We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning view, excellent all round” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Steno

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Monterosso al Mare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Villa Steno
Save
You added Hotel Villa Steno to your Saves list
Via Roma 109, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stunning view, excellent all round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights, excellent welcome and information pack provided by the owners, great location, short walk to the town and beach through the garden which is filled with fruit trees and flowers, the roses were simply heaven. Breakfast was 5 star, simply divine and great to start the day, nothing better than freshly made fruit salad and a cappuccino made by the owner. We found the television reception fantastic, we had been travelling for 5 weeks and finally found some English speaking tele, we were in heaven. We highly recommend this hotel, could find no faults, from 2 Aussie grandmas.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,010 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Would highly recommend hotel villa steno to anyone!!
Couldn't pick any faults, best location and service anyone could ask for!
Great views and very close restaurants. Lovely friendly and helpful staff and very welcoming.
We had a great breakfast every morning, and a lot of home made products. We wish we stayed longer than three nights, as it was the best hotel and service we had throughout all of Italy and the view is simply breathtaking!
We rate Villa Steno a 10 out of 10. Both my wife and i didn't want to leave, three nights was way too short!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Missy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

We were so pleased to be able to stay at Hotel Villa Steno on our trip to Italy. The Cinque Terre is a fabulous area with so much color and topography. The hotel sits up high so you can see the colorful homes and scenery. Most or all rooms have private balconies...and there is a communal patio where breakfast is served. The owners were incredibly helpful with recommendations...and they recommended a restaurant for lunch that we would never have found on our own. The hotel is new, clean and shiny. A lovely stay!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mbtlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We were lucky to stay three nights in this fabulous hotel, it is perched above the old town and our room had a terrace, complete with lemon trees and great views over the town to the ocean, Just beautiful! Our room was very clean and spacious.
Our hosts, Carla, Matteo and Anna were so very and genuinely friendly, offering helpful information about the walks, other towns and restaurants. The breakfasts on the breakfast terrace were loving prepared by the amazing Carla, she even made the jams and marmalades, I even took a jar of marmalade home!
Carla prepared a beautiful "semi fredo" cake for me as it was my birthday and I am very grateful for the effort she took.
There are stairs to reach down into the town, but they are good excerise for the Cinque Terre dinners!
We only wished we could have stayed longer in this welcoming hotel, in this picturesque town.
We would love to return!

Room Tip: Rooms with the terrace and seaviews, just beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaygypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I only had the opportunity to stay for one night, but it was my best hotel experience among all the places I visited in Italy: Rome, Florence, Monterosso and Vernazza. Extremely welcoming and helpful during my check-in. I let them know in advance that I would arrive around 11 in the morning and though they were not finished with housekeeping, my room was prepared and cleaned first and ready for my arrival. I can't tell you how nice that is after you've been traveling from hotel to hotel around Europe. They also provide you with a packet of very helpful information regarding train and boat schedules, as well as, all the hiking trails available in Cinque Terre.

I had a single room with my own private terrace with a view of the sea. You could smell lemons in the air. The room was extremely clean. The bed was a twin-size (US standards) but incredibly comfortable. There's a nice buffet breakfast included in the price of your room.

It's a bit of a walk from the train station, so it might be a challenge if you have a lot of heavy luggage. Since I was traveling light, it wasn't much of a problem. It is a steep climb to the hotel though. Mobility could be an issue for some as there are a number of stairs one must climb up and down. I personally liked the mini-workout when returning from dinner.

I will definitely be staying at Hotel Villa Steno on my next trip to Monterosso (Cinque Terre).

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GoBeers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alva, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We found Villa Steno online initially and later saw the property in a Rick Steves program. We wanted something nicer than a B&B and Villa Steno looked beautiful. We were not disappointed, the hotel is an absolute gem. Located a little above the Centro Storico of Monterosso the hotel is convenient to everything and also peacefully quiet. Our room was comfortable and had a fabulous garden terrace overlooking the town. The April weather was hit or miss but we found ourselves drawn outside by the beauty of the place. The owners and the staff are just wonderful and the service we received, from arranging the taxi to pick us up to serving breakfast an hour early because of our early departure, was great. They also provided us a wealth of information about the town, the hiking trails, dining recomendations and making the best of a transport strike. Hpoefully we'll get to return soon and visit our friends at Villa Steno. Grazie Matteo & Carla!

Room Tip: Request # 15 huge patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at Hotel Steno in May. We had enjoyed a lovely stay in Florence the week before but we were looking forward to seeing a new part of Italy and having a different experience. Cinque Terre exceeded all of our expectations. Hotel Steno did as well. The hotel is simple, comfortable, convenient and is nestled in the mountain overlooking the old part of Monterosso. Most of the rooms (ours included) have balconies that offer spectacular views of the ocean and this utterly gorgeous place. The rooms are spacious and everything is spotlessly clean. The breakfast buffet is delicious, including scrumptious marmalades prepared by Carla, using the fruit from the sweet smelling lemon and orange trees that surround the hotel. She and her husband, Matteo, are the perfect owner/hosts. They made us feel totally comfortable and welcome. After a day of hiking, shopping and eating, it was a treat to end the day with a glass of Matteo's father's lemoncino. We really can't say enough about this hotel. We look forward to returning to the Cinque Terre - and Hotel Villa Steno - soon!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AZurick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monterosso al Mare
0.3 mi away
Hotel Porto Roca
Hotel Porto Roca
#10 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 stars 454 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Stella della Marina
Hotel Stella della Marina
#3 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 stars 192 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Monterosso Alto
Hotel Monterosso Alto
#15 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 stars 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel La Spiaggia
Hotel La Spiaggia
#7 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.5 of 5 stars 648 reviews
0.8 mi away
Suisse Hotel Bellevue
Suisse Hotel Bellevue
#13 of 20 in Monterosso al Mare
4.0 of 5 stars 196 reviews
4.4 mi away
Luna di Marzo
Luna di Marzo
#5 of 10 in Riomaggiore
4.5 of 5 stars 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Steno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Steno

Address: Via Roma 109, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#1 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Steno Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Hotel Steno
Hotel Villa Steno Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing