We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Steno

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Monterosso al Mare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Villa Steno
Save
You added Hotel Villa Steno to your Saves list
Via Roma 109, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We booked the two bedroom apartment at the back of the hotel which is great for a family of four. The apartment has its own verandah and is very close to the rest of the hotel facilities.

Villa Steno is situated at the top end of the old village. This makes it a bit quieter than down-town but does provide great views over the village and out to sea. The walk from the train station can be a bit strenuous if your are not fit or have very heavy luggage but there is the option of a taxi.

Carla and Matteo are excellent hosts and this starts with help in making your booking, advice before you arrive and a most helpful demeanour during your stay.

The breakfasts are fantastic and make sure you sample Carla's lemon cake and lemon marmalade. The cappucinos at breakfast were also a winner with the family.

We will definitely stay at Villa Steno on our next visit to the Cinque Terra.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    715
    73
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
216
356
45
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Agawam, Massachusetts
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Our family of 4 concluded our 12 day italian vacation here. Our suite had 2 bedrooms and a bathroom, which were clean and comfortable. The huge attraction was our private balcony, about 20' by 10' outside our door, with 2 lounge chairs, a table and 4 chairs, overlooking the village and the ocean!
Walking from the street takes about 100 steps, but it is well worth it. The view is unbelievable.
The hotel is extremely well kept, and the help from Anna at the front desk was outstanding - we took all her advice on restaurants.
This was likely the favorite hotel stay of my life. If you are coming to Cinque Terre, stay in Monterosso. If you stay in Monterosso, stay here!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Had a family room which well accommodated our family of 4. The terrace was very large and lovely to look over the town and sea. We also really appreciated the full breakfast served with a smile and the reasonably priced laundry service. It is a bit of a walk up the hill or stairs the but very manageable and quite enjoyable as you go through the flower garden and lemon grove. I think some of the rooms may be small or without a view so make sure you get the type of room you want. I found the owner very good to deal with in clearly describing what the features were of the various rooms available.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room with a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kanahooka, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was our 4th stay at the Villa Steno & one of the best. Matteo & Carla welcome you like family & can not do enough to make your stay pleasant. The room was well maintained, overlooking the Monterosso old town. Very picturesque. Breakfasts are great made even better with home made preserves. You have to try some of the lemoncello made by Matteo's father. The best we have tasted. All the facilities were fine & extras like drinks priced very competitively. We would have no hesitation in returning here again. Just be aware that there are a lot of steps (about 130 or so) to access the hotel or a long road so a certain level of fitness may be required. We found the walk pleasant as it worked its way through the gardens and lemon groves. This is Monterosso, no need to hurry.

Room Tip: All rooms have views. The new panorama terrace is a great place to enjoy the view with a meal &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was our second stay at Steno and we were made feel very welcome as return guests. The hotel is extremely comfortable, clean and staff are always extremely pleasant. The views from the hotel are excellent looking over the rooftops of the houses and over to the sea. I woke at 4.00am one morning and the street were lit by a dim light that looked like a scene from a movie. Highly recommended for jet lagged guests.
Breakfast is very good, in particular the lemon cake that is cooked the night before, permeating the hotel with a warm lemon scent in the night air.
The hotel is a bit tricky to find the first time being to the back of the old town. A number have complained before about the stairs up with the suitcases for those walking from the station. If this is a problem you can walk up and ask for assistance to come help with the bags.
The old town where the hotel is placed is just beautiful, we ate each night at the restauants at the top of the hill to the left of the old town (facing the water). Excellent seafood pasta.
We enjoyed our stay here and the staff who made us all feel very welcome.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulsbo, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

My family of three stayed at Villa Steno in June 2013 and we couldn't have been happier! We were greeted with a glass of prosecco and taken care of with kindness. The hotel and rooms are super clean and have beautiful views of the town. We definitely preferred staying in Old Town where the hotel is located. Matteo and Carla, the owners, are very friendly and helpful. We would love to stay with them again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Florida, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We traveled from Florida to the hotel in June 2013 with our 12 and 13 year old daughters. The visit was perfect from beginning to end. After 2 weeks in Venice, Florence, and Rome, this seaside village was relaxing. The staff was attentive, polite, and helpful. The accommodations were perfect for our family of four. The girls could close a privacy divider between our bed and their sleep area. The patio was spacious and had an amazing view of the coast. The breakfast was delicious and fresh. My girls couldn't wait to get up each morning and eat on the terrace over looking the town and beach. This hotel was a wonderful way to end our family vacation in Italy. Hotel Villa Steno was one of our all time favorite destinations.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Steno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Steno

Address: Via Roma 109, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Steno Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Hotel Steno
Hotel Villa Steno Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Steno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.