We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Punta Mesco

Save Saved
You added Hotel Punta Mesco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Punta Mesco
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Molinelli, 35, Monterosso al Mare, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Georgia, United States
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Very good hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Stayed 2 nights here and it was very pleasant. It's location (2 blocks from waterfront) is ideal. The rooms are modern and well kept. The bathroom is large compared to the other places we stayed in Italy. The staff were very good and helpful. The breakfast was first rate for Italy.

Only complaint was it can be a little noisy when people are coming and going, closing doors and drying their hair (loud hair dryers!). But this was a minor issue compared to the man y positives.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    120
    96
    18
    7
    1
See reviews for
42
117
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013 via mobile

We were very impressed with the quality of this hotel. From the moment we walked in, the staff was very attentive to us. They offered us advice on what trails to hike, what places to see, and where to eat at. The location was close to the train station, making it very convenient. The breakfast offered a great variety of fresh fruit, assorted breads, cereals, yogurt, cappuccinos, meats, cheese, and more! It was some of our favorite breakfasts on the trip! This is a truly a great place to stay!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of days while in Cinque Terre. It was up the road from the beach, which made it quiet. We were in a small apartment in the building beside the hotel and it was perfectly comfortable. It came fully stocked with coffee, pots, pans and other such items, all for the same price as the hotel. We were given access to the internet, and also had the same breakfast as the hotel. Breakfast was very nice, consisting of the typical breakfast, but also fresh made juices and coffee/cappuchinos to order. If you are driving here, there is free parking across from the hotel in a secured lot. It is extremely easy to get to. One thing about Monterosso is that there are actually two parts to the town, separated by a foot tunnel. This hotel is on the side where the train station is located, so if coming by train, it is much more convenient. The restaurants we liked are on the other side though. In our mind, better to walk to dinner with no luggage. The staff were very helpful as well.

Room Tip: The apartment was on the third floor, in a building with no elevator. Internet in the room was slow...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Stayed 3 nights when visiting Cinque Terre region. The rooms are a reasonable size, clean and the bed comfortable. The bathrooms are small but again clean - what more do you need?

You will hear the occasional train rumbling past, but I think this will be true of many central hotels in Monterosso. The walls are quite thin so you may also hear your neighbours too.
Breakfast was plentiful, with fruit, yoghurt, cereals, bread and cakes available.

The staff are really friendly and helpful, nothing's too much trouble.

Would use the hotel again if visiting the area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Had two nights here. Lovely room, nice little terrace, clean and near new. Breakfast was included and was great with fresh fruit, great coffee etc. The staff here are the best we have come across in our travels, nothing is too much trouble. Location is great, close to beach, restaurants, train station, supermarket and even a laundry. Free parking is gold around here. Would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Marys, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

We had a great stay at the Punta Mesco. On arrival, the staff, Manuel, took care of our every need with a smile and an explanation of all that Monterosso and the rest of Cinque Terre had to offer. The room was smallish, but adequate, and the bed was spacious and very comfortable. There is free parking, but you may be better served if you visited Cinque Terre by train as the drive down the mountainside into Monterosso can be breathtaking in more ways than one.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Used this hotel as my base for exploring the Cinque Terre, stayed 8 nights. Service was amazing, everyone so welcoming and eager to help. Rooms were very clean, small but I was out and about daily right after breakfast just coming back for a couple of hours before dinner and at night. The hotel really is a 2 - 3 minute stroll from the train station, 1 minute from the waterfront. Breakfast is various fruit, cereals, yoghurt, sweet pastries, bread/toast and delicious ham, prosciutto and cheese. And, of course, espresso, cappuccino or "American" coffee. My ground floor room had a little patio so I could relax and read or sip a glass of the excellent local wine. I washed a few items and hung them to dry on the rack on the patio - they were out there all night and the following day, no problems. Rooms have the usual room safe and the standard European hair dryer. The little bars of soap they give you actually have a nice scent! I found the bed to be very comfortable. Walls are very thin, can't hear conversations but could hear voices etc. I will return to this hotel next time I visit the area.

Room Tip: No pool. I couldn't un-tick the rating. Bring your own wash cloths if you use one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Punta Mesco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Punta Mesco

Address: Via Molinelli, 35, Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#7 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Punta Mesco 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Venere and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Punta Mesco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Punta Mesco Hotel
Hotel Punta Mesco Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Punta Mesco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.