We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Casa Dei Limoni

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added La Casa Dei Limoni to your Saves list
La Casa Dei Limoni
Via Soviore, 6 | Localita Balanello, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Red Deer, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We booked the lovely B&B thru GIROSOLE Walking Tours in Italy......www.girosole.com
Upon arrival we were meet by the staff and our walking tour guide. They helped carry our luggage up the uneven stones that switch-back up the steep hill. I recommend they meet everyone at the bottom upon arrival. Would not recommend it for less active travellers.
The charming room was small and very clean. The breakfast was included was great. Lovely view! Staff was excellent.........Valentia was a wonderful hostess. Would do it all over again.
Someone else stated if you are coming to Cinque Terre you should be prepared to do a lot of walking/hiking this is the only way you will truly appreciate the beautify of it all. Monterosso is a very charming little village!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    36
    9
    4
    2
See reviews for
6
77
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I stayed at Casa dei Limoni During our walking tour in the Cinque Terre. Our first glimpse of the Casa atop a steep cobbled walking path made us wonder at first but we were soon reassured when our bags were transported uphill for us and cold fresh lemonade awaited us on the terrace. Our hostess Valantina made us most welcome. Our room was very modern and well appointed. The lemon orchard below the terrace was in full fruit and the sent of the lemon flowers was heavenly! Breakfast each morning had a nice selection and was more than enough to see us through a morning hike. It also always included a lemon tart or cake from the owners vast collection of lemon recipes, (some of which she will share if asked).
Our room and the terrace have a great view of the old part of town and of the terraced hillside. If asked, the staff will arrange a cold bottle of the delicious local wine and some snacks at a table in the orchard. A perfect way to relax after a full day of hiking and before a late meal in one of the town's many excellent restaurants.
As we had come to spend the week walking and hiking the area, the climb up to the Casa each evening was not a huge problem but I would not recommend it for less active travelers.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and everything was really good. We were welcome with a lovely lemon juice with a nice cake. Breakfast is very good, everything fresh and great quality. I'd recommend to go for the apperitive during the evening (served from 5 to 7 pm), we had a bottle of prosecco with a great variety of bruschetas, local cheese and focaccia at the lovely lemon tree garden for only €20. Attention is really personalised and it is 5 minutes away from the town center. For the ones that complain about the steps, I'd say that if you are very unfit maybe it could be a bit tiring but overall it is well worth the little effort!

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012 via mobile

Just as it says on the web. Sure the walk up the hill is a bit tiring but who cares once you sit down and enjoy the fresh lemon juice and the views.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, Delaware
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

All-in-all, a very nice stay. I am a quite late posting this - our trip was in September 2010. Our room was the Junior Suite on the 2nd floor. It had its own private entrance and a balcony that overlooked the lemon trees. It was very clean, spacious, and modern with exposed stone, brick and timber accents. Gorgeous room! It had a nice sized shower, a rarity in Italy. Not much in the way of comforts - bring your own alarm, tissues, etc.

Breakfasts were very good. Strong coffee each morning (with hot water or warmed milk to dilute it), OJ, fruit, yogurt, bread with meats and cheeses, and pastries still warm from the oven.

The "steps" to the b&b were really uneven stones that switch-backed up the steep hill. You must carry your luggage - it will not roll. We were quite sweaty by the time we walked from the train station, up the other part of town, and then up that entrance with our luggage!
We did the hiking trail all the way from Monterosso to Riomaggiore the next day (taking the train back to Monterosso). We hated to face the entrance to the b&b on the walk back from the train station. If we lived like that every day, we would be extremely fit.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed here as part of our or 8 city tour thru Italy and Portugal, and I can say although this was one of the smallest rooms we stayed in...but it by far had the most charm, best views, and was not terribly expense versus some of the hotels in Rome, Florence, and Milan. The room was mostly the full/Queen bed, with a small counsel with a 13" TV mounted, but a pretty large wardrobe with empty mini fridge, clean and modern. We stayed in a single room on the 2nd floor, on the corner closest to the village/ocean. There is a beautiful lemon grove below, with a creek that runs near it, so the views to the right were the sea, and to the left the green mountain side.
One of the most memorable parts of the stay was the hike up the hill, I thought my husband was gonna kill me the first time up, since we had pretty large luggage from our 3 week trip, we downsized our luggage to backpacks for our stay at Casa Limoni...I highly suggest doing this, you can park your car on the top floor of the parking garage and see your car from most of the rooms if you are worried about leaving you luggage. If we needed anything we just made sure to bring the car keys with us when we went into the village.
If you are coming to Cinque Terre you should be prepared to do alot of walking/hiking, that is the only way you can truly apprieciate the area...the hike from Monterossa to Vernazza is one of the most challanging...so if you aren't ready...take the train or boat.

Room Tip: Pack a small bag, leave the large luggage in the car.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

La Casa dei Limoni is not ony a lovely place to stay but the service is excellent. Homemade lemon pastries start your morning breakfast. We enjoyed the view from the terrace of the ocean and lemon grove. The rooms are very well appointed. Valentina is a wonderful hostess. She even made lunches for us both on our departure. Unfortunately Limoni is a long way up the hill. We stayed here the beginning of September when it was very hot. The climb up the hill was difficult in the heat after a long day of sightseeing.

Room Tip: The room off the reception area can be a little noisey. But we were happy with the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Casa Dei Limoni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casa Dei Limoni

Address: Via Soviore, 6 | Localita Balanello, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Monterosso al Mare
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your La Casa Dei Limoni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Casa Dei Limoni Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
La Casa Dei Limoni Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casa Dei Limoni, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.