We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Steno

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Monterosso al Mare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Villa Steno
Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Steno to your Saves list
Via Roma 109, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is an absolutely amazing Villa in Monterosso. The owners were so very friendly and helpful, arranging a taxi from the station for me when I arrived, so I didn't have to do the steep walk up the stairs with my bag. They spoke very good English which I really appreciated, as my Italian is no good! The breakfast was absolutely lovely, a great way to start the day.

Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    73
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
207
326
44
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed at Hotel Villa Steno for our 3rd time last month and it was another fabulous experience. Matteo and Carla always make us feel welcome and special. Although many of the trails between the towns were closed, we hiked from Monterosso to Levanto one day and Riomaggiore to Portovenere the next, while the rest of our group explored towns reached by train and ferry. Villa Steno is comfortable to return to, relax on the deck with a glass of wine, watch the sun set, then wander down the hill to dinner in town (anchovies, paella, Cinque Terre white wine!). We kept our windows open at night so we could hear the city slowly start up each morning and then head up for the excellent breakfast buffet and cappuccino/caffè latte. The view from the rooms across the town to the sea is tranquil and relaxing. Hotel Villa Steno provides an exceptional experience in a great location and we're coming back next year with 6 of our friends!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, California
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

From the moment you arrive you feel welcome. There is a nice terrace for an afternoon cocktail (you will need this after the walk up the hill, which is a hearty walk but worth the effort).
The rooms are clean and comfy and the balcony is worth the entire trip. The morning breakfast is very generous and very relaxing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights, excellent welcome and information pack provided by the owners, great location, short walk to the town and beach through the garden which is filled with fruit trees and flowers, the roses were simply heaven. Breakfast was 5 star, simply divine and great to start the day, nothing better than freshly made fruit salad and a cappuccino made by the owner. We found the television reception fantastic, we had been travelling for 5 weeks and finally found some English speaking tele, we were in heaven. We highly recommend this hotel, could find no faults, from 2 Aussie grandmas.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Would highly recommend hotel villa steno to anyone!!
Couldn't pick any faults, best location and service anyone could ask for!
Great views and very close restaurants. Lovely friendly and helpful staff and very welcoming.
We had a great breakfast every morning, and a lot of home made products. We wish we stayed longer than three nights, as it was the best hotel and service we had throughout all of Italy and the view is simply breathtaking!
We rate Villa Steno a 10 out of 10. Both my wife and i didn't want to leave, three nights was way too short!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We were so pleased to be able to stay at Hotel Villa Steno on our trip to Italy. The Cinque Terre is a fabulous area with so much color and topography. The hotel sits up high so you can see the colorful homes and scenery. Most or all rooms have private balconies...and there is a communal patio where breakfast is served. The owners were incredibly helpful with recommendations...and they recommended a restaurant for lunch that we would never have found on our own. The hotel is new, clean and shiny. A lovely stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We were lucky to stay three nights in this fabulous hotel, it is perched above the old town and our room had a terrace, complete with lemon trees and great views over the town to the ocean, Just beautiful! Our room was very clean and spacious.
Our hosts, Carla, Matteo and Anna were so very and genuinely friendly, offering helpful information about the walks, other towns and restaurants. The breakfasts on the breakfast terrace were loving prepared by the amazing Carla, she even made the jams and marmalades, I even took a jar of marmalade home!
Carla prepared a beautiful "semi fredo" cake for me as it was my birthday and I am very grateful for the effort she took.
There are stairs to reach down into the town, but they are good excerise for the Cinque Terre dinners!
We only wished we could have stayed longer in this welcoming hotel, in this picturesque town.
We would love to return!

Room Tip: Rooms with the terrace and seaviews, just beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Steno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Steno

Address: Via Roma 109, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#1 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Steno Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Hotel Steno
Hotel Villa Steno Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Steno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.