We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly service, nice accommodations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Adriana

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Adriana to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Adriana
Via IV Novembre, 23, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly service, nice accommodations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

This 3 star hotel in new Monterosso is a good value. It is a few blocks from the beaches and a short walk from the train station. The staff is friendly and speak English (and a bit of many other languages). The breakfast buffet is good. The bar in the hotel is small but friendly and well stocked. The rooms are big, some with small ocean views and balconies.

Room Tip: email and ask for a room with a big balcony and a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    115
    96
    22
    5
    5
See reviews for
41
120
25
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We took the train from Rome to La Spezia on Sept 29th. We didn't book a hotel in advance (even though that would have been smart but we took our chances since tourist season was winding down). We went all the way to Monterosso - at each spot admiring the beautiful shore & sea. When we got there we enquired at several places on the main road and the prices seemed quite high for what they were offering. We turned right towards Hotel Villa Adriana and even though the price they were offering us was on par with others, the place was really nice. The rooms were clean and charming and the grounds were beautiful and well-kept. The wi-fi was slow but the brunch was quite good (the usual boiled eggs, croissants, bread, jams, cereals, granola, coffee, juice, yoghurt, ham, cheeses, and fruit). I was happy with the hotel and would definitely recommend it for people heading to Cinque Terre.

Room Tip: there are several places along the main strip that offered the same type of room with a SHARED BATHR...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broomfield, Colorado
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

The Hotel was very clean and the staff very attentive. The breakfast each morning was wonderful and the grounds were kept neat and clean. I would come back to this hotel again!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, Ontario
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
161 helpful votes 161 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

This is a beautiful well-maintained hotel on a very large, professionally landscaped property. It is located within easy walking distance of the beaches, shops and restaurants of Monterosso al Mare but on a quiet side street. Rooms are large with large balconies, many with a view of the Mediterranean. Rooms are not air-conditioned but this was not a problem as the mountain breezes cool the room in the evening through the open balcony door. The property is beautifully landscaped with a small private pool. There is abundant outdoor or indoor seating for breakfast or for dinner. With one exception all the staff were very friendly and helpful and have lots of local maps which they provide free to guests. We really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Rooms in the upper floors of the newer building at the rear of the property have views of the Medite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

What a heavenly oasis! This converted villa is set just off the very busy beach area (thank you Rick Steves and other Travel Show hosts for ruining the Cinque Terre) and main road of Monterosso. Approximately a 10-minute walk from the train station (might require you ask a couple of people how to get there). The rooms, air-conditioning, and breakfast are all well above the Italian standard. Desk staff aren't necessarily English proficient (got the impression this property sees more German tourists than any other) but they are very friendly and helpful. The swimming pool was a Godsend but it's very shaded and doesn't see much sunshine meaning the water is very cold (even a couple of Danes remarked how it felt like a fjord). However, after a very hot September day it was very refreshing.

The property comes complete with a chapel and meditation grotto.

We will definitely stay here again when we return to the Cinque Terre.

Room Tip: A little tough to find from train station, even with a Google map.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

I had an absolutely wonderful time during my visit in early August. The staff was incredibly friendly and the breakfast was huge and delicious. I had a balcony which was really nice. If you pay for internet, you can only get it in the lobby which is a little bit of a bummer but it worked out just fine. I was busy exploring most of the time.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Room was very clean. Bed comfortable. Nicely furnished. Nice balcony, view of the seat off to the side. No AC. Pricey for me at 165 Euros a night for a double. Great, German style breakfast. Short walk from train station. Even shorter to beach. Be prepared for a steep incline up the driveway the last 100 meters.

Room Tip: Ask about view, size of room and AC in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Adriana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Adriana

Address: Via IV Novembre, 23, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#9 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 51
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel is situated in a gorgeous palms park and is just 100m. from the sea. Our rooms are all with private bathroom, telephone, TV and safe. Included in the room price are parking place and swimming pool. Our restaurant offers a various buffet for breakfast and our kitchen propose Ligurian and Italian food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Villa Adriana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adriana Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Hotel Villa Adriana Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Adriana, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.