We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual family hotel in the perfect spot” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Marina

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Monterosso al Mare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Albergo Marina
Save
You added Albergo Marina to your Saves list
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Buranco 40, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Riverside, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Casual family hotel in the perfect spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights at the Albergo Marina in August. We had two very good sized clean rooms for our family of 5. My only complaint would be that they were very dark, and we had lots of problems using the safe (although they were very accommodating and helped us with them several times so not the end of the world). The breakfast in the lemon garden on the rooftop was a great way to start the day with custom omelettes and self serve coffee machine (so no waiting if you needed java). The afternoon "snack" was great with salad, melon and a plate of pasta (one of my children said it was the best pesto he had in Liguria -- and we ate ALOT of pesto). We vastly preferred staying in the old part of Monterosso where this hotel was, close to lots of restaurants and had that authentic feel. Amazing how they have come back from the October 2011 floods which destroyed the area (and ruined the first floor of the hotel). They had all kinds of beach equipment we could use, which was great since who travels with those things? And sitting up on the roof with a bottle of wine one afternoon was so relaxing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    108
    27
    5
    2
See reviews for
87
205
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Buttonwillow, California
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We walked over from the train station, about 20 minutes and not real hard.
It is a tad hard to find, just follow the instructions from the hotel.
After reading reviews of the hotel, I must say I was initally disappointed when I entered our small room. I have travelled extensively in Europe and thought, by traveler reviews, it would be better. It took a couple of days to let the charm of the hotel and its owners sink in. If you are an upscale traveler, look elsewhere. On the other hand, if you want more of the local charm of a hotel, this is your place.
The breakfast was a welcome sight in the morning and more than adequate.
Front desk was most helpful and location in the old town is handy for shopping and enjoying many of the fine restaurants.
It is difficult to find a bad restaurant here, but as always, the restaurants farther back from the main square can be a better bargin. having said this, we had two good meals right on the town square including Ciak and not far away Al Carugio.
Rooms were quiet and clean.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We recently returned from 3 nights in the Cinque Terra (4 would have been better). We stayed 2 of the 3 nights at the Albergo Marina with Marina and Eraldo. Unfortunately we booked at the last minute and could only stay 2 of the 3 nights with them since they were booked full. The Albergo Marina is located in the best possible location, in the best city in the Cinque Terra (in my opinion. The hotel is on an extremely quite street, but really close to the main shopping areas and restuarants in the old town (scenic part) of Montorosso. There is only a slight slope up to the hotel, which is saying something in the Cinque Terra region. We loved visiting the other towns but we were glad we booked where we did in the old town of Montorosso.

The hotel has it's own lemon garden and grape vines hanging from the pergola up at the very top of the hotel. It also has free beach gear for those just wanting to dip in for a day or two. We did not use the gear but it all looked to be in good shape and there was quite a bit of it. Also in each room they had a beach bag with 2 clean beach towels to use - absoultely perfect for those of us that are doing a quick beach trip rather than spending the entire vaction on the beach (no need to pack or buy beach towels).

The rooms were clean and quite cute with private bath, safe, mini fridge etc and decorated nicely. The hotel has an elevator for those tired of all the hiking throughout the day, or those with larger suitcases. The hotel also has a seperate breakfast room more to come on that in a minute. The staff was quite helpful and very personable. They seem to really enjoy their customers, Especially Marina and Elrado. They helped us with hikes, trains and restaurants as well. We checking in early and they had no problem taking our bags early so we could go off and explore the town before check-in time.

Now the Breakfast! This was the best breakfast I have had anywhere in Europe. I have been travelling for the last 20 years and was surprised that this small little hotel not only offered the standard cold meat, cheese, cereal type of breakfast, but also had made to order pancakes, waffles and omlettes (huge over top American omlettes). Sometimes Elrado would be making the omlettes singing the whole time. It was something real special. If the rooms were just ok I would stay here just for the breakfast, but the rooms were better than ok and the location was great and the price was right as well so I would be back here in a heartbeat if I was traveling to the Cinque Terra.

With Love from MN

Room Tip: While the rooms on the top floor have a small view of the ocean they are a bit more noisy since you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire UK
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

Right in the heart of this lovely town in the Cinque Terre, this family-run hotel is superb. The rooms were homely but spacious with some nice touches, individual rather than corporate. The breakfast was good with lots of choice of cold buffet and made to order omelettes and waffles. For a special treat between 2 and 5 in the afternoon there is a buffet with tea and coffee and salad with pasta made with your choice of sauce. I was walking so getting back after the walk to the buffet was really appreciated. Helpful and informative staff. The hotel has been in the ownership of the family for several generations. There is a lovely roof terrace with shade of lemon trees and a hot tub (you need to book it and pay extra).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My family stayed here for two nights this summer for a quick tour of Cinque Terre. I would definitely recommend this B&B for the relaxed and welcoming service and great location! The rooms are clean and well decorated. The terrace garden with lemon trees is great for relaxing with a class of wine after exploring the area! Staff are helpful and friendly. We will definitely be back to stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Very very nice place. The hostess were very nice and helpful. The hotel is very friendly and the rooms are nice.
The location is great in the heart of the old city.
Very friendly place!
Highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights and it was WAY too short. We are definitely coming back for a longer stay. The rooms are spacious, clean and pretty. The breakfast and welcome buffet lunch (inlcuded in your stay) is good and staff are all helpful and speak good English. Cinque Terre is breathtakingly beautiful and an amazing place to experience. We did the walk from Vernazza to Monterosso and the views are stunning, worth all the steps getting up to it. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Marina

Address: Via Buranco 40, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#4 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Hotel Class:3 star — Albergo Marina 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION Hotel Marina, just redone, is located in the historical center of Monterosso al Mare where even with just a few days or a little time, you can breathe the charachteristic air of the Cinque Terre. We are close to small shops in very quiet street just steps away for the best cafes, pizzerias and resteraunts in Monterosso. We are just 100 meters form the rotected seaside and beaches, form the trails and the ferries. It is possible to hike to all of the five villages, go snorkeling and mountain biking all on foot form our central location LEISURE ACTIVITES You can go hiking on the trails along the Cinque Terre, you can join local boat trips or swim in our wonderful sea, which is a protected sanctuary. With us you have free use of beach towels, snorkels and flippers, a solarium, ROOMS Hotel Marina offers ensuite facilities in all or our 25 rooms also including, 28 satellite TV, telephone, hair dryer, safe, air conditioning, and frigobar. Double triple and Quadruple rooms can also be accomodates with all seperate twin beds, however this must be requested and confirmed before arrival ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Albergo Marina Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Albergo Marina Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.