We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sea views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel 5 Terre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel 5 Terre to your Saves list
Hotel 5 Terre
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via IV Novembre, 21, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Echuca, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Sea views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

The hotel was just a few minutes walk from the station, sea and restaurants.The room was a bit small and the shower was designed for skinny people only but we had great views of the hills and found the whole place clean and comfortable. The staff were lovely, friendly and helpful. We enjoyed sitting in the courtyard with a fountain.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    95
    46
    9
    6
See reviews for
39
126
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

It's a little hike up the Main Street t the hostel and it has a beautiful view of Manarola town. The host and its chef were very friendly and kind to us. It's a dorm style hostel, so the minimum is 6 in a dorm and they are separated by females/males. Their bathroom stalls are clean but tiny, and the showers are timed but warm water. They also have dinner available downstairs, very good food and as mentioned, they are great hosts. My only complaint is the church bells, since I am not an early bird. They ring from 7am, every half hour, even with the windows closed, they are pretty audible. Each town in Cinque terre has a similar church near by, so I imagine each town hostel is awakened similarly.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2014

We completely enjoyed our stay at the Hotel 5 Terre! The staff was so nice and helpful, and even let us extend our time in the room with no extra charge. The room was small but very clean--the bathroom was recently remodeled and very clean and fresh. We would recommend this hotel for a great location and service in Cinque Terre.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montana
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

A friend recommended this hotel. Great location (in a town that is arguably the best of the "five lands") and great hotel--a block from the beach, an easy 5-minute walk from the train, and very good restaurants nearby. Nice lobby and staff, with two cats guarding the lobby. Outside patios on two levels. Breakfasts are excellent Italian style, with a machine that makes various good coffees.
When we arrived, we were given one of the best rooms (#207, but #307 should also be excellent), a SE corner room (perhaps just because we asked). It had a partial sea view. Most other rooms would probably not have a sea view. Hotel seemed not full, perhaps because Rick Steves stopped sending his tour groups there--a mistake! (Our theory is that our smallish room had a bathroom with a smallish shower--no tub--and there was a 4-inch step-up in the middle of it, perhaps a safety concern.)
It's about a 10-15 minute walk through the nice, short tunnel (check the side tunnel also) to the old town, and another good restaurant there. (For restaurant suggestions, check my reviews to follow.) Wine lovers should also find Enotec 5 Terre on the main street.

Room Tip: See my review!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton NSW
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

This hotel has the friendliest, most obliging staff. We chose this as flat walk from Monteresso railway station . It was convenient, great breakfast, excellent WiFi in lobby area. It was spotlessly clean and had its own charm . Our room had a water glimpse but we had paid a very reasonable rate. Hotel recommended places for dinner , both good.
It was an ideal place to stay for exploring Cinque Terre. Highly recommended

Room Tip: Ask for room at front on higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

Our 5 days at the Hotel 5 Terre were extremely enjoyable. Our nice very quiet room with balcony and even a bit of a sea view (mostly blocked by a magnificent palm tree so I just focused on the beauty of the tree) was excellent. I chose Monterosso and the Hotel 5 Cinque (near beach & train station) since it was the largest of the 5 towns and we could go for long walks along the seafront/beach in the evening after spending the day visiting the other smaller towns. But it was Maria and Domenico who run the hotel and are so friendly and accommodating who made our stay so enjoyable and we feel are our new best friends. Great breakfast too in large beautiful breakfast room.

Room Tip: Higher room with beautiful palm tree view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

The staff of this hotel made us feel a home. It had a very warm feeling and very obliging staff. Close to many of the sites that this area is famous for. Breakfast had a variety of fruits and a good selection of cereals.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel 5 Terre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 5 Terre

Address: Via IV Novembre, 21, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel 5 Terre 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel 5 Terre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
5 Terre Hotel
Hotel 5 Terre Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel 5 Terre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.