We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay in Monterosso” 4 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Marisa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monterosso al Mare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
B&B Marisa
Save
You added B&B Marisa to your Saves list
Via Molinelli 24, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Jerusalem, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice place to stay in Monterosso”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

we stayed there 2 nights.
The location is perfect - Monterosso is the biggest village of the 5 in the area, and the B&B is in a great, pretty quiet place but very close to the center, which was great for us.
The room isn't fancy but has everything you need and was clean.
The breakfast was again, not fancy, but we got enough energy to later walk 18 km :)
Valeria was helpful and very nice, we had a private parking place, which isn't obvious in this area...
The only minus was that you can really hear people in the next door - when they are dragging suitcases, slamming the door etc. Wouldn't recommend it to really light sleepers.
All the rest - I think it's great value for money.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    12
    3
    4
    0
See reviews for
4
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kildare, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

B&B Marisa is located just a short stroll from the main beach in Monterosso. The rooms are spacious enough with a small bathroom, and they include breakfast in the price - breads, fruits, spreads and yummy espresso.

We had a great stay and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2011

This may not be your cup of tea if you're looking for accommodation where you can relax at the hotel/B&B. Monterosso is a tiny town and from what we observed on our trip, is trying to cope with the large influx of tourists flocking to their beautiful little Cinque Terre. So in saying that, we couldn't find any accommodation above 3 star, instead there seemed to be an abundance of homes, 'Nonna Homes' as we decribed it, that have been converted into B&Bs. Now the rooms may be a little dated but thats not to say the service is of a any lesser standard.
Marisa made us feel so welcome in what we assumed is her home. The house has 4 rooms, 2 with ensuits and 2 without. Marisa lives upstairs and there are people living closely next door. Each morning at 9am everyone is seated for breakfast and you can tell Marissa is loving serving each person freshly baked bread and local honey. She remembers how you like your tea and coffee and will serve it to you for each morning of your stay unless you specify otherwise. She is also more than happy to serve seconds and thirds!!!
Anything we asked for, we were taken care of including hanging our wet bathers and washing on the line and borrowing wine glasses to drink wine with our panninis and pizza down on the beahch.
By the way Marisa doesn't speak a word of English however we spoke very little Italian and we were able to communicate just fine. If there was anything that really wasn't understood her daughter was called upon for translation, so it wasn't a concern.
If you're looking for relaxed, easy accommodation this is the place. We thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed 2 nights at B&B Marisa and had a wonderful time at our stay! Valeria runs the reservations and is the daughter and speaks fluent English! Although our stay was a day delayed they were so helpful and accommodating! The room was very clean and we shared a very clean and modern bathroom with the other guests (never an issue). The location is right off a side road and was very safe while also very close to main attractions.

Breakfast was included and provided by Marisa in the morning and included cappuccino, juice, breads, honey, jam, butter.

In addition, Valeria was more than willing to help us use the phone as we needed to for our trip.

I was so happy with our stay there!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2011 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights and overall it was okay. It was close to the beach (the town is so small that everything is), but it was kind of hard to find. The woman who greeted us and served breakfast every morning didn't speak any English, but she was very friendly and we managed. The room was decent, but the bathroom was very small. Breakfast was minimal, with only bread and juice each morning. In general we though it was okay, but overpriced for what we got.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

The Monterosso accommodation office by the train station booked this for us. The B&B Marisa was less than ten minutes' walk away, with many trees and plants surrounding it, the friendly owner and her mother in attendance. It's quiet, home-like, clean (of course!), with excellent breakfasts with fresh fruit, muesli, good bread, jams, and super coffees in all the usual Italian variations. The daughter speaks English but the mother doesn't. However communication is not a problem when the well-run business knows and anticipates what simple travellers need.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2010

Found this place on TripAdvisor recommendations - it was great, lovely breakfast on a balcony, clean rooms, handy to the beach, friendly staff. Small bathroom, but had everything we needed!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B Marisa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Marisa

Address: Via Molinelli 24, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cinque terre Bed & breakfast Marisa The B&B Marisa is located at the first floor of a Villa. Marisa Bed&breakfast is just a few steps from the heart of Cinque terre, very close to Railway Station. We offer nice and clean rooms to enjoy a charming, typical B & B Accommodation for your lodging in Cinque terre. From Marisa Bed&Breakfast, you may easily reach the centre of Monterosso al mare and the beaches. Bed & breakfast Marisa is in a garden of orange and lemon trees.Bed & breakfast is run by Marisa's family, familiar atmosfere. Rooms with bathrooms ensuite. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
b&b Marisa Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Bed And Breakfast Marisa
B&B Marisa Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Marisa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.