We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect pasta light marinara with tomatoes” 4 of 5 stars
Review of IL Grottino

IL Grottino
Via Colombo 237, Riomaggiore, Italy
0187 920938
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 28 Restaurants in Riomaggiore
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“perfect pasta light marinara with tomatoes”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2014

t'was the perfect light pasta dish for the afternoon. this dish was reasonably priced but i thought the majority of the menu items were a bit high, especially given the lack of traffic during the winter. loved the stone cottage feeling and street front dining. i would def eat here again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    59
    93
    44
    18
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good service unless you are Asian, acceptable food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

We dined here in July during our holiday here and as Asians, got very offending services. First, we were rudely spoken to wait outside the restaurant when we asked for a table. The next minute, a European family walked in and was treated so much better, being sat down immediately. We talked to a Asian family inside and found out they had the same.

Next, when served olive oil and Balsamic Vinegar for bread, the Asian tables were only given small bowls of the condiments, whereas all other tables received bottles. We were furious and confirmed our suspicion when a Malaysian table told us they had the same experience.

At a time where the restaurant's food is only acceptable, the service is horrendous and there is a very clear discrimination against Asians, especially from the male waiter wearing a blue-white stripe shirt.

This restaurant should definitely be avoided by Asians, and for people who do not support such discrimination. As a disclaimer, we have been touring Italy for 2 months and have not received such offending service, ever.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalow, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great pasta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

My friend and I both had pasta dishes which were some of the best we've eaten. I had the fresh anchovies with spaghetti and the other dish was spaghetti with mussels and other seafood. The house wine was good and reasonably priced, and staff were friendly and helpful.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
127 reviews 127 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Lovely pasta and seafood”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We rewarded ourselves with lunch at Il Grottino after a long hike and it was perfect! The pasta was perfectly cooked, both dishes with rich, tasty sauces. We then shared a seafood stew, which was a very generous portion (great value) and in a hearty, vibrant broth. The service was good and the place itself had a very appealing interior.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Ok food, great service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

I had lunch and dinner in this very central little restaurant.
The primo, walnut tagliolini, was so-and-so, the secondo, sea bass (grouper?) with tomato and olives, was very good. I also liked the local white, perfect for fish.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IL Grottino also viewed

Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre
Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre
 
Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre
Riomaggiore, Cinque Terre
 

Been to IL Grottino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IL Grottino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.