We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manuel's Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monterosso al Mare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manuel's Guest House
Save
You added Manuel's Guest House to your Saves list
Via San Martino 39, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Delta, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Magnificent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Our stay at Manuel's was one of the highlights of our trip to Italy. Lorenzo and Giovanni are the best hosts... Breakfast and happy hour on the deck were made so enjoyable because of the attention that Giovanni gives to each guest. His cappucino's were the best we had during our month in Europe. We always lingered longer than we planned in the morning, as it was so hard to leave. At happy hour, after serving us our drinks, he would bring us a plate of fresh fruit. Next, he would serve focaccia with pesto, then more fruit or chips. The view from our room was amazing, as was the panoramic view from the breakfast deck. Coming from the train station, with the directions on the website, and the signage on the stairs, it was easy to find. The stairs up were no problem and we are in our 50's and 60's. This is most definitely on our list of places to revisit!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    42
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
184
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roanoke, Virginia, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

If you come to the Cinque Terre to hike, then the hike up to Manuel's Guest House is icing on the cake! During our two weeks in Italy in September/October, the three days in Monterosso and in particular Manuel's Guest House were the highlights or our trip. We had a top floor room with balcony. The room was very large and comfortable with beautiful tiled floors throughout, tiled bathroom, and beautiful wood ceiling. The view from the balcony was not only fantastic, overlooking the town of Monterosso and the sea, but we were able to sleep each night with the balcony doors wide open, listening to the sounds of the surf from the sea and enjoying a great sea breeze. Lorenzo, who runs the guesthouse for his uncle Emanuel, was an extremely gracious host and very helpful. But the highlight of each day was relaxing on the outdoor veranda having a glass of wine and appetizers at Manuel's private wine bar, run by Giovanni, Manuel's brother. It was a great opportunity to socialize with the other guests, unlike the other B&Bs that we stayed at on our trip. We even became good friends with some of the other guests while there. Breakfast, also served by Giovanni on the veranda, was very good, including proscuitto, cheese, bread, pastries, cereal, fruit, yogurt, coffee, juice, and more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

After 139 steps we stepped into our room! I didn't notice how plain it was or how few amenities came along because the view was so overwhelming. We stayed 4 nights at Manuel's and loved every minute. The beauty was breathtaking and hard to grasp. But we tried. Day after day and night after night we'd sit on our porch soaking up the view. Can't wait to go back. Now for the rest. The staff was wonderful. The wine was great. The appetizers were filling. The breakfast satisfying and the price worth every penny. Hope you can stay here.

Room Tip: Can't go wrong. Each room has a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotch Plains, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

We began our Italian adventure in Monterosso as Mare, Italy by checking into Manuel's Guesthouse. We had just completed a twenty hour journey from the States to Monterosso and we were dead on our feet but every minute was worth it. A local merchant encountered us struggling with our bags and called Lorenzo. He appeared within seconds, and carried our luggage up the many stairs to the guesthouse. This care and thoughtfulness lasted throughout our 3 day stay. Each morning the breakfast was only surpassed by the views from the terrace. After a grueling, yet spectacular, 7 mile hike to Riomaggiore, we felt like we had arrived home upon our return to the guesthouse where we sat on the terrace sipped wine and munched on appetizers prepared by Giovanni. This was a wonderful way to start our 17 day tour of Italy and we would highly recommend this experience to anyone. Barbara and Bob Russ

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

To sum up our stay here, on our last day we had to pry ourselves off the balcony at checkout time as we did not want to leave - it was a sad moment to have to shut the door and walk away. We loved Manuel's, and we adored Monterosso, and the Cinque Terre as a whole.

It was worth the journey in our very time-poor itinerary - to experience the stunning beauty and warm hospitality of this area.

Lorenzo was constantly shipping bags up and down the stairs, and Giovanni was always there serving us breakfast and nibblies/drinks in the evening - even making my teenage girls a delicious warm cup of hot chocolate at 3pm after we arrived back on a rainy day on his portable gas stove.

This was the only place in our time in Europe where the entire group of people staying at the hotel sat and chatted together as if we were part of one big happy family!.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a balcony view room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

Lorenzo and Giovanni run this guest house like a well oiled machine...spotless rooms with breathtaking views are only upstaged by the kindness and around the clock service provided. The breakfast on the terrace was the best we had in Italy, fresh focaccia and espresso made a great start to every morning. In the evening you will be hard pressed to find a better location to wind down with wine and beer on tap. We will absolutely be coming back and look forward to another great trip to Monterosso.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

Giovanni and his son Lorenzo were gracious and helpful hosts. Their terrace overlooks the stunning town of Monterosso where they serve delicious breakfasts. It is also a wonderful place at the end of the day to enjoy terrific local wine and antipasto served by Giovanni who is a ray of sunshine. The rooms are basic but very clean and they offer complimentary Wifi. The guest house is walking distance from the train station but is perched high on a hill so be prepared for a little stair climb. My husband and I loved our time there. Highly recommended.

Grazie Giovanni e Lorenzo!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manuel's Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manuel's Guest House

Address: Via San Martino 39, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Manuel`s Guesthouse Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Manuel's Guest House Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manuel's Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.