We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tricky” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rio Rooms

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Riomaggiore
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rio Rooms
Save
You added Rio Rooms to your Saves list
Via S.Antonio 113, Riomaggiore, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 28 Riomaggiore B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Tricky”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Reviewing the Rio Rooms is a bit tricky. Three stars for the room (it was big, clean and very well located) and three stars for the man meeting us at the train station at 1am-- a kind and generous effort. However subtract some of those stars for the incomplete information we were given, and lack of flexibility at checkout.

Our plane was delayed over an hour and we ended up landing in Pisa at 11pm. We hired a car and had plans to drive into Riomaggiore but were told by Gian that the road closes at 7pm. So instead drove into La Spezia, paid 25 erous to park the car and waited 2 hours for the train. Only to find out the road does not close-- only the parking garag ( there is plenty of parking outside of the parking garage).

On Sunday our host rung the door at 10am (like he said he would) and told us that there is a train strike and no trains are running until 9pm that evening. Our flight was at 9pm that evening -- so obviously we had a bit of dilemma. He asked us, would you like to stay another night? We asked him if we could have until 12pm to figure out what we were going to do (take a boat out, hire a taxi, walk?) but it was either say another night or we must leave.

By offering us the room another night, we knew he didn't have any other guests scheduled to come in that evening, so staying until 12 to figure things out would have been a nice option. Also, if we hadn't been given incomplete informaiton we would have had our car there and not have to spend half the day trying to get out of the city.

Like I said... its tricky to review this place. Our trip would have been so much better (and less stressful) if we had just had a moment of truth from the guy. However, it all worked out and at the end of the day its a nice room for a good price.

Room Tip: We have Room #4, it was just us-- but had two bedrooms-- would be great for 2 couples or a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    14
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
2
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We stayed in the "solution 1" apartment and it was 3 of us. The apartment was comfortable and large enough for 3 people. Positives - location was perfect. It is located on the main street in Riomaggiore and a 10 min walk to the train station, 5 minute walk to the port and the main street is lined with restaurants, shops, a pharmacy, etc. We only stayed one night, but the owner's father was very nice and met us at the station to show us the way to the room. The towels and linens were also clean and it was comfortable as a whole.

The not-so-perfect - the bathroom was not maintained that well, the shower has very low water pressure and the shower doors were hard to close/shut (and even a bit broken). The apartment floor wasn't spotless (we walked around barefoot and had dust/crumbs sticking to us). The water heater also needs to be turned on at least 20 minutes before you shower...already through the 2nd person's shower that morning, the water started to get cold. Also, since it's on the main street, we could hear people at 2-3am while they were out drinking or wandering the streets, so make sure to bring earplugs! Would I stay here again? yes but only if I had a long stay and we were a group of friends. As a couple, i'd say it's not the most romantic option, but it is comfortable enough.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
238 helpful votes 238 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

The studio itself (number 2) it's pretty small and it needs of course to be refurnished 'cause the very small bathroom ( with a mini shower ) is really old and unconfortable but you can find anyway whatever you need for your holiday.

The wonderful part pf the studio is,surely the huge terrace on the sea, directly in the old port of the lovely town of "Riomaggiore".

Shops, paths and train station are close by and the owner, Mr.Ugolino is a very helpful person.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

