We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent authentic gelato” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gelateria Ice Cream IL GOLOSONE

Gelateria Ice Cream IL GOLOSONE
Via Roma 17, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
3201459913
Improve this listing
Price range: $1 - $6
Cuisines: Ice Cream
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Description: Gelato, Yogurt, Granite, Frappé...in the old part of Monterosso!
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
“Excellent authentic gelato”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We tried some gelato at this place based on Tripadvisor reviews and were not disappointed. The gelateria itself is just a storefront without seating, not that it's necessary. We tried a few flavours (pistachio, vanilla and one other) and felt it was the best gelato we had ever had. We have visited quite a few Italian cities and this gelato came out on top! I highly recommend stopping by to try this place out.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    27
    12
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Riverside, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“worth the lines”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Great gelato storefront where we got it several times in our 3 days in Monterosso. And not because it was the closest to the restaurants and hotel. yummy!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Forest, Colorado
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Has Anyone Ever had BAD Gelato in Italy?”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

All kidding aside, great gelato, lots of different flavors, reasonably priced for a resort. What's not to like? The help was the usual Italian Riviera "What, you want me to serve you gelato?", but otherwise good, and they only corrected my Italian once. Winner.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairview Park, Ohio, United States
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Must do after dinner treat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stopped here our first night in Monterosso and this was probably our favorite gelato in Italy. We feel cheated by the gelato we had in Rome.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Holy....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Okay, some seriously amazing gelato here. They had some really unique flavors like Cannela (or cinnamon, which is my new favorite). The prices were extremely reasonable as well. My friend is generally not too into ice creams etc. She could not get enough of this place. I was shocked when she suggested going here for a 2nd time in the same day!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gelateria Ice Cream IL GOLOSONE also viewed

Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
 
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
 

Been to Gelateria Ice Cream IL GOLOSONE? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gelateria Ice Cream IL GOLOSONE, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.