We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Stay in Monterosso” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Colonnina Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Monterosso al Mare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Colonnina Hotel
Via Zuecca 6, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Scottsdale, Arizona
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect Stay in Monterosso”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We could not have asked for a more perfect stay in the Cinque Terre. The location in the quaint Old town is perfect. The hotel is clean and modern. The staff is friendly and helpful. We arrived lated on a Wednesday night.There were 19 of us there to celebrate my parents 50th wedding anniversary! Selene had cold orange juice waiting for all of us! We had 5 rooms of which one was the rooftop terrace #120 which we gave to my parents. We called it the honeymoon suite because it is large and the only room on the roof. The entire hotel is clean and updated but the rooftop terrace room is truly special. Reserve it if you can.The breakfast had a good variety and the cappuccinos were delicious. The breakfast staff were very sweet and attentive. We will definitely return!

Room Tip: Room #120 is large and on the rooftop. Very special with a great view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    175
    69
    10
    3
    2
See reviews for
53
137
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stayed three nights at the hotel and really enjoyed the location and quality. It's in great shape, very clean and staff is extremely friendly and courteous. We did not have a room with a terrace, so our room was somewhat small, but our price reflected that and we knew what we were getting upfront. We also liked the fact that it was located in Old Town, as we felt there was more to do on that side (and appreciated the beach wasn't as crowded). The hotel is also pretty quiet, especially since you can use the a/c and keep the windows closed -- and it was also the most comfortable bed we had during our 16-day trip to Italy.

They do only take cash, but they are also upfront about it.

At this point, it isn't possible to take a taxi to the hotel, as there's a temporary tunnel in place, due to a rock slide (or perhaps fixing an area?), and taxis can only bring you up to the opening and it's maybe 1/2 way to the hotel. Once you get to Old Town, the hotel is signed pretty well to direct you up the right path. I would agree that it 's shorter to get off the train, go left and go down the hill toward Old Town, rather than going through the main train station.

Room Tip: If you can get a room with a terrace, it's probably worth the splurge. The only down side is th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bendigo, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

The hotel, in the old town, is an easy walk (with luggage) along the promenade from the tunnel from the train station. (hint- if you are coming in on platform 1, walk out through the taxi area at the left side facing the sea and down the road to avoid the stairs)
Although the hotel is very close to the train line it is extremely well insulated andquiet and our sleep was not disturbed by trains at all.
We were welcomed with a cool drink on arrival before being shown to our room. the only negative about our stay was that the staff member at reception explained the key and hotel entry system but failed to tell us anything about the hotel facilities, breakfast service, etc so we assumed that this information must have been in the room. It wasn't.
Apart from the lack of information we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel where we stayed 4 nights in a lovely room with a secluded terrace. On the first two evenings the weather was beautiful and we enjoyed sitting on our terrace just soaking up the last rays of sunshine, and gorgeous twilight. Unfortunately it rained for the second half of our stay so the terrace was unused.
Our room was large and divided into a sitting and bed area by a small step up.

Breakfasts were brilliant with a wide range of food to suit all tastes, including some organic and Bio products. We loved the coffees served with a smile.

Room Tip: Room 110 is large and has a lovely secluded terrace. Some of the others look more "public"
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Hotel is in a wonderful location with incredibly friendly and helpful staff. An easy 15 minute walk from the train station in a quiet area close to the sea. Breakfasts were delicious with several choices of wonderful pastries, fruit, eggs, various hams, etc. - your typical Italian buffet with coffee served any which way you'd like it.

The room had a private outdoor space with a table and 2 chairs, with a view of the mountain. This space is next to 2 other private outdoor spaces (which was fine). The room was not large, but fine for the 2 of us for the 4 nights. (smaller than those shown on the website). They have over 20 rooms so I'm sure the prices reflect location, size, etc.

The rooftop terrace had table and chairs and lounge chairs with a view towards the town and a sea view. We loved going up there with a local bottle of wine.

Hotel is immaculate, the staff are wonderful and we were happy we chose this hotel. The only reason we didn't give it 5 stars is that we save that for luxurious accommodations.

La Colonnina will make your stay very enjoyable and they let you know up front they only accept cash or traveler's checks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This lovely hotel is steps from the small harbor of this northernmost Cinqueterre town. Best of all, it is easily accessible from the parking lot on the northwest end of the town, enabling suitcases to be rolled along pavement with minimal climbing until one reaches the single flight of stairs leading to the hotel entrance. Rooms are small but comfortably and attractively furnished, a rooftop deck has seating and tables at which to enjoy the cool evening air and a drink, and the breakfast room is beautiful in decor and opulently supplied with the one of the most extravagant array of breads, pastries, cheeses, fruits, etc.,I have ever encountered at a Continental breakfast.

