We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Suisse Hotel Bellevue

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Suisse Hotel Bellevue to your Saves list
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Loved it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

This little beauty is up a hill you wouldn't want to be dragging your luggage up, and the shuttle (free) runs only every 1/2 to 1 hour. So what? Deal with it! The views are stunning, you're on holiday, chillax and enjoy the vibe! The hotel is lovely, rooms aren't huge but are big enough, staff are charming and very helpful. Another reviewer said "no free wi-Fi" but that's now out of date, definitely free but issued in 24 hour blocks. Breakfast was interesting, neither betwixt not between I.e. not the full cooked, but a bit more than your basic continental, but not as extensive as the usual European-style breakfast. Breakfast coffee a bit "Americano" for my taste, and the machine squeezed "fresh juice" tasted like packet stuff. Again who cares, straight down the hill (and the walk down is beautiful) there's a bunch of street level cafes along the waterfront with excellent coffee, great pastries and stunning views. And did I mention the views from the hotel are stunning? This is one where you're not staying for the premium hotel experience, but to have a lovely place to go back to after a great day out, and it fits that bill perfectly.

Room Tip: If you can (we couldn't) second floor, sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    59
    35
    15
    3
See reviews for
22
96
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

We stayed here with our family of 4 and it was great. The view was magnificent, and the rooms were modern and clean. It was a nice change of pace from some of the vintage locations we had chosen along our route throughout Italy. The shuttle back and forth from the main part of town ran on schedule and was very convenient. We would have preferred to be a little closer to town, but overall, it was just wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed here 4 nights, but left after 3. Our room was 250 a night, we had a balcony but no view, the view was the hill that was cut out to make room for the hotel. To get a view we had to walk outside to the edge of the property a stand. Our room was directly over the dining room, so we were woken every morning very early, finally got some ear plugs. The drive up to the hotel is very twisty and narrow, the shuttle comes once an hour, however if you sleep till 9:00 then eat and shower you can't leave until 11:30. Your day can be hindered by the shuttle schedule, it just seemed we either just missed it and would have to wait another hour either down town or at the hotel. Barbara, at the from desk was so pleasant to talk to and very friendly. Almost forgot the walls are very thin, and you can hear what is happening in the neighboring rooms.

Room Tip: Ocean view with balcony only or you will be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The views were amazing and we could see all 5 towns from our room. Our room was large but the bathroom was really small and the staff was not all the helpful. The view, transportation, room size and mini bar prices were reasonable ($1 H20, $3 beer, $4.5 wine and proseco for 2-3 glass bottle - 175ml I think), $15 for a bottle of Chianti Classico, etc.) I would rate an A+ but would give the breakfast, staff, rules, small bathroom, etc. a C+/B-. You are also super close to a train head that goes up and to the east which was awesome.

Room Tip: Get on the 2nd floor and not in front of a tree - we were sad for the folks that had one of those.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Hotel is upon the hill, overlooking the whole gulf and all of five villages. Large, comfortable room, very clean, but no coffee machine in the room. Free shuttle service to and from car parking in the village; but after that you have to walk another 800 meters to get to old "historic" part, where are more restaurants. Peaceful and quite place. No restaurant in the hotel (only bar), so you have to go down even when it is raining!... Buffet breakfast without warm meal, less than average choice of food. Internet only in lobby, half an hour costs 3 euros!!
Staff polite and kind, but no very friendly.
Hotel is good if you do not have great expectations.

Room Tip: Always ask for room with a sea view and a balcony, on the front side. We did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Partille, Västra Götaland, Sweden
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

A bit difficult to get there by car because the village is divided into two parts but once there ...A nice hotel with a fantastic location. From the hotel you can see all the villages on the line. There was really quiet and it was wonderful to sit outside and watch the scenery. We did not have much to do with the staff but could feel that it was a little stiff.The breakfast was more than we expected. Otherwise, it was clean and comfortable and the towels were changed every day even though we did not put them on the floor...
We were also comfortable with that there were shuttles that ran up and down to the village. If the shuttles were full so they came back and picked up again and the shuttle drivers were always pleasant and helpful. So if I don´t have to pay for internet next time ... I can very well imagine to come here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winter Haven, Florida
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

What a view, but you can get great views from any location. The negatives of the hotel are: There are rules and plenty of them. A hotel that should cater to the guest. YOU HAVE TO PAY FOR INTERNET. How cheap is that. You pay high dollar and still have to pay for internet? I won't do it and I will take my business to another place next year. The owners squeeze you for every euro they can get.

The staff was wonderful, excluding owners. The Russian lady who worked evening was wonderful to deal with. The owners, only met 2 of them, were unfriendly, grumpy and watched us like we were there to steal something. We were never told about the beach towels, or rentals at the beaches.



I would suggest looking into another hotel, or a B&B.

Room Tip: Front of building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Suisse Hotel Bellevue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suisse Hotel Bellevue

Address: Loc Minali, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Suisse Hotel Bellevue 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Suisse Hotel Bellevue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suisse Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Suisse Hotel Bellevue Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suisse Hotel Bellevue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.