We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Margherita

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Margherita to your Saves list
Hotel Margherita
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Roma, 72, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Macomb, Michigan, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This hotel is situated in a charming area with a picturesque walk to the square and harbor. We arrived very late at 11:30pm tired, hungry and cranky. Vanessa, one of the managers unlocked the door, welcomed us warmly, sent us to a late night club for dinner and gave us a bottle of wine and two glasses. Needless to say, the rest of our stay was just as wonderful. Eduardo, the manager - is very friendly and welcoming also. We felt we got to know them and Hotel Margherita became like home for our stay. We very much want to return there next year, but they are booked already. All the Hotels we stayed in were very nice and clean, but it was their special personalities that made the difference. Also the little doll in the kitchen who taught me how to use the egg cooker - was a delight !.

Room Tip: We had a balcony which made it nice also
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    126
    22
    6
    3
See reviews for
59
197
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in June.

Good points: nice and helpful staff, windows are noise proof and curtains are heavy so room gets dark and quiet at night, room was modern and clean, there was a fridge and we were given 2 bottles of water every day, location is good close to restaurants but a bit of walk from train station.

Bad points: breakfast was not good - no fresh juice, coffee was horrible, croissants tasted like panetone, every day the fresh fruit were rotten, last day I ate a rotten egg; pillows were bad (my boyfriend ended up with neck pain since the first night there); shower is really small (you almost can't move).

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed here in 2011 and again in 2013 and following the flood most of the hotel has been updated. The lobby was clean and check in was no problem as everyone speaks English well. The hotel itself is located right in the heart of the Old Town and perfectly located. This time for our stay we got an upgrade and went for a room with the balcony which I highly recommend as it has a large balcony overlooking Via Roma street. TV was small and no CNN or English speaking channels however the WiFi was free and overall a good clean hotel in a perfect location.

Room Tip: Get the balcony upgrade that overlooks Via Roma street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Reserved a triple room and it was nice, clean and roomy with a spacious bathroom. Location was also convenient with restaurants and stores nearby and walking distance to the train station and other eating places. Staff was very nice and breakfast included meats, cheeses and boil-your-own-eggs in addition to pastries, cereals, yogurt, juices, freshfruit and coffee.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Super location, clean, modern and comfortable. I stayed here 2 nights and though the weather on 1 day was not the best the hotel has a nice lobby where you can relax and read or just have a drink if you want. Breakfast included in the price and good choice of food.
It is easy to walk to the train station from here and therefore easy to reach all the small towns of the Cinque Terre as well as Genoa or La Spezia.
Would highly recommend this hotel to you.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Hotel Margherita for three nights in May and I would highly recommend it. Great location in the old town with excellent restaurants, the beach and the hiking trail all within easy walking distance. Our room was very spacious and comfortable. Staff were friendly and helpful. Great breakfast. About a fifteen minute walk to the train station.

Room Tip: We paid a little extra and had a room which opened onto a balcony overlooking the town and the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

My fiance and I spent three days here this May (2013) and had a great experience. The hotel staff stole the show as they were helpful our entire stay. Specifically, due to a flight delay we missed our train and had to stay the night in Pisa rather than complete our trip. A short call to the staff at Hotel Margherita, who were staying late to accommodate us, and we not only were not charged for our intended night's stay but were provided safe, quality hotel options in Pisa. Really saved us!
Once we reached the hotel we were excited to find it in great shape. The room was well decorated and provided all we needed in a great shower and comfortable bed. Being a distance from the train station and beach, we were able to get quality sleep each night. We bought a bottle of wine from their bar downstairs and were very happy with the experience of drinking it on the patio.
The included breakfast in the mornings were solid with a wide assortment of pastries, yogurts and breads. While not extravagant it provided a solid meal to start the day and was a comfortable place to start each day.
In all, this proved to be the perfect place for us to stay. A gracious thank you to the staff for making our stay great!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Margherita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Margherita

Address: Via Roma, 72, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#9 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Margherita 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Margherita is at your disposal to make your stay pleasant and relaxing, in a tasteful and comfortable environment. Located in the center of the historic town of Monterosso, we are just a few steps from the beaches, touristic port, trails, local shops and many restaurants to choose from. Our courteous Reception and Management staff, are always at your disposal to provide you with all the information needed for the famous hiking trails, tours by boat and train transportation within the park of the Cinque Terre. After the mudslide that hit Monterosso in October 2011, the hotel has been completely renovated. The hotel has a common living area with free Wi-Fi, satellite tv, bar and private patio that looks out onto the old fascinating town of Monterosso. In the morning you can enjoy a delicious breakfast in our inviting breakfast room, where you can find a wide variety of choices from our breakfast buffet.All of our rooms are equipped with air-conditioning, satellite tv, telephone, Wi-Fi access, mini fridge and safe. All rooms have private bathrooms with a shower and hair dryer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Margherita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Margherita Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Hotel Margherita Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Margherita, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.