Room Tip: The welcome is warm and gracious. A few of the rooms have private terraces, but in view of the roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in September 2012, in a double room with a terrace for a rate between 150-180 Euro per night. When we started our Monterosso hotel hunt, we found out that to start looking in June was kind of late for a stay in September. Almost all of the top 5 TripAdvisor hotels had been fully booked and were offering their offsite apartments or rooms. La Colonnina was the only hotel out of the top 5 to have availability. Check-in was relaxing and simple. All we had to do was present the party's passports and let them make a copy of them. We were tired from the 10 minute walk in the sun, so Selera got us some fresh cold lemonade, and let us rest in the lobby until we were ready to go to our room.

Likes:
- The courteous staff. Giulia and Selera at the front desk were amazingly helpful and were fluent in English. They would help us translate a phrase that we heard that day, recommend a place to eat or even give directions to a place in our Rick Steves book. The rest of the staff from cleaning to breakfast were all courteous.
- The room. The large room had plenty of storage space, clean, with towels replaced daily. It had a refrigerator and an easy to use safe. The air conditioning was quiet and cooled the room very well.
- Location of room- I would agree with Margaret M's tip from Sept. 23 that the "top floor is a gem." We stayed on the top floor room which is the only guest room on the roof. This is also where the public terrace and laundry clotheslines are. We had a reserved area with table and lounge chairs right outside our door a few meters away from the public terrace. Although the reserved area was not walled off, privacy was not an issue for several reasons: the public terrace wasn't all that busy (1-2 sunbathers or 3-4 wine loungers per day), eating was not allowed on the public terrace, and finally they closed the terrace at I think 10 pm. So it was actually incredibly private.
- Check in and Check out process. For check out, all they needed was the final payment (cash only) and we were done.
- Breakfast Included- This was a pretty basic buffet style continental breakfast but it had some items that were definitely not typical to a continental breakfast in the U.S. First, there were daily sliced cheese and salami. Put that on a toasted croissant and I was happy. Also, there were freshly cut fruit (melons). They even had a plate of organic fruit of the season grown right there on the hotel grounds. Grapes were the Septembers harvest and we just missed the October pickings of perssimon. They also had two servers who took hot drink orders like tea coffee and hot chocolate, made to order. Finally, the little packs of nutella to dip cookies in were a nice treat.
- Hotel Location - Although it was away from the shore, it's within 3-5 walking distance to the shore, 1-2 minute distance to the main restaurants in Old Town, and 8-12 minute walking distance to the train station and New Town. Plus the hotel was away from the main path of the tourists.

Issues That We Had But May Not be For Others:
- Getting To And From Train Station With Baggage- In 70-85 degree heat, that 8-12 minute walk with luggage can get stressful and tiresome. We did notice that there was a local taxi but we never explored that option.

Other Tips
- From Roma Termini, we bought 19 Euro per passenger one way internet second class tickets to La Spezia Centrale (3.5-4.5 hrs travel time). Upon arrival to La Spezia Centrale, we bought a local train ticket (forgot how much but less than 4 Euro per person) from the ticket window for travel through Cinque Terre. Overall, we took a taxi to Roma Termini at 12 noon and checked in at Hotel at 5:45pm. We pretty much did the opposite going back to Roma Termini leaving Monterosso at 3:00 pm To La Spezia Centrale and using a 19 Euro per person one way Internet ticket to Termini arriving at 8:00pm.
- The nice thing about Monterosso (and Riomaggiore for that matter) is that the train stops more here where as it won't always stop at the other three center villages. If we were going north and the train stopped at Riomagiorre, we were pretty certain it would stop at Monterosso.
- We learned that it is Italian law that irons are not allowed in hotel rooms.
- EAT AT Ciaks. Make reservations in advanced. Try the risotto.

Overall, we were impressed with the hotel and especially the village and the residents. The way they rebuilt their town after such a devastating flood less than a year prior to our stay was inspiring. We definitely want to come back and would recommend La Colonnina to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night with my wife in April 2013. Its has a very warm and initmate feeling to it. Entering the hotel was like entering a home, very nice. Selene on reception was very friendly and helpful and gave us a choice of rooms. It has a lot of character and the breakfast room was sweet with a perfect little breafast, including organic options! Great experience and would surely reccommend it. And Monterosso is beautiful!

Room Tip: A room with a terrace is great with a glass of prosecco!! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Colonnina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Colonnina Hotel

Also Known As:
Hotel La Colonnina
La Colonnina Hotel Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy
Address: Via Zuecca 6, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#5 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Colonnina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added La Colonnina Hotel to your Saves list