We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The staff make this hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Steno

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Monterosso al Mare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Villa Steno
Save
You added Hotel Villa Steno to your Saves list
Via Roma 109, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The staff make this hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Hotel Steno last week while visiting cinque terre for the first time.
We stayed in their 2 bedroom family suite which isn't overly large but more than adequate and the large private terrace outside the room overlooking the bay is terrific.
That said, what makes Hotel Steno special are the people. From our first email contact with the hotel, through making restaurant reservations and even suggestions for our next stop up in Piedmont, Matteo, Carla and their very able and pleasant night manager, Ana, truly go out of their way to make your stay special. At least they did ours and we are all very thankful!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    715
    73
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
216
356
45
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lakeville, Minnesota
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

My wife and I spent several days there in August. WOW, what amazing customer service and the friendliness of the owners is fantastic, they made you feel like you are part of the family.
Beautiful location with a small parking lot which means a lot in this town. The Villa is spotless and the room was very clean. The breakfast in the morning is amazing, a step above the typical continental breakfasts in most locations.
Simply put, this is a great place to stay and I would highly recommend Villa Steno to anyone planning a trip to Cinque Terra.
We look forward to going back soon!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had a room with a terrace that overlooked the town and Med. A fantastic view and we ate half our evening meals and most lunches (when in town) on the terrace with great views and also hearing the hustle and bustle without it being too noisy. The staff here are first class and the breakfast spot on. We can thoroughly recommend the effort to get up the hill, because it is well worth the effort.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view of the town out towards the Med.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Thank you Matteo and Carla for anther great stay at Villa Steno! Everything was perfect as usual.

For anyone looking for the best place to stay in Monterosso, this is it. This was our second time after 9 years. My brother's family of 4 and my wife and our 12 year old stayed for 5 nights in August. We felt like we were staying with family. The hotel is in the perfect spot with a wonderful view, it has been renovated beautifully, the air conditioning is cool, the garden is incredible and the food and bar are great!

The best part however is the hospitality of the owners, Matteo and Carla. They will help you with anything you need and treat you like friends.

Jim Lillo Denver, Colorado

We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

The hotel Steno was a lovely and spotlessly clean hotel. I stayed in July for three nights and could not of been happier. As a solo traveler I was welcomed and looked after by all of the staff. They even made my coffee to order in the morning at breakfast.
The balconies are a great place to seat in the evening. you can listen to the music drifting up from the town centre.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Matt & Miriam, Wollongong, Australia. We booked Hotel Villa Steno on the basis of the reveiws we had read on trip advisor and we were not dissapointed, Matteo, Carla and all there staff are wonderful hosts,the motel has a great location, lovely food and is spotlessly clean, truely a home away from home.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stayed at the lovely Hotel Villa Steno for three nights in the middle of the very busy holiday season. We found the relaxed but attentive owners and staff only too pleased to suggest the best options for site seeing and eating in Monterosso al Mare. Invaluable information when you only have a limited time to explore the area.
We would start each day with a yummy breakfast on the balcony, overlooking the coastline of Cinque Terre and then head off for the day to explore the area. With temperatures in the high 20C it was so nice to return each evening to a spotlessly clean, cool room. To sit on to top deck marvelling at the beauty of the little piece of paradise we were enjoying and sip a wine before heading down to dinner. Thank you Hotel Villa Steno.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Steno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Steno

Address: Via Roma 109, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Steno Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Hotel Steno
Hotel Villa Steno Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Steno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.