We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Suitable for us” 3 of 5 stars
Review of L'Arcobaleno

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added L'Arcobaleno to your Saves list
L'Arcobaleno
Via del Santuario - Localita Lavaccio, Riomaggiore, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 28 Riomaggiore B&B and Inns
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Suitable for us”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013 via mobile

We chose this place that we could park our bikes and that worked well. We were welcomed friendly. Romms are clean, have a coffee machine that we enjoyed. It is not a romantic place, but was suitable for us. The pre travel communication and information from the owners were good too.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    25
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
36
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

What makes this place is the lovely Francesca and her family and gorgeous dog. Unfortunately we had some of the worst nights sleep due to the rock hard bed and flint-like pillows. We asked but there were no softer. The breakfasts were just packeted pastries and some singularly wrapped cheeses that you take in your room. But what was most disappointing was that over our 3 nights there our bathroom and towels never got so much as a look in by the cleaner. For a £100 tarrif per night I would have expected some fresh fruit included in the breakfast, bathroom cleaned or at least in a great location, which this is not - quite a steep hike uphill from the town and station. As it is I would have thought £60 more appropriate even in high season.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Francesca B, Direttore at L'Arcobaleno, responded to this review, September 9, 2013
Dears,

thank you for your review, we accept all kind of suggestions and comments. We are sorry you did not enjoy your stay at L'Arcobaleno. We are a small reality in the fantastic Cinque Terre and everyday we do our best to give a blast to our guests.
We are not an hotel, we have different rules and different services; for ex. our reception is not open 24/h a day, we don't have the permission to offer fresh bread or fruit but only pre-packed biscuits/bread...YOU KNEW before coming here becouse everything is written in the mail we always send to our guests, in order to have the best communication we can.
Everyday we clean the room, I do personally this kind of duty with my employés;IT'S IMPOSSIBLE THAT WE DID NOT CLEAN YOUR ROOM IF YOU'VE LEFT THE ROOM BY 10:30am as we ask ;if we did not clean your room is becouse you did not exit on time. in order to respect the environement, we don't change linen and towels everyday, but every 3 days (rules are written behind the door). WE ARE AT THE RECEPTION FROM 9:30AM UNTIL 1:30PM AND FROM 3:30PM UNTIL 7;30PM...if there was a problem you could have told us before and we would have tried to help. IT'S NOT POSSIBLE TO SOLVE PROBLEMS IF WE DON'T KNOW IT. If you wanted new towels we would have been very pleased to give them to you if you just told us.
We use different kind of pillows, but each person has her own preference so we chosed the regular once,i'm sorry you did not like them; on average our guests really appreciate it.
5 terre territory is not flat and not easy; steps and steep roads contribute to the charm known all over the world. We are located in the highest part of the village. Shuttle bus run from 7am to 7.55pm from the tunnel of the train station to our hotel as we wrote you in our description.

I hope my answer will find you well; I hope to see you once again in our beautiful 5 terre !

Best regards,
Francesca Bonfiglio Affittacamere L'Arcobaleno
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Nice place, excellent friendly staff.
The rooms are clean and good maintained. Nice balcony outside our room. Nice to relaxe with morning breakfast and quiet evenings. Reccomendable - in our mind value for money euro 100 per night including light breakfast in room, and non alcoholic drinks in the minibar.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
el cerrito, california
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

It is usually very difficult to find lodgings in Cinque Terre without having to park your car quite a distance away and then perhaps having to walk up or down a hill to get to your destination. But l’Arcobalena (which means rainbow) B&B, is located at the top of the town, and you can drive right up (almost) to their door, where you can park in their own garage.. This is also how close to the center of town you can get with your car, because traffic into the town is limited to special vehicles only. Adjacent to the B&B, is a large parking place, charging €22 per day for parking. From the B&B it is a steep walk down on the main road, the Via Colombo, to the village, the harbor, and the train station.

If you had come from La Spezia with the train, you would have an exceptionally hard time climbing up from the train station to this B&B, pulling your luggage behind you. There are no taxis. You can catch the bus, if you know when and where it leaves to get to the top of town, where l’Arcobaleno is located. And maybe you can also just faint from exhaustion. Because besides the bus, the only other vehicle allowed down there is the city ambulance.

