We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice location and B&B” 4 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Il Parco

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added B&B Il Parco to your Saves list
B&B Il Parco
Loc. Mesco 6 | Via Padre Semeria, 36, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Very nice location and B&B”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

We were only there 1 night, but enjoyed our stay! The location was beautiful and easy shuttle and/or walk. Was a little confusing when we arrived as the instructions said to call speedy taxi, we couldn't get our phone to work so a local merchant (so nice!) called for us and told us that speedy isn't there anymore. He called the hotel and we got the shuttle, so it all worked out.

Because we didn't have much time there, we bought a pizza and some wine and brought it back to the room - the view was beautiful, though the chairs were pretty low on our porch so I couldn't see much when sitting.

Marta was very nice - we arrived with 2 other couples and she handled all of us very efficiently. Would have loved to be there in the summer when you could enjoy the pool and also to spend a little more time there. Marta's mom was very nice! The breakfast was good, having eggs preapred was a great touch.

We would recommend it and wish we had more time there!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    41
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
39
149
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

After a long train ride from Cortona (and some unplanned adventures with tickets that weren't validated and complicated Trenitalia connections) we finally arrived at the beautiful Monterosso Al Mare. The relaxed, island vibe is evident upon arrival. And Marta's efficient way of doing things means that you can sit back and soak up the vibe instantly. After calling the cab that Marta recommended, we simply had to wait a few minutes (while enjoying our colourful surroundings) before the cab showed up to whisk us away into the town. Marta's Il Parco is a distance from the station, but by car it seems much further than on foot (there is an easy to find footpath down to the town's centre from the main street leading to Il Parco and it is about a 10 minute walk down), but Marta also ensures that you are aware of the shuttle service that they provide at certain times (her dad is the friendly shuttle driver).

Our room was beautiful and neat with lots of cupboard space (we stayed in the triple room). The third bed had its own little nook for extra privacy. Upon request, Marta also provided us with an electric kettle to boil water for the early morning tea drinkers in our group. The lounge area with swimming pool is perfect to cool off before heading to (or after coming back from) the beach or a hike. We even had our own private picnic there (we actually had two while staying at Il Parco). The garden is lovely and at night the atmosphere is great for sundowners. Unfortunately, running the bed and breakfast by herself means that Marta no longer serves her famous cocktails – but we will never give up hoping that when we go again we may have a taster! Throughout our stay in Italy we realised over and over again that it is much cheaper to buy basic groceries (water and snacks) at the small supermarkets in town than from vendors or other shops. And each town (no matter how small) will have one!

Marta's breakfast was really special – upon seeing the photo from the breakfast deck a friend commented that she hoped something slightly stronger than coffee or orange juice accompanies that view – and Marta did not disappoint – we had our first champagne breakfast in Italy with a fantastic view over Monterosso and the surrounding mountains, ocean and beaches. Also, Marta's little helper, Marco, is a treat to meet. He sometimes helps his mother clean up after breakfast and we were quite surprised to see that he prefers a nutella sandwich to his mom's selection of treats for breakfast. Our train to Venice left quite early on our last day in Monterosso and we were very disappointed at the thought of missing our on our last morning's breakfast, but upon hearing of our problem, Marta responded: "No problem, I serve breakfast at 7:15."

We had a wonderful time at Il Parco and will definitely recommend Marta's B&B to anyone and everyone travelling to Cinque Terre.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Pro: lovely escalated and quite location, efficient shuttle services for those who doesn't fancy the climb, nice breakfast, rooms are clean and comfortable (feels like a 4* hotels rooms in our opinion), daily cleaning, and complete equipped room (towels, toiletries, fridge etc). Martha's mother was so lovely, she greeted us upon checking in and upgraded our room when she found out we brought our baby with us. Greeted us goodbye pesonally before leaving.

Cons: As previously mentioned we did not find Martha as friendly as her mother but it didn't really bother us. Would be great if they provide kettle in the rooms (but maybe that's because we had our baby with us).

Conclusion: Good comfortable rooms in nice location. Recommended and would definately come back again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, D.C.
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
123 hotel reviews
Reviews in 119 cities Reviews in 119 cities
206 helpful votes 206 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

The location is the major plus for this property as it is up high and offers a good view. The rooms are acceptable and are certainly not memorable. Breakfast was fine with the expected meats, cheeses, canned juice. The cooked to order scrambled eggs were nice. The shuttle service to and from the town is very nice.

Some reviewers think highly of Marta. I did not. I found her brusque. Worse, I found the little information that I sought from her to be very poor.

Example. How often do the trains operate. Answer - every 20 minutes. Wrong - try every 1+ hour.

Example. Suggesting dinner at a restaurant closed on that day.

Example. Saying that reservations at another restaurant were not needed. Wrong.

The place is quiet and has its upside but not enough for me to recommend or return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

After visiting all 5 towns, Monterosso is my favorite because of the beach! I am really glade we stayed at Il Parco because of the view, the breakfast and the location. There were 4 of us renting 2 rooms (our rooms were #1 and #2). The rooms were on the small side and had no direct view but they were still lovely. The B&B is a nice 10 minute walk up many stairs and up a hill but we enjoyed this walk every day so we could earn our dinner. However if you are not a walker, Marta, has arranged taxi service and shuttles into town.

Room Tip: Book early and request a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Our time at Marta's B&B was everything I had hoped it would be. We had booked a 1st floor suite and along with a balcony and great view the room was super clean, lovely and spacious. Marta was a delight from initial contact to departure when she arranged a complimentary taxi to the station. The breakfasts were one of the best we had in Italy not what we are used to but tasty and enough choice. Yes there is a bit of a hike down to the town but its not that bad and there always taxis available. Pool area is great and the gardens were just coming in to full bloom in late June. Our room didn't have a kettle but when I mentioned that I'd like one it was provided straight away. The room service girls are amazing super efficient. If you want to escape the hustle I highly recommend this B&B

Room Tip: The 1st floor suites are very spacious with a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

This B&B is absolutely magnificent, from the room, the gorgeous Marta and her dad who own the B&B, to the girls who clean the rooms, the breakfast and location truly a wonderful and relaxing time. First time overseas and this was our favorite place. You will not be disappointed

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B Il Parco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Il Parco

Address: Loc. Mesco 6 | Via Padre Semeria, 36, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful rooms with amazing sea view on Monterosso Bay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your B&B Il Parco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Il Parco Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Bed And Breakfast Il Parco
B&B Il Parco Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Il Parco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.