. Kitchen is excellent, bed comfortable.
The views superb.
Picking the key up was tricky-our fault, we did not ask how. Maria, the owners mother lives upstairs and is delightful. Amazing how much you can communicate, with our very minimal Italian, and her expansive Italian.
Paolo was very helpful, recommending and booking a local restaurant for us.
And his lemon tart needs a website to itself. The homemade limoncello was also wonderful.
Would definitely stay there if in Riomaggiore again (which we will )

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed in the apartment and could not have asked for more. The apartment was spacious with a beautiful view of the sea. The apartment was spotless clean and we loved the views so much that instead of eating out, we either got take away or bought food from the grocery to eat on the balcony. We also felt recharged after getting a few good night sleep, listening to the waves. Paola has been a wonderful host - nearly every morning he brought us little gifts. The home made limoncello and the grape spirits was the best (and dare I say strongest) limoncello I had during my two week stay in Italy. This stay has definitely made me want to come back to Cinque Terre again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed in the room and could not have asked for a more charming experience. Paolo is the perfect host. There is home-made limoncello to welcome you and the view is extraordinary. The crashing of the sea on the rocks below is the best antidote to stress, we slept like babies. We could only get the room for 2 days (do book well ahead) and on the day we were moving to another room we walked to that office to get the keys. We found Paolo on his way back from organising the room change for us as they all know each other in this small, friendly town. That is service!

The room is so pretty and has everything you could need, including a table and chairs in front of the perfect view. Next time I will plan more in advance and stay longer. We had a wonderful month's honeymoon in Italy but this first stop was a very special stay. Grazie Paolo!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bristol
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

There is little that can be added to those reviews previous. It is a magical apartment if you love the sea and want to be part of this charming location.
Just be prepared for the steep steps ref your baggage. It is worth the effort, but take a cold bottle of beer to reward yourself whilst sitting on the balcony! We will return next year with out doubt.
Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagoya, Japan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I stayed in the apartment and the room. The apartment was adorable! As soon as I entered I loved it! It was spotlessly clean and the view was exactly what I had anticipated. Agostino, Paolo and the other brother were awesome. They kept showing up at my door with lovely gifts. One day they presented me with a lemon cake. Another day they gave me a huge bowl of fruit picked from their orchard and there was limoncello waiting in my room upon my arrival ... homemade limoncello made with their own lemons from their orchard. It was delicious.
Agostino was very kind and offered to take me out in his fishing boat one night with his friend to collect in the lines. What an experience!
Finally, it is great meeting honest hosts. I overpaid by 60 euros (Agostino was not there during my check-out and the younger brother saw to my bill). Agostino immediately wrote to me and informed me that I had overpaid and he made sure that my money was returned. I would never have known I had overpaid if he had not been so honest.
I highly recommend this charming place (take the apartment if you can - it is well-worth the extra money!)
Thank you for a wonderful stay and I will be back sometime in the future!

Room Tip: The apartment has a lovely balcony. It is well-worth paying a bit extra for the apartment. I fell in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed one night in the hotel room and two nights in the the apartment. Both are lovely and immediately over the water. If available, having the small balcony in the apartment is worth the extra money. Coffee in the quiet of the morning and a nice dinner on the balcony one evening were a couple of the highlights. We also had two wonderful meals steps from our lodging, ask Agoustino or Paulo for the names. The room is clean and comfortable and the location cannot be beat. Allows quick access to the station, water and hike. Given the steep steps, be prepared for a difficult haul to and from station if traveling with heavy bags. To clarify the instructions if arriving via train. If you are coming from the direction of La Spezia. You go through a tunnel to get to the other side and then you take the tunnel along the tracks to where you head down. Once you get to the Marina, head up the stairs to the right of the boat ramp. Hordes of tourists fill the place up during the day but it is much quieter at night. Certainly not undiscovered. The whole family is quite friendly with some English language skills and they were very patient with our minimal Italian. The in room gifts of some wine and limoncello were a great touch. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Scogliera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Scogliera

Address: Salita Castello, 178,, 19017 Riomaggiore, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Riomaggiore
#1 Family Hotel in Riomaggiore
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The apartment has a small entrance, a bright kitchen with terrace on reef, a double bedroom and bunk bed, bathroom with shower, air-control system for summer/winter, fridge, TV SAT, hair-drier. Rental price includes: linens, utility expenses (light, gas, water) open all year round ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Scogliera Hotel Riomaggiore
La Scogliera Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Scogliera, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.