We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service, spacious accomodations” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Colonnina Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Monterosso al Mare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Colonnina Hotel
Save
You added La Colonnina Hotel to your Saves list
Via Zuecca 6, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Atlanta, GA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent service, spacious accomodations”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

My friend and I stayed one night recently at the APARTMENT owned by and next to La Colonnina Hotel, as we were traveling to Cinque Terre and could not find availability in any hotel. We were so pleased we decided to take this option offered by the hotel staff. The apartment was well appointed, clean, and very spacious. It had a bathroom, bedroom (contaiing a "double" bed that is really two beds pushed together), and a separate living room. We also had access to the hotel common areas, including the garden terrace, roof terrace, and wi-fi space. The ladies at the hotel desk were extremely polite and gracious, even helping us to find our next hotel room and holding our luggage the day of our check-out so that we could hike the trail between the five villages. I highly recommend this hotel/apartment for the excellent service, reasonable price, and ideal location.

Room Tip: If the hotel is booked, ask about the apartment that they own right next to the hotel. It is an exc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

325 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    92
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
70
175
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed 3 nights at La Colonnina, and loved it. The location was perfect, our room was fantastic, and the service could not be beat. The ladies were so friendly, helpful and sweet.

We had room 200, which had a terrace, and we felt like we had the best room in the place. Everything was brand new. The beds were comfortable, the bathroom luxurious, and the spacious marble filled room was lovely. Our terrace was roomy and even though it had no sea view, was just charming.

Breakfast was very good. Lots of organic options and variety. The front desk gave us some great dinner recommendations each evening. When there was a train strike, the front desk went above and beyond to call on my behalf and get a clear answer on our train schedule.

We loved our stay and wish we were there right now!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow, Ireland
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Stayed here in September 2011 with my sister. The location is ideal just behind the church in the old part of the village of Monterosso. The hotel staff could not have done enough for us, we were given towels to take to the beach, given umbrellas when it rained and looked after very well in general. The location is ideal for strolling the small streets, browsing the shops, restaurants and bars and yet within a ten minute walk to the new town for more browsing, restaurants and bars.

A must when booking with the hotel is to ask for a room with a balcony or terrace as rooms are quite small. Also if no rooms are available on the normal booking websites, contact the hotel directly as they very often have rooms available.

Room Tip: Balcony or terrace is an advantage
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

In our recent 2 week trip to Italy, this was, very likely, the nicest and most friendly place at which we stayed. The breakfasts were fantastic and the staff was extremely helpful. Clearly, our stay at La Colonnina enhanced our stay in Monterosso and makes us want to return all the more.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

This was my second visit back to this charming/beautiful place, and my second time staying in this gorgerous hotel. This is an amazing osais in this fantasic part of Italy. So peaceful, yet so close to everything right in the heart of this old town. The rooms were spotless, the staff on reception are SO helpfull. Wonderfull breakfasts too, which our 2 teenage sons were very excited about. (Age 17+14).
Everthing that I have written is completely true, I couldn't recommend this place enough.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

The Hotel staff is so friendly and helpful, they made our stay.
This property is very charming, with a beautiful sun deck (on the roof), a great place to relax and enjoy a glass of wine prior to dinner. The rooms are clean and cute with beautiful Italian Marble.

I highly suggest this place for a relaxing vacation!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melboure Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

La Colonnina is just a home away from home. Clean and welcoming with a beautiful garden. Breakfast was outstanding. We were so well looked after - always someone on the front desk that was willing to help. Close to everything but still lovely and peaceful. We have been back twice and wouldn't hesitate to go again.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Colonnina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Colonnina Hotel

Address: Via Zuecca 6, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#4 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Number of rooms: 21
Also Known As:
Hotel La Colonnina
La Colonnina Hotel Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Colonnina Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.