We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect end to our Italian vacation.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel La Spiaggia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Hotel La Spiaggia to your Saves list
Hotel La Spiaggia
Lungomare Fegina 98, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto
Top Contributor
444 reviews 444 reviews
89 hotel reviews
Reviews in 126 cities Reviews in 126 cities
210 helpful votes 210 helpful votes
“A perfect end to our Italian vacation.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We consider ourselves very lucky to have gotten a couple of rooms here at a busy time of year. Our hotel room was great. Simple, but great. We had a partial water view and it was lovely. Three of our boys stayed in the family room in another building. It had lots of space but no air conditioning and is below ground level so a bit dark. The guys were fine in it but I might not have been :) The service and hospitality in this family-run hotel were superb. It is right at the beach near the train station and restaurants, so perfect. The breakfasts were also super. We highly recommend La Spiaggia!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

544 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    345
    117
    38
    20
    24
See reviews for
80
303
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Sherborn, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Thanks to the reviews of this fine hotel; I booked a 5 night stay at Hotel La Spiaggia. It exceeded my expectations from my 10 day trip to Italy with my 17 year old daughter.

The hospitality and kindness of the owners and employees was fabulous. The accomodations were terrific we had a 2 br apartment that overlooked the ocean and was just perfect.
It was particularly wonderful as the owner Andrea Poggi and his hotel employee Francesca were so helpful recommending restaurants and hikes throughout the Cinque terre area that were perfect and delicious!

The history of the hotel now being in its 4th generation since built by Andrea's grandfather is genuine and felt like we were home.
I look forward to future stays at the Hotel La Spiaggia - one of the highlights of our trip!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Top Contributor
328 reviews 328 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 101 cities Reviews in 101 cities
220 helpful votes 220 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We found this to be a fine but expensive hotel. Our expectations of Monterosso overall were not met. The place was less interesting, the restaurants less compelling, and the attractions less impressive than we had been led to believe. Most of the hiking trails were closed while we were there. The old part of Monterosso was much noiser and less attractive than we anticipated. And the beach area, where this hotel is attractively located, was crowded and overly active. No quaint times on the Italian seaside -- get ready, instead, for party-central.

The hotel staff were very nice. We followed their advice for restaurants and had a less than stellar experience. The restaurant behind the hotel was very nice, but the others were disappointing. Our room was fine, but expensive compared to other places we stayed in while in Italy. We had a superb balcony, which we thoroughly enjoyed. The breakfast was quite basic, with no surprises and no real treats. Again, a disappointment given the prices.

On balance, if we had wanted to stay at an extremely busy waterfront hotel, we would have selected one that was less less expensive and more accessible than this one. The staff make up for some of the shortcomings -- they are very kind and helpful -- but the next result was an hotel that was only average. And that was both a surprise and a disappointment.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony -- very nice for the mornings and evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

The good: I chose this hotel based on the reviews from Trip Advisor and I was not dissapointed. Maria welcomed us with a glass of Andrea’s (the owner) own wine. Andrea’s gave us plenty of recommendations to eat and also information on the trails and train times as well. The room was decent size and very clean. Breakfast was included and very good.

The bad: Our plan was to walk/hike and be active during the day and have a good night sleep at night. Unfortunately our neighbors had different plans. Apparently there was a big group of people and the teenage kids took a few rooms in our floor and around midnight they were coming and going from one room to the other, slamming doors, running, laughing. It was annoying. The next day we talked to Andrea and he said he would either talk to them or post notices about the noise. It worked but just a little, next night more of the same but in a lower level, still annoying though. We got lucky and they were out the next night so we had a quite one.

Despite this dent on our trip, I would return to La Spiaggia, I was really happy with the service and the hotel itself. My only suggestion is to bring enough cash. Even though it is clearly written on the confirmation notice I kind of left it to last minute to withdraw money from the nearest ATM. To my surprise, my debit card that worked a few days before in Barcelona did not work on any ATM in all Cinque Terre (tried about 7 ATMs). Also, most of the places where we dine at did not accept credit card either.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Our way incidentally changed to Monte Rosso, we loved the place and decided to spend the night in there... The Hotel was an amiable place, nice, small and clean... Especially its location across the sea was increadible...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Izmir, Turkey
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

an old hotel with a fantastastic location. very close to the train station, near to the best restaurants, near to the bar, near to the gelateria and just in front of the sea. rooms are not perfect but clean and are in good condition. friendly boss and bosses daughter is a bonus. the owner of the hotel suggest really good places to eat. not only in town in many towns of liguria. the only disadvantage is that they don' t accept credit cards. but for a nice vacations this is not that much important.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed here for one night during our trip through Italy. The receptionist was amazing, she spoke perfect English, gave us a complimentary glass of wine and lots of info on the area. The location is incredible and we had one of the best rooms in the hotel overlooking the beach (this is what you pay for). We had a huge covered terrace perfect for drinking wine and chilling out after a hectic few days in the cities. The rooms are very basic but clean and you do have free parking (but be warned, it takes a 93 point turn to get out). I felt for 200 euro a night wifi could have been included but all in all a lovely stay and Monterosso was MAGICAL!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel La Spiaggia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel La Spiaggia

Address: Lungomare Fegina 98, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#5 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel La Spiaggia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel La Spiaggia Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel La Spiaggia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.