We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, but.................” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Baia

Save Saved
You added Hotel Baia to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Baia
Via Fegina 88, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Perth
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great Location, but.................”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My husband along with our friends stayed at Hotel Baia. We were thrilled to get off the train and be faced with the ocean and then 50 metres or so up the road, our hotel. With heavy luggage it was a very easy walk along the path. Hotel Baia is right across from the beach and is surrounded by some lovely bars and restaurants. The lady at reception was very abrupt and after a little confusion with rooms we were shown the lift, where luggage only is allowed to enter, unless you are unable to walk the stairs. Our room was on the third floor, and not too hard a walk if you are reasonably fit. We had ocean views which were lovely, the room was huge with a comfortable king size bed. It was basic accomodation, which we knew as we had read the reviews, but for us it was all about location. The rooms were cleaned daily so were tidy, however we had a leak somewhere in our bathroom and it had a very unpleasant mildewy smell. Our friends who were on the same floor and had the same style of room did not have this problem. Breakfast was basic, but that is all we needed when we had all these great restaurants to visit later on in the day. The location was great, which is what were after, but if you need more than than that, then this is not the hotel for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    66
    60
    25
    45
See reviews for
29
121
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Westlake Village, California
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I'm not fond of writing negative reviews, so I'll start with the positives:
DON'T STAY HERE
The Good:
1. Hotel is a 100 foot walk from the train station on a flat beach sidewalk: Yeah!
2. Great beach and ocean view from the room.
3. Ummm, that's all folks.
DON'T STAY HERE
The Bad:
1. Bathroom shower leaked profusely all over the floor, out the door into the room.
2. Bed sucked
3. TV was a 20 inch computer monitor.
4. It cost too much for what you get.
DON'T STAY HERE
The Ugly:
1. The Staff Sucked! (except the Girl that cleaned up after breakfast and the cleaning staff). The Staff sets the tone of the hotel and therefore your stay. This hotel's Staff was rude, condescending, uncaring, almost mean spirited. I can usually get along with anyone but none of these people gave a care that you are on vacation, in a down economy, and spending money that keeps them employed and they are rude!
The negative vibe of this place is almost comical. Even in the restaurant at breakfast, none of the guest say hi or talk to each other. The negative vibe had everyone down.
At one point I asked a lady at the front desk for a bottle opener and she finally looked up and said yes, then proceeded for 3-5 minutes to rearrange her desk while I'm standing there. It was so ridiculous that it became amusing to watch. finally she got up and got me the bottle opener. That kind of insensitive rudeness is unheard of in Italy, maybe excepting the Bauer in Venice.

2. they charge $3/hour for Wifi, what a pain in the butt. AND it doesn't work in your room! You to go down to reception to get reception (the first true reception desk, get it?). This amazing level of cheapness makes everyone feel like they are squeezing every last penny out of you.

3. And finally, this place sucks, go to the place next door named 'Spazzia' or some such. I read the bad reviews of Baia but "Spazzia' was booked so I booked this one, forget it, bad mistake.
I went to the Spazzia Hotel next door and was warmly greeted by a lovely young lady. the porter was there and said hi. I asked her what is going on with Baia and she just said, "I'm sorry." She said people need to book her hotel at least 6 months in advance to get a room, so plan well folks.

Final thoughts: Read the reviews and if a place gets consistent bad reviews due to Staff, stay away. A bad staff can ruin a stay.

Room Tip: Tip: Choose a room in a different hotel if you want a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Monterosso al Mare hotels

Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

My husband and I just spent 2 nights at Hotel Baia and don't have many positive things to say. We're on a 3 week journey through Italy and have stayed at several hotels and felt compelled to write a review right away so others would not be disappointed. We arrived and the two girls at check in we're not friendly what so ever, I believe one was the owner or manager who seemed the worst. When asking about the hiking trails (which are currently closed) she couldn't be bothered to answer any question just threw a map at us. We had requested a balcony (paying the extra money) however did not get one. No elevator as it is only for luggage. Our room as extremely small (remember been in several over 3 weeks) no English tv channels that worked. The worst part was they charged for wi-fi and also 3 euro per person to sit on their beach chairs and then 2 euro to have a towel. After spending 340 euro for 2 nights I thought that was a little much asking for 3 euro to sit on a chair. Breakfast was nothing special and again found the breakfast staff annoyed with any requests. You can just tell they know they will have lots of business so they don't care how they treat their guests. Sorry for the long review however there are a lot nicer hotels in the area to stay at. Don't get caught up with being on the beach or parking like I did since you can stay at any hotel and pay to use the beach.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012 via mobile

The room was spartan, bathroom small with mildew in shower, little storage. The a/con noisey.
Madam Baia rude, and not at all helpful. Breakfast very basic. The decor depressing. The lift is only for the pregnant, elderly and luggage, so if you are on the top floor there are many steps up a dimly lit stairwell. The wifi is only available in the foyer and breakfast room and not reliable. Don't ask for anything out of the ordinary as it will be "impossible".

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

This hotel is perfectly situated for experiencing the Cinque Terre. The rooms were well equipped and the bed was firm, and a peaceful few nights guaranteed. The restaurant adjacent to the hotel is served by a rather rude older man who didnt give us warning that the restaurant was closing and we werent able to have a night cap.
The lift situation is a bit puzzling in the hotel. There is a sign saying that the life is only for pregnant women, the elderly or your luggage. Its infuriatingly slow, and on check out the concierge woman got in a tizz and started shouting uneccessarily.
It would have been nice to have one English news channel on the television, but with a view like we had, it didnt matter.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This is a hotel that is very close to the train station, you actually just get off the train, and walk out to the main street, on the beach, turn right and you are almost there!
The rooms were clean and comfortable. The ocean views out the window and the sound of the waves is amazing.
The breakfast was great, had alot of good food to choose from, and it is served right in the restaurant in the hotel.
The staff were nice too.

Room Tip: Pick a room with a view to the ocean, and a balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Location was absolutely picture perfect, we checked in to a room with a partial sea view and this just made us want to speed things up and to step on to the beautiful Monterosso beach that lay before us!
To say this is a prime location is an understatement, to be able to walk right outside, cross the road and right onto the beach was heavenly!
The staff at the hotel were a mixed bag of quirkiness but everything went smoothly and we were grateful for the help in checking in, purchasing wifi (yes u have to pay, this area has very little internet/wifi coverage at all) and also a smooth check out process.
Only downside was the lack of parking but the hotel cant be blamed for this as its more a result of the area itself. 15euro a day was little bit high but in the scheme of things worth it for the peace of mind having the car in a safe area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Baia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Baia

Address: Via Fegina 88, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Baia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baia Hotel Monterosso Al Mare
Hotel Baia Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Baia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.