We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Albergo Degli Amici

Save Saved
You added Albergo Degli Amici to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Albergo Degli Amici
Via Buranco, 36, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 19 hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very nice place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

We like our stay here, the room was clean and had everything we needed. The front desk was very helpful and patient with us and our questions about what to do and so forth. They gave us towels for the beach, had a nice breakfast, and had a rooftop garden with incredible views. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    29
    56
    25
    9
    3
See reviews for
22
62
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

A warm welcome when we arrived with a smile and nothing was a problem. The breakfast was great, something to suit all! The roof garden was a bonus, tucked away peacefully on the 4th floor sorrounded with lemon and olive trees with a great view of the sea.I have to say the staff were consistency helpful and pleasant and I will go back, thank you. Of all the places we stayed in Cinque Terre this is the most picturesque and I would also recommend a stay in Portovenerre for 2 nights. Take advantage of the walks to see this region at its best! What a great part of Italy it is comparable to the Amalfi Coast!

Room Tip: Ask for room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern, Switzerland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

I spent four nights at this hotel with my girlfriend in May 2012. The hotel is located in Monterosso, which a good base from which to explore the wonderful region of the Cinque Terre.
Not so much to say about the hotel except that while not luxurious it was clean, well situated and functional.
The breakfast buffet was okay except that the tables were very close to each other.
Don't forget to visit the beautiful roof garden: very relaxing and superb views on the city and the sea.
I'll finish by saying that the staff was very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Ok hotel, but still expensive for what you get, like most of cinque terre. The hotel was good located, from the parking, 10 min to go, and nice location in the historical center. The room was small, and we had some minor problems with the bathroom. It was also quite noisy as you hear the elevator and the other rooms. Breakfast was quite good, and the people working in the hotel seemed helpful. The roof garden is really nice, a fantastic view. And the free wifi is just on the ground floor.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Our room was big and clean, with nice view to the mountains. Great breakfast, way better than expected. We missed the rooftop terrace, I'm sorry that no one told us about it :)) It's well positioned for the old town, for us it was a bit more difficult to reach as we parked our car at the Fegina parking, which is 1km far.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio, United States
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I can not say enough good things about this hotel. Great location, clean, welcoming. The rooms are well appointed with great views of the city and beautiful hillside. The food in the restaurant is delicious and fresh. Breakfast is plentiful with variety. The best part? The rooftop terraces! So romantic and cozy. And the view! Overlooking the city and the beautiful Ligurian sea. From the lemon trees to the wine vending machine, there wasn't anything that didn't impress us. I believe there are 5 total terraces, one even has a ping-pong table and foosball! The foliage and flowers were gorgeous and the wonderful smell of honeysuckle was intoxicating. We laid on the lounge chairs that overlooked the sea and felt as though we were in heaven. I would not hesitate for a second to return to this gem of a hotel and I plan to as soon as I can.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

My wife and I fell in love with this quaint, wonderful hotel. It was a perfect end to a perfect Italian vacation. Anyone who had issues with this hotel is either lying, or has never done much traveling in Europe, or Italy specifically.

The size of the room was exactly what we expected, and had all the amenities. ALL showers in Italy or on the small side, unless you are staying in a luxury/big dollar hotel or resort. It's ITALY for goodness sake! Our room was very clean, comfy, and looked out over the town. Breakfast was quite delightful, and hit all the notes that is a typical Italian breakfast.

The location was excellent, and we loved the small town to no-end. We wish we could have stayed a few more days.

Now to the best part of the hotel......the multi-tired garden terrace with lemon trees, plum trees, fig trees, olive trees, and wonderful cats that roam the grounds. Oh...and it has the most amazing view of the town, and the sea. We could have stayed up there for hours upon hours. And to have a soda pop machine loaded with water, beer, and dare I say WINE....was quite fun itself.

We will definitely be back to Monterosso, and will stay no other place. The Albergo Degli Amici adds to the overall Cinque Terre experience.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Albergo Degli Amici? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albergo Degli Amici

Address: Via Buranco, 36, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Albergo Degli Amici reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albergo Degli Amici Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Albergo Degli Amici Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Albergo Degli Amici, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.