We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gastronomia San Martino

Gastronomia San Martino
Via San Martino 3, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
338-5699017
Improve this listing
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Late Night
Budapest, Hungary
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Good food, good prices, nice staff. There was one of the best dinner during our trip in Italy. Try the pastas and the swordfish. And everything what you can. You will enjoy it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    49
    7
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Roeselare, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Poor food, poor service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

We absolutely don't understand how this can be the number 1 restaurant!
There was no more place to sit outside, so we went in. The place is very, very small and not cosy at all. When we were there, their children were even playing there, with grandma looking after them, but luckily the oldest children went outside to play, because the place is really tiny!
Most of the food is already prepared and waiting to be sold in the counter. My husband ordered lasagna and I spaghetti carbonara. My husband got his plastic plate with a small portion of poor lasagna long before I got my reasonable portion of poor carbonara. In fact he had already finished eating and was glad to eat some of mine, because he was still hungry. You can take a plastic knife and fork, no spoon. You can take your drink out of the fridge, and you have to drink wine from a plastic cup. And even the wifi was poor.
I would definitely not recommend this place to anyone!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Such a wonderful place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Moreno and his wife work hard to deliver the finest food. Kind generous people. We have been there 5 x and loved all our meals. Two dishes (generous servings) plus a side dish total about 20 euros. Eat in or take away. We took ours back to Manuel's Guesthouse, just up some stairs and ate on our balcony with a bottle of wine. Great after an exhausting day hiking. Sword fish so tender, pansotti with walnut sauce and crepes so delicious. Grilled veggies, veggie cake also good. Selection of wine, also chilled.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful flavours”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

We ate at Gastronomia San Martino twice - and would have eaten here a third night but it was closed! We enjoyed the stuffed pansoti with a deliciously subtle walnut sauce, and baby octopus with black trofie the first visit, and shared stuffed roasted vegetables, seafood salat and trofie with the most amazing pesto we've ever eaten on our second visit. And of course it was washed down with chilled local wines and beer! The seating is casual, inside or out in the lane way with disposable plates and cutlery - it's all about flavours and atmosphere! Not to be missed!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collingwood, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“best value for sure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2014

yeah, it's true...this is the best value in town plus the owner and wife knock themselves out for you....we were next door at his cousin's B & B and wanted it portare via- he offered to run it upstairs for us!!.... curse myself I did not have the walnut sauce....local veggie focaccia ( looked like frittata) was great....trophie pesto top drawer.....funny to see everyone taking photos of the pasta lineup

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gastronomia San Martino also viewed

Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
 
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
 

Been to Gastronomia San Martino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gastronomia San Martino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.