We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Monterosso in May 2014” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Margherita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Margherita to your Saves list
Hotel Margherita
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roma, 72, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Monterosso in May 2014”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

Aside from being a bit of a walk from the train station it was an good place to stay. Would have loved for it to have views to the water but oh well. Pack light for the walk. Staff friendly and WiFi in the rooms is good. Being in the heart of the town has its advantages. Monterosso is a lovely town to visit - breathtaking views and slow pace is very relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    129
    24
    6
    3
See reviews for
60
203
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandnes, Norway
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

Stayed there for four days with my family. We had two rooms with a connecting door and two huge balconies overlooking the main street of Monterosso. The rooms we stayed in are located in a separate building, 3 meters from the main-building.

The hotel is located in the middle of the town, the rooms are beautiful and the hotel staff are very friendly and service minded.

One of the few things I found negative about the hotel was the beds . I'm 6.3 feet, so the beds were a little short, and I also found them to be a little on the harder side. But some prefer them that way.
The second thing was the breakfast. Felt that they could have mixed it up with some more choices.

Other then that we enjoyed the stay, and would gladly have stayed there again.

Room Tip: There is a separate building that has two connecting rooms with two huge balconies with a view of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

The hotel is a good choice for who want to stay in Monterosso. My boyfriend and I stayed for four nights and was awesome! Near of the parking lot (but is very expensive! €18 per day), very clean, the staff is helpfull and the breakfast is average.

Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2014

We stayed for four nights at the Hotel Margherita in Occtober 2013. We had a good stay and would probably stay here again.

Hotel: The location is amazing, right on (what I'd call) the main road in old town. The hotel does not have a sea view, but it makes up for it with lack of steps to climb, and Monterosso itself offers lots of sea views, so we didn't mind. :) The common and outdoor areas of the hotel are quite pretty. The hotel seems quite modern, and I imagine that (like a lot of hotels in Monterosso) it was renovated after the 2011 flood.

Room: We had a junior suite. The junior suite is in the building next to the main hotel building. There is an elevator for baggage and people who can't take the stairs, but I believe the staff has to let you use it. The room itself was quite nice and very clean. The upstairs loft area had the beds and a nice little window. Downstairs was the living area, bathroom, and storage. The furniture was modern and comfortable but somewhat Spartan. The room was quiet overall, but we could clearly hear the neighbors going up and down the steps next door. We enjoyed hanging out on the balcony and people watching.

Bathroom: The bathroom was very clean and modern. It had plenty of space with a very spacious shower. Great bathroom!

Service: Service was polite and helpful but not necessarily friendly.

Breakfast: The food at breakfast was good and fresh (especially the focaccia and cakes), but the service was kind of confusing. There was a gal cleaning up tables and such, but she did not offer coffee or direct where we should sit. We just sat at a table and then discovered that there was a coffee machine. We noticed that the staff was making espresso for some folks at a nearby table (ownership, it seemed), but we were not offered espresso. This wasn't a deal breaker for us, but it was confusing and somewhat off-putting.

Aside from the breakfast service and confusion, we were pleased with our stay and would definitely consider staying here again.

Room Tip: Our junior suite had a balcony and separate sleeping area in the loft.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014 via mobile

This place has amazing service. We had a beautiful two story room, the best hotel experience we've had in Italy. The manager went above and beyond to take care of us. We are seasoned travelers and rarely get this level of service. We opted to stay an extra night because they were so kind and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woollahra, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

Great bar and good location. However, breakfast was rather like an army canteen, style free but perhaps this was because hotel was full of big groups of serious hikers. Clean, rather basic accommodation, stylefree. Seemed expensive for what it was.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

After a very long walk to hotel we were not offered a drink of anything. Hotel clean but room so small nowhere to put cases. Shower impossible to move in. Like a prefabricated shower in a caravan. Breakfast OK but they do not clean / clear tables so if you arrive late you have to move scraps to make room. The manager (male) was quite good but his hands were tied by the stand off family owners. The owner's daughter is the rudest person ever to work in a hotel. She needs at least 5 years in re training in hospitality and customer service. If you require room service or items that were not left by house keeping then she expects you to get it yourself. Never seen such rude service anywhere in the world. Some other staff were doing their best most of the time. Nearby restaurants are great.

Room Tip: You must get an upgrade to get any view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Margherita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Margherita

Address: Via Roma, 72, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#11 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Margherita 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Margherita is at your disposal to make your stay pleasant and relaxing, in a tasteful and comfortable environment. Located in the center of the historic town of Monterosso, we are just a few steps from the beaches, touristic port, trails, local shops and many restaurants to choose from. Our courteous Reception and Management staff, are always at your disposal to provide you with all the information needed for the famous hiking trails, tours by boat and train transportation within the park of the Cinque Terre. After the mudslide that hit Monterosso in October 2011, the hotel has been completely renovated. The hotel has a common living area with free Wi-Fi, satellite tv, bar and private patio that looks out onto the old fascinating town of Monterosso. In the morning you can enjoy a delicious breakfast in our inviting breakfast room, where you can find a wide variety of choices from our breakfast buffet.All of our rooms are equipped with air-conditioning, satellite tv, telephone, Wi-Fi access, mini fridge and safe. All rooms have private bathrooms with a shower and hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Margherita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margherita Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Hotel Margherita Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Margherita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.