My husband and I stayed in solution 2 at Rio Rooms for 3 days in May 2011. We loved it. We had the most fantastic terrace overlooking the sea. The apartment had a large comfortable bedroom, small equipped kitchen where we actually cooked breakfast, small bathroom with shower, wide hall, porch and the terrace. We ate both breakfast and dinner on this terrace along with enjoying tea and pastry from a great little bakery in Riomaggoire in the late afternoon on it. Originally, we had planned to dine at some of the seaside restaurants with a view....but found none could compare with our terrace, so we bought takeout instead. Ugo, the owner, met us at the train station, and assisted us with our luggage to the apartment. He was most helpful. We paid 60 euro/day for the apartment and thought it was an extremely good value. We would definitely rent from him again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Room: This was a cute little apartment with one double bedroom, a pullout sofa in the livingroom/diningroom, and another room with a twin bed, that wasn't completely separate from the double bedroom. There was a basic kitchen and a bathroom.
Price:The price was right, and the cheapest thing we could find in Riomaggiore that matched our needs. I think we paid 100e a night.
Cleanliness: I have to be honest, this place wasn't very clean. The beds seemed ok but the floors were just a little dirty, none of the pots and pans seemed to be washed recently and the bathroom had hair and dirt. NOT up to my normal standards, but the price was right so I didn't complain.
Location: Great location, right in the heart of the town of Riomaggiore and very close to the train station tunnel and stores and restaurants, but just far enough to be quiet at night.
Parking:I would no suggest trying to park in Riomaggiore unless you have parking prearranged. We parked in nearby La Spezia and took the train.
Staff/owner:Ugo was great. His ENglish was spotty but he gets by. We saw him a couple of times hanging around the town so we were able to ask him our questions.
A/C:There was a small a/c in the double bedrooom but it didn't cool any other rooms other than the bedroom that it was in. Although the sofa bed is right in the next room and we left the door open, it just never really got cool enough for us at night. At any other time of the year, I am sure you would be fine opening the windows.
TV:there was s small tv in the living room, but no channels in English.
Breakfast:No breakfast provided, but there is a small kitchen in case you want to cook. We didn't do anything more than boil water since we didn't feel like the kitchen was clean enough and it was basically too warm to cook!
Internet:no wifi. There is a small cafe close by with free wifi.
Security:n/a
Linen/Towels:included
Remarks: Overall, this was a good value for the price. The town is very hilly and there were a lot of steps to get to the apartment so I wouldn't recommend the apartment for anyone who has a problem with stairs. I'd probably look into staying in one of the other towns next time just to get a different perspective of the area. I would recommend Riorooms to backpackers or people on a budget.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2011

What a gem! After backpacking around Europe in some pretty sketchy hostel situations, it was a relief and surprise to find RioRooms to be such a great value for the price! We had a 2 bedroom apartment with a kitchen, living room/dining room, and bathroom, with an amazing view of the sea. It was in the perfect location (some friends we met along the way let us know they stayed in a place where they had to climb hundreds of stairs to get to their place!), whereas it was a very easy walk from the train station to RioRooms. Also the owner was very nice, and even let us store our backpacks the day we checked out in a side room so we could still go enjoy the beach in Monterosso without having to lug our bags around!

Overall such a nice experience, only wish we could have stayed here longer!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

My wife and I were travelling thru Cinque Terre, intending on doing some sightseeing for the day. Upon arriving to the first town, Riomaggiore, we instantly were amazed and wanted to stay the night. Of course, we didn't have reservations, but outside the train station were a few elderly men sitting around, smoking, perhaps playing cards or chess (can't really remember).

In halting English, Ugo Vivaldi motioned to us and asked us if we were looking for a place to stay for the night. As two Asian tourists with suitcases, I guess we were pretty easy to spot. We agreed to follow him, and up the hill and thru some windy alleys and stairs we went, arriving at his apartment. We stayed in one of the suites which has a large terrace balcony which you can walk out onto and have a meal at the table/chairs. I believe he lives with his wife just below the suite.

We were quite happy there, the double bed was fine and suited us perfectly. Plus the 40 euro price we agreed upon was excellent. After a long day hiking thru the five towns, it was a relief to have somewhere comfortable to stay and sleep in. This trip was very memorable, and we look back fondly on this lucky little find!

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rio Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Rooms

Address: Via S.Antonio 113, Riomaggiore, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Riomaggiore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 28 B&Bs / Inns in Riomaggiore
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riorooms is a guesthouse with 4 apartments in Riomaggiore (5 terre):3 apartments with sea view and one is located in the centre of the village. All apartments are near the train station and the village centre. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rio Rooms Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rio Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.