We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Cinque Terre Boutique Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Il Maestrale

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Locanda Il Maestrale to your Saves list
Locanda Il Maestrale
Via Roma, 37, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Superb Cinque Terre Boutique Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay in Monterosso al Mare if you are looking to explore the Cinque Terre. Situated in the old town and close to many restaurants this is a great place to stay and easy walk from the station.Nothing was too much trouble for Giovanni and Stephania who went out of there way to ensure we had a most enjoyable stay. We stayed in the beautiful Monterosso suite which featured a comfortable stating room with the bed on the mezzanine level beneath an attractive ceiling fresco. Breakfast including great cappuccinos was very enjoyable as was the terrace and included day time refreshments. We strongly recommend this hotel and hope that we can one day return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    33
    3
    1
    1
See reviews for
8
103
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scottsdale, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

I can't say enough about this very special little place. First of all, we loved Monterosso al Mare. I can't wait to go back. Locanda Il Maestrale is a charming place in the heart of Old Town. Perfect location for all the best restaurants, happy hour spots, gelato, hiking and more! Giovanni made us the best cappuccinos every morning while we ate our fresh, gorgeous breakfast out on the terrace. Our room was comfortable and lovely. Honestly, I wish I could just move in and work for these two wonderful owners for the rest of my life! Wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

My sisters and I stayed at this very centrally located hotel in Sept. It was perfect. The owners were very accomodating, rooms were quaint and gorgeous and breakfast was excellent. The garden rooftop you see is so lovely. When you arrive by train, simply turn left as you leave the station, walk along the road by the sea a few mins, thru the tunnel and at the bottom of the hill turn left again. Its 2 mins away. The street has all sorts of restaurants and the housecleaner gave us fabulous recommendations of where to eat. We loved Monterosso and especially our hotel. It was perfect.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rocklin, CA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

We just left Locanda Il Maestrale in beautiful Monterossa al Mare and couldn't wait to share our experience. Giovanni and Stephani were gracious hosts; we appreciated Giovanni taking a break from making wine to make the best cappuccinos every morning. Our room was lovely, with a comfortable bed and an amazing painting on the ceiling! Breakfast was very good. The room was clean and quite comfortable. Location was excellent. Hope we can come back someday.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

It is hard to fault this hotel. Small and personal, it has the style and charm to match what must be Italy's most beautiful region.
We stayed here in September 2013 for 4 nights and could have stayed much longer. Our room was a split level room with plenty of space and good wifi access. It got a little noisy at night; noises from both the other rooms and out on the street.
The level of customer service, the beautiful setting, sensational location and fantastic breakfast offering all contributed to making this a truly special stay.
No hesitation recommending it to others!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed here for a week in early September. The welcome was very friendly after a long journey and a late arrival. The staff are extremely polite and accommodating...always available for that vital bit of advice when required. The location in the center of the 'old town' was brilliant. The roof terrace was superb for both breakfast and relaxing in the evening with a glass of chilled wine overlooking the strollers in the town. The breakfast was very good and the D I Y freshly squeezed orange juice was a great touch as was probably the best cuppachino in Italy!!! Have already recommended the place to our friends.

Room Tip: The sizes of the rooms vary but so too does the cost I would suspect. However, this may be the norm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed with our friends (2 couples) for only one night in May 2013. Sorry it was not longer! It was a lovely place to stay with very friendly staff and great service. The B&B is right in the centre of the town of Monterosso and there was a realy lively atmosphere all around which you really felt part of especially while sitting out on the terrace! The recommendation for dinner at L'Ancora della Tortuga on the sea was excellent, report on that elsewhere! The Enoteca Internationale just nearby was lovely for lunch, with a huge selection of Bruscetta, yum!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Locanda Il Maestrale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Il Maestrale

Address: Via Roma, 37, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Locanda Il Maestrale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Il Maestrale Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Locanda Il Maestrale Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda Il Maestrale, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.