We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Beautiful!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Steno

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Monterosso al Mare
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Villa Steno
Via Roma 109, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
sydney
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Still Beautiful!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

Once again we were blessed to stay at the beautiful Hotel Steno This was our third stay. We booked two rooms from 22/8 -29/8. Again we enjoyed the wonderful hospitality of Carla and Matteo, always happy to help. They are both very friendly and genuinely lovely people.The hotel is in a perfect location with a spectacular view of Monterosso. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast every morning on the sun drenched terrace and afternoon drinks in our private courtyard or on the roof terrace...MAGIC!!! The hotel is very close to all that Monterosso has to offer...restaurants, beaches, walks etc. We cant wait to return!!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    626
    69
    9
    1
    0
See reviews for
186
307
42
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This hotel is located on the mountain side of beautiful Montorosso, Italy. Their service was excellent. The hotel was clean and elegant. Breakfast was delicious! Its a bit of a hike from the Train station, but its worth it!

Room Tip: Size and balcony... Some rooms have a bed tucked under a bed. Perfect for family or couples.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Third Time's a Charm

Our young family of three decided to take our first family summer vacation to Cinque Terre. Our main motivation for going back to the area (for the third time) was actually based on our two previous stays at Hotel Villa Steno (before the baby). We wanted a relatively relaxed, immaculately clean, comfortable hotel that had access to one of the most amazing places one can ever visit in a lifetime. We also knew that the hotel readily catered towards the needs of family with babies and young children. What better place than Hotel Villa Steno?
Although we already expected nothing but the best during our stay, we were pleasantly surprised by the quality of the baby crib and its linens. As a new mom, I was really concerned about the sleeping arrangement of our 4 month old baby, especially in regards to hygiene, safety and comfort of any hotel crib (speaking from previous experience at a 5 star hotel stay during a weekend getaway). The moment we saw the modern travel crib made with freshly ironed and clean linens and a really comfortable baby mattress, our concerns were pushed aside and we felt a bit silly for even having any worry. Being parents themselves, Carla and Matteo made sure that our little bambino would not only be comfortable, but also sleep like a little prince!
What was also endearing about Hotel Villa Steno was seeing all the love, hard-work and joy that Matteo and Carla put into their family hotel. From the freshly baked sweets, the made-to-order coffee of your choice, the homemade jams at breakfast to the restaurant recommendations/reservations, the comfort/cleanliness of the hotel accommodations, taxi transfers, etc.--every single detail you can imagine was meticulously attended to. It's not every day that you run into dedicated, honest and friendly hotel owners who try their very best to give their guests one of the most memorable vacations they'll ever have.
We loved our 5 night hotel stay (from September 1st to September 6th, 2012) that we actually booked another 7 nights for the third week in May 2013 when we were checking out. We especially recommend families to rent one of the rooms with a private garden--a great and safe play area for the little one(s).
It has become a place close to our heart and we hope to continue making it an annual family destination for years to come.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

This is an amazing hotel in Cinque Terre in the city of Monterosso. It is located on a terraced hill covered with beautiful flowers and lemon trees. Our room had a private terrace with a view of the mountains, the sanctuary above, the town below and the sea. The terrace has a table and 4 chairs and two recliner chairs. It would be very easy to spend your entire stay on this terrace! The lovely breakfast is served on another terrace right off the main entrance to the hotel. Freshly made cappucinos, the special cinque terre cake and the homemade lemon marmalade were my favorites in the wide assortment served in the buffet style breakfast. We had a "quad" room which was really two rooms with queen size beds and a bathroom and entry way between them. The rooms were bright and cheerful, freshly painted, clean and our room had an amazing view of the sea. The owners were cheerful and helpful. They e-mailed us ahead of our trip and arranged for a taxi to pick us up at the train station. All areas of the town of Monterosso are within easy walking of this perfect hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We stayed at this Villa for three nights in August and had an amazing time. The Villa itself was clean, cool and beautiful views. The breakfast was really good with a very wide variety of food. The staff was courteous and helpful and they even moved my car a few times so I could avoid turning around in some tight spots. The Villa is in great proximity to the town and all sorts of excellent restaurants. One restaurant did not appreciate our kids and called us 'stupid americans' or something like that (although we are Canadians) but that was only once incident of numerous meals. It is walking distance to a great beach as well as the trailhead of the cinque terre path. We were confused as to where to get our tickets but you walk along the path and the trailhead is along the path a couple hundred meters but around the corner from line of sight at the beach. I would not hesitate to come back or reccomend to friends.

Room Tip: Our room was awesome, it is by itself at the top of the entire property with a great view of the sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

Our travel agency, ItalySource, booked this hotel for us. We booked more than 6 months in advance and still had to adjust our dates because this place sold out. Cinque Terre is tiny, so the rooms go quickly, especially high-quality ones like Villa Steno. The staff was amazing. The breakfast was delicious. The rooms were gorgeous and so was the view. The staff made some great restaurant recommendations and were very helpful. The location was perfect. In the heart of Monterosso but tucked away with a great view. Walking distance to the train. Three nights here was not enough!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Let me start by saying that I am a 12 year Hilton Diamond member and typically prefer American chain hotels when I travel internationally. I rarely opt for a B&B when traveling. My girlfriend and I stayed at Villa Steno on Friday Aug 10th, 2012. My lone regret was that we did not stay in Cinque Terre multiple days. What a great area and what a great hotel. The staff at Villa Steno was incredibly friendly. We had 2 welcome drinks, a spectacular homemade breakfast, an incredible view of the sea from our balcony, free Wifi, and American style COLD A/C in our room...the best A/C of our 5 properties in Italy. The bed was comfy and the bathroom was clean. The staff recommended great restaurants to us and held our luggage on Sat while we explored a spectacular trail along the Ligurian Sea Saturday afternoon. At some point in the future, I will spend more time in Cinque Terre...and I will absolutely stay at Villa Steno again.

Room Tip: Stay at least 2 nights in Cinque Terre...ideally 3 or 4
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa Steno? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Steno

Address: Via Roma 109, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#1 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Also Known As:
Steno Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Hotel Steno
Hotel Villa Steno Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Steno, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Steno to your Saves list