We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic location and excellent accomodation!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Steno

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Monterosso al Mare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Villa Steno
Save
You added Hotel Villa Steno to your Saves list
Via Roma 109, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“fantastic location and excellent accomodation!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights in October. Prior to our arrival, the owners had e-mailed us with travel advice. They were really helpful - I had lots of questions because it was my first visit to the area. They booked us a taxi to meet us at the station (10 euros) and there was a complimentary drink on arrival. Our room was lovely, spacious, spotlessly clean and with a beautiful view of the sea. The hotel is situated high on a hill overlooking the town but is within easy reach of both old and new town areas, via some steps and a private garden. The hotel is bright, airy and modern, and the facilities ans staff are excellent. We couldn't have felt more welcome. Breakfast is provided and was absolutely fantastic. There was a wide selection of cereals, pastries and cake, fruit, cheeses and meats, bread and rolls, yogurts, juice, tea and coffee etc. etc.! It was always quiet and peaceful in the hotel, as was the whole village generally. We adored the area. There is enough to explore, plenty of shops, bars and restaurants open even at this end of the season. Weather was changeable, mild and sunny mostly but also cloud and rain. This didn't spoil our trip. I want to return definitely!

Room Tip: I imagine they are all fine but not all have a view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

821 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    737
    74
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
223
373
44
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

A small, very modern and immaculately maintained property with a lovely view of the town and ocean. The owners, Matteo and Carla, are very attentive to their guest's needs and go out of their way to be helpful. Breakfasts are generous with many choices of hot and cold items (including Carla's homemade lemon cake)!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of October. Trails were closed and the weather was basically bad, but we still had a great time, in part because of our stay here. All the positive reviews of this hotel are warranted.

Location: this was the only thing that was somewhat a surprise- it is a long walk from the train station with luggage to this hotel, mostly because the hotel is in the "old" part of the town which means you have to walk through a long tunnel to get to that section of town, then up a couple hilly blocks to the hotel. After this initial surprise though we never found it to be a real problem. I think it bears mentioning just so less mobile folks are not surprised.

Facilities: Our room (a quad) looked just like the photos and was neat, clean and quiet. The ocean view was exactly as advertised, and the terrace was beautiful. If we hadn't had bad weather we would have used it a lot. The breakfast area and other common areas (lobby, hallways) are perfectly clean, bright and pleasant.

Staff: Super, super helpful. They seem genuinely pleased that you are there, which is rare. They were so apologetic about the trails being closed (because of landslides and some tourists being seriously injured the month before) and the weather- even though that obviously was completely out of their control. While we were there there were storm warnings and there was a possibility one night that all the restaurants in town would be forced to close. They kept us updated about the state of the storm warning, and were planning to host a light dinner in the event the restaurants closed. That didn't end up happening, but the fact that they were so aware and good at communicating things was very reassuring. Also very helpful making recommendations for restaurants and answering other questions.

Quad room note: we were a couple but stayed in a 4-person room because it had a view. For families/groups considering this- it's not really a huge suite, but a main room with a queen bed and a fold-down single bed, and a slim adjoining room with twin beds and a vanity. The bathroom is accessed through the room with a queen bed. I think if you are a close group who are pretty friendly with each other, in good weather this room would be a great value, especially because the terrace is like an outdoor living room with a gorgeous view. If you're a group where people might want "their own" space this might be a little intimate.

Food: breakfast buffet choices and amounts were ample. You can tell they aim to please people expecting different things. There were hot eggs, cereals, lots of pastries including what a sign said was a local type of cake, marmalades made from fruit from the property, cereal, and a whole cold section with yogurt and cold meats and cheeses. Coffee to order. The woman who served breakfast was cheerful and so kind.

Wifi: they gave us access for our many devices which was nice. It was available but not great, ie we had no trouble web surfing, but Skyping was limited to voice only because video seemed to crash a lot. From the reviews of many hotels I read researching our trip this did not seem to be a unique problem.

Overall would totally stay here again.

Room Tip: We felt that though pricey, it wasn't overpriced for the region, and paying for a room with a te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

From the welcome drink on their panorama terrace with a spectacular view overlooking Monterosso and the bay at sunset to the quality of the room, we couldn't have been happier. And the staff at Villa Steno could not have been nicer. The morning we checked out, we decided we'd like to spend an extra day there and since they were fully booked, Carla helped us find a room in another hotel and allowed us to keep our car in their parking lot. She even invited us to come back to enjoy their terrace whenever we wanted. Such kindness is long remembered and appreciated and makes us feel like guests in the home of old friends, not strangers in a hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

What luxury!! We sat on our terrace, which had olive tree branches laden with olives dangling above, a lemon grove next door and grape vines above, all overlooking Montorosso and the Ligurian Sea – heavenly!! Everything was immaculate. The staff led by Matteo and Carla made us feel like we were home. The breakfast was great with hot, fluffy scrambled eggs as well. The real breakfast surprise were the cakes and jams made by Carla with fruit from the trees you look at from your room!! Every aspect of our stay at Villa Steno was 5 star +

Room Tip: All rooms with a view are worth the price!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Vernon, Washington
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Had an excellent stay at this hotel. The view from the hotel was of the water and town. During the day and early evening the room was a little noisy cuz of the people outside, but was quiet when we wanted to sleep. Room and beds were comfortable. The breakfast was amazing.....could even have eggs cooked the way you like. Yum!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel Valley CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

I loved our stay at the Hotel Villa Steno. The service was incredible, breakfast delectable, morning cappuccino heavenly! I like walking- so walking up to the hotel was no problem-even with our suitcases. And I didn't have to feel guilty eating an extra piece of lemon cake for breakfast. Even the housekeepers were singing and humming. Everyone was so helpful, friendly, and happy! Loved our view, too.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa Steno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Steno

Address: Via Roma 109, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#2 Best Value Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Steno Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Hotel Steno
Hotel Villa Steno Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Steno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.