We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Steno

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Monterosso al Mare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Villa Steno
Save
You added Hotel Villa Steno to your Saves list
Via Roma 109, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Villa Steno is a beautiful BB set up from the village of Monterosso, a short walk from the waterfront. The setting is pristine and the building and amenities are generous and modern. Mateo and his wife Carla made us feel at home and they genuinely looked after us in preparation for our arrival and during our short stay. Carla's baking at breakfast remains a highlight of our trip to Italy, you must try the airy yeast popovers stuffed with apricots. In retrospect, we would have day tripped vs moving on to Manarola for our second night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    715
    73
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
216
356
45
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Lovely clean hotel. Nice rooms all with small terraces...overlooking the village or the sea. Friendly staff welcomes you with a glass of prosecco. Sit on the sunny upper terrace to enjoy the beauty of the area. Hiking is the thing here...we just came to see it. Don't bring a car...come by train... The drive from autostrade is crazy curvy up and down, hairpin turns like none I have seen before . Scary for sure. Glad I had a good driver who wasn't scared. Otherwise I would have passed out over the edge...what a drive. So take the train.
Hotel has nice breakfast and great big bathroom. Comfy beds. Come here!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the sea with a terrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wollongong, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Matteo and Carla and the rest of the staff at Villa Steno make you feel very welcome. Rooms are a good size and very clean. We had lovely views from the terrace outside our room.

The main terrace off the small breakfast area was also pleasant for drinks of an evening and chatting to fellow travellers.

We were able to park our small car in their carpark. There are a number of steps up from the town to the accommodation.

Breakfasts were amongst the best we had in Italy. The day cruise from the harbour to the other villages was excellent. We were blessed with beautiful weather.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stayed here as per recommendation from Rick Steves' and boy was he on the mark! Our room had a fabulous view and we felt at home. The breakfast each morning was amazing and anything we needed was taken care of immediately from laundry to cold Italian beer!
Very gracious hosts.
Our time in Cinque Terre was outstanding and the culture and people despite their setbacks were welcoming and upbeat! Monterosso was the holiday destination within our Italy adventure and left us only wanting to stay longer.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurnee, Illinois
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Villa Steno as part of a Rick Steves group tour. The hotel is halfway through town off of the main street and then up a number of stairs to the hotel. Our room was exceptional with a large king-sized bed, as well as a day bed. The room itself was quite large and also contained a desk and chair as well as a couple night stands and a television. There was plenty of space for luggage. The bathroom was good size with both a toilet and bidet and a larger shower. There was a separate door leading out to a large private terrace overlooking the town and the sea. There was free wi-fi throughout the hotel, which also worked outside, so long as you don't veer too far from the room. The room was clean, bright and quiet and the windows were covered by heavy drapes to block out any light. Breakfast was great with assorted fresh pastries, eggs, meat and yogurt. The hosts were friendly and helpful. Staying at the Hotel Villa Steno was a highlight of this trip.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

My family and I had the pleasure of staying at Hotel Villa Steno during a short break in Monterosso earlier this month. From the moment we drove up until the we drove away a few days later, the quality of the owners and staff and the level of service we received was absolutely of the highest standard. Everyone at Hotel Villa Steno was friendly, kind, more than willing to help with luggage, etc.. We even had help moving the car at the end of our stay, as the parking is tight and a bit of a challenge if you're not used to it!

We had a family room; which provided ample space for my wife and I and the two kids (10 and 13). The room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast each day was a nice treat. Much better and with more variety than other hotels we've stayed at in Italy and other parts of Europe. Great coffee each morning too! Try the homemade lemon cake and the homemade marmalade (made with lemons from the hotel property) and you won't regret it. Honestly folks, it was an absolute pleasure staying at Hotel Villa Steno. I have already recommended this hotel to family and friends and I unhesitatingly recommend the hotel to all.

My thanks to Matteo and Carla for their warm hospitality........ it made a short family break in the relatively bleak early days of November a treat.

G.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

We stayed 3 nights (4 of us in 2 rooms) and were really impressed by the standard of the Hotel. Matteo & staff were very helpful and made us feel very welcome. The rooms were clean & comfortable, nicely furnished with stunning views. We did book well in advance for good rooms and were delighted with the Terrace overlooking the outdoor garden with fantastic views over the town to the ocean. Their own Car Park was a good help also.
Breakfast was great, very much like a B&B with great selection & good family style service. Matteo again was on hand to answer any questions & offer good suggestions for the day or nearby restaurants.
It was fantastic just walking around Monterosso & the nearby villages. Unfortunately the hiking trails were closed & ferries suspended due to bad weather but still great to train trip to visit the other villages, which are all beautiful. Busy during the day with daytrippers but generally The Hotel & Monterosso are very peaceful and staying in Cinque Terre is something special.
We found Hotel Villa Steno just like a family run B&B, great personal service & attention with such panoramic views, just wished we could have stayed a few days more.

Room Tip: Room 14 has great Terrace overlooking the town to the Ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Steno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Steno

Address: Via Roma 109, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#1 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Steno Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Hotel Steno
Hotel Villa Steno Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Steno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.