An official Tourist Information Office is just around the corner of the B&B, which presumably would be very helpful. This turned out to be a major dud. The clerk is only interested in her computer screen. She was not helpful, on the edge of being surly, just giving minimal, bored answers to our questions, and looking relieved when we left. We were there twice, both times with the same results. You will not see any lines of people waiting for help; most of them probably just left in disgust.

l’Arcobaleno was a delightful place to stay; Patrizia, the owner was very helpful and informative. She does goes home at around 5 pm, so if you need something in the evening, you have to call her. Lily, her old dog, did what old dogs do, which is just sleep a lot. We had a pleasant, airy, and clean room, about 200 sq feet large, adjoining a 100 sq ft semiprivate patio with table and 3 chairs. Breakfast was in the refrigerator and on the table; a large selection of breads and biscuits, juice, bottled water, yoghurt, milk and a impressive machine which can either make hot water or brew various kinds of coffee, such as Caffè Americano, Espresso, Cappuccino, Macchiato and I don’t know what else. In Italy where drinking coffee is an art and an obsession, this is important. The picture shows lunch on the “private” patio in front of our room.

Copy the time schedule of the bus going down to the town and back up. And the best experience we had in Riomaggiore is the private wine tour by Andrea Pecunia, starting just outside the B&B

See also: http://www.travelswithhok.com/The_Cinque_Terre/Entries/2013/5/1_I__Riomaggiore.html

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

So we had booked to stay at L'Arcobaleno for 1 night in order to hike the Cinque Terre trail. Unfortunately, as time drew closer to our visit to the Cinque Terre, the forecast called for a severe rain storm.

Even though she didn't have to, Francesca gave us a full refund. She was so accommodating and understanding of the situation. Spoke with her on the phone and she was very courteous. From my experience, most owners would have just kept the payment from Booking and said, "too bad, that's our policy". We plan on going to back to do the Cinque Terre during a time when the rain cannot stop us and we will certainly stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canton1
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

This inn is a simple place at a reasonable price run by very nice people. The location is at the very top of the main drag, about a 10min steep uphill walk from the marina and heart of town. It's actually the topmost building on this road, go any further and you're on the high trail. It might be convenient only if arriving with a car as they have parking. There's a nice view of the valley but you can't see the sea.

The place is spotlessly clean with good bathrooms and water pressure. There's no kitchen so breakfast is just a collection of package goods and a very nice professional coffee machine in the room, all included in the price. We didn't use any of it except the yogurt, water, and juice and went to a cafe for real food. The WiFi didn't work in our room upstairs the first night and we ended up using it on the stairs or down in the entry. They moved us downstairs the second night where it worked great. The owner said they're going to have a second router installed this winter, which might fix the problem. The beds slide around a bit and sitting up in bed with our backs to the headboard was causing the beds to slide out from under us, moving away from the wall. 5 stars for the people, maybe 2 or 3 for the facilities and location. We loved the owners who were very accommodating and helpful but next time we would stay somewhere else, closer to the water.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beit She'an, Israel
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The quiet guest house. We had a room with a terrace. Internet was also available in the room and on the terrace. We are very pleased with the coffee maker in the room. You can diversify the breakfast, which the hosts leave for you in the refrigerator, by buying vegetables and fruits. Our GPS navigator in Riomaggiore has failed. It led us to the entrance of the city and froze. No, he was right; the hotel was 200 meters away, but in which direction? The single road descends steeply down to the sea. When you go on this road, you get to «Zone a traffico limitato» (for locals only, with a special permission). Any other car to will pay a large fine for driving! In short, when you are entering Riomaggiore, turn right before the barrier. There, behind the Information Desk, is the guest house.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Arcobaleno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Arcobaleno

Address: Via del Santuario - Localita Lavaccio, Riomaggiore, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Riomaggiore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your L'Arcobaleno reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
l`Arcobaleno Hotel Riomaggiore
L'Arcobaleno Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Arcobaleno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.