We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, friendly hotel, but expected a bit more.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Marina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Monterosso al Mare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Albergo Marina
Save
You added Albergo Marina to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Buranco 40, 19010 Monterosso al Mare, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Millburn, NJ
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
“Pleasant, friendly hotel, but expected a bit more.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Well, let's call it 3 1/2 stars. I had read so many positive reviews about how helpful and friendly the hotel people were that perhaps my expectations were too high. Note: This is not a complaint. The accommodations were fine, the food was good, the staff friendly enough. However, my wife and I didn't see much of the owners. The young man who was behind the desk when we arrived didn't tell us anything about what the hotel offered or provide much by way of area information. We even had to ask for a map. The only person who expressed any interest in us was the man who prepared our breakfast omelet. I do want to reiterate that we had a perfectly pleasant stay, but just not as positive as reviews would have led us to expect.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    107
    27
    5
    2
See reviews for
85
201
8
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We loved staying at the Hotel Albergo Marina in Monterosso. The owners, Marina and Eraldo, were very helpful and kind. Our room had a balcony and was very clean. Would definitely recommend it in Old Town of Monterosso. Allen prepared omelets to order and in the afternoon Eraldo prepared deliciious fresh pasta and salad for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with balcony. There is a gentleman who would sing daily while walking to and from hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

A lovely family run place giving a great insight into the Italian way of life. They were generous not only of their time but offered more inclusions than I've seen anywhere else. Not only did they offer a terrific breakfast but included a lunch as well!! The food was wonderful & plentiful.They also provide just about anything you would need for the beach, including a canoe. Rooms provided all you need, with added decor touches & everything worked well. There was also the bonus of the top gardens & sitting areas which unfortunately we couldn't use for breakfast but I believe are usually utilised. However we did make use of the little front porch for a quiet drink & people watch. The position can't be beaten. Still very close to all shops & eating places, it is just far enough away to provide a quiet haven away from passing crowds. Also Monterosso has many interesting little streets & all the old town shops are in a level area. Don't miss Eraldo's new shop selling delicious meats, cheeses & breads at great prices and very close to the albergo. The staff were really helpful & I would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

If you are looking for a hotel with fancy modern American style amenities this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a great quiet location with clean rooms, and a wonderful staff you have found your place. The owners and their staff make you feel like family, and go out of their way to be accommodating. The wonderful breakfast, and afternoon light meal is included in the price. This is a warm friendly place that I would highly recommend to travelers that love the rich culture, and warm hospital feeling that the Italians have to offer.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottetown, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

Stayed for two nights with a friend in early October 2013 and we both loved this place. Location is easy to find and tucked into a great street in the old part of the town. The room was clean, comfortable and the rooftop, although closed for the season, was still accessible. We spent several hours there enjoying the view and a glass of wine. There were some issues with WiFi, but we experienced that in most places in Italy. After 12 days of traveling and having only European style breakfasts, we were so excited to have eggs, cooked any way we liked, and real toast!!:-) A great way to start the day before hiking on the trails. The hotel also provides a pasta lunch from 2-5, cooked to order as well. The pesto is delicious! The staff are very, very friendly and helpful. I hope to return to Cinque Terre some day and I would definitely stay in Monterosso at the Albergo Marina again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth WA
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Stayed with friends for 3nights in August and loved location, close enough to everything.
Our room was a good size but our friends was small. Noise from other guests was clearly audible waking us up early each day-thin walls. Wifi was not easily accessible and kept dropping out. Breakfast was great as it included eggs cooked any way and a good overall choice. Nice patio area to relax in.We also enjoyed our afternoon pasta. The owners and staff were very nice.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topanga, California
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

I don't have strong feelings about this place one way or the other. It was just okay. The location was fine. Our room was comfortable enough. I liked that they are energy conservation minded with the room key-cards being necessary to turn the lights on inside your room. Their breakfast is quite generous. A couple of complaints would be that their wifi never worked for us, which seemed to be a common complaint, and also there was a nasty odor coming up through the plumbing. Oh, and the walls are really thin.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Marina

Address: Via Buranco 40, 19010 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#4 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Also Known As:
Albergo Marina Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Albergo Marina Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.