We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have been happier” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Antica Terrazza

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Monterosso al Mare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
L'Antica Terrazza
Save
You added L'Antica Terrazza to your Saves list
Vicolo San Martino 1, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Couldn't have been happier”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Located well within walking distance of the train station and nestled in the heart of lots of shops and restaurants. Jon greeted me upon arrival; he was very relaxed and extremely helpful. I only met Rafaella briefly when I checked out and stored my bag, but she was very friendly and inviting.

I stayed in the apartment as the B&B rooms were fully booked. The apartment was cozy and fully-equipped. I cooked two wonderful dinners using ingredients bought at the market right around the corner. The apartment got a bit chilly (stayed just last weekend, mid-September), but Jon had already offered and brought an extra blanket in anticipation of the cold night. The pull-out bed was quite comfortable.

I don't think my trip would have been nearly as good if I had stayed elsewhere. Jon's trail recommendations and restaurant recommendations were spot on. If you stay here (or even if you don't), then you MUST try San Martino which is right next door. Excellent food, inexpensive, and friendly chef.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    32
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
122
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

For anyone planning a trip to Cinque Terre, please book with this establishment. The host and hostess are superb, the rooms are spotless, the location is divine, and no words can describe the roof top terrace. Also, be sure to take a boat cruise along the coast. Do not delay, book now!

Room Tip: All rooms are to die for!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

This little hotel has been in Raffaela's family for five generations. The rooms are small and all double bedded (no twins), however, they are clean, well appointed, well serviced. Everything works. Jon and Raffaela made our party really welcome and helped us plan our walking with giveaway maps and local knowledge. The rooms are air conditioned at the right temperature for sleeping which means you can sleep with the windows closed and not be disturbed by the hustle of the bar downstairs, or mosquitos. Underneath the hotel is a little supermarket and next door is a lovely takeaway with home cooked food which you can take back and eat on the terrace of the hotel. Breakfast is lovely too. Would recommend this B and B to anyone. Lovely stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Lombardia, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Besides the second to none location of this B and B, my all in all impression is recommendable to anyone. Lovely minimalistic, authentic and clean rooms makes the stay very comfortable. The hosts Jon and Raffaella, also play an important role making the stay a pleasure, with great area knowledge and great english skills.

Thanks again for some great days Jon and Raffa....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Thank you to Raffaella and Jon for making our stay in Monterosso such a fantastic experience. The room was adequate with space to open two cases. Great air conditioning to make returning to our room an enjoyable experience after the heat of late August.. It is in a perfect position with many restaurants and bars close by. There is a small supermarket on the ground floor under the rooms which made getting supplies very easy. My wife and I enjoyed a bottle of champagne and nibbles on the terrace on the second floor on our first night. The terrace is an amazing place to wind down after a busy day either travelling or exploring Cinque Terra. The walks although a good workout are something that you need to do. The best asset at this amazing accommodation are the hosts. Raffaella and Jon made our stay feel as if we were at home. Their attention to detail to ensure we had an enjoyable stay was outstanding. We cannot thank them enough for all their help. I recommend anyone travelling to Monterosso to stay here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

What an amazing experience!
Monterosso in August with heat and humidity at its highest and hundreds of holidaymakers!
How lovely to be able to go back to your fully air conditioned room which is 5 minutes from the beach and in the centre of the old town to relax.
Plus the terrace with views of the sea is simply wonderful and you can take your bottles of wine and meet other guests
We loved our time here.
Jon and Raffaella are so nice and extremely helpful with advice on what to do and where to go especially with restaurants as its all too easy to be ripped off with the very touristy ones.
Highly recommended

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thewalrus711
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

My wife and I made a return trip to Monterosso recently (July 2013) and wanted to experience a different property from the one we stayed at on our first trip - which was great also (Hotel La Colonnina). Needless to say, everything people say about Jon and Rafaella is true. They are welcoming, warm, friendly and super helpful. Our room (aria) was smallish but efficient, modern, clean and included everything we could have wanted for a comfortable stay. It is the first room at the top of the stairs and included a balcony with a nice view onto the city. If you travel like my wife and I and plan to spend the majority of your time in the CT hiking, relaxing on the beach and enjoying all of the delicious local seafood, then this is a really nice place to call home and this would be the first place I will look to book on any future trip to the CT. Conversely, if you typically spend a good amount of time in your room or relaxing at a hotel/resort then this is probably not a place I would recommend for you as this is not that type of property. Additionally, I would book without breakfast if you have the option and grab a pastry and cappuccino in town before you head out to enjoy one of the most beautiful places on the planet.

Room Tip: There is no lift so be sure to ask for a room that keeps stairs to a minimum if you have a lot of ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to L'Antica Terrazza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Antica Terrazza

Address: Vicolo San Martino 1, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Monterosso al Mare
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
L'Antica Terrazza is a small and cosy Bed & Breakfast located in the middle of the historic center of Monterosso al Mare in Cinque Terre. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
l`Antica Terrazza Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
L'Antica Terrazza Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Antica Terrazza, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.