We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Restaurant in Hotel Monterrosso Alto” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Monterosso Alto

Save Saved
You added Hotel Monterosso Alto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Monterosso Alto
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Loc. Colle di Gritta, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 19 hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Stratford, Canada
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Restaurant in Hotel Monterrosso Alto”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Couldn't find restaurant separately so am reviewing it under Hotel name. Stopped here for lunch after driving along Cinque Terre narrow roads. Had the best Seafood Salad ever for 13 Euros. It was assorted grilled seafood ( Prawns, clams, mussels, squid, octopus and a few other shellfish I couldn't identify...just delicious) with only a carrot shaving in the shape of a rose and 2 bay leaves as garnish. Very good menu in a beautiful dining room. This hotel sits above Moterosso al Mare. There is no view but the food certainly made up for it. My 3 companions tried various items and were all very pleased with their choices. The hotel itself looks quaint and staff extremely accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    25
    13
    5
    4
See reviews for
11
39
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We had a wonderful experience at this little inn. Located a short shuttle ride away from town, you get the most perfect stillness and quiet all around. The couple that run this inn was incredibly accommodating of our very active baby, with the cook whipping up food for her and making us feel relaxed and at home (as opposed to many places we travel, where we're constantly apologizing and walking on eggshells chasing after our rambunctious little one).
The food was terrific, and the inn charmingly simple and sweet. If you're looking for a relaxing, peaceful stay, I highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Situated top of the hill above Monterosso, no views, but good shuttle service to town. Comfortable room, tiny bathroom, very friendly staff, fine breakfast, good restaurant and full bar for lunch and dinner. Great location for hiking.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centreville, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This was a lovely experience and we would happily return. The staff was friendly, accommodating, and went above and beyond to ensure we had an enjoyable stay. The manager/owners were helpful in providing guidance and recommendations regarding dining and touring, and even drove us into town when our bus did not arrive. The rooms were not glamorous, but were clean and comfortable, and well worth the price. As we had come for the location, we were not looking for anything luxurious, but felt as if this more than met our expectations.

Stayed May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

The hotel, ( which is more like a hostel/lodge) is located WAY up the hill and requires transport to and from town. Upon arrival, the owner, Jonathan, provided us with various information, to include the free shuttle schedule. I thought I heard him say that the shuttle ran every 15-20 minutes. Anyways, Later, that evening, my husband and I walked past the owner, and went outside to wait for the shuttle that we thought ran every 15-20 minutes. We had a dinner reservation in town. After waiting and waiting, my husband asked the owner when the shuttle would arrive.. He said 5 minutes. More time passed. No shuttle. After several additional attempts to talk with the owner about when the shuttle would come: the owner made it clear that he had given us the shuttle schedule and obviously we had not STUDIED it! He noted the shuttle was not coming. ( why did he let us stand outside soo long waiting for it? ) My husband then asked for a taxi to be called. The taxi arrived and we started to get in,but then the owner and taxi driver started yelling back and forth in Italian and we were gestured to not get in the taxi, after a bit more yelling, we were told we could get in the taxi... Then the owner yelled at us as we left! Unbelievable! We have never experienced such rudeness, especially from someone who has a business dependent on customers and the feedback they provide others. Fortunately we did not have to deal with him again during our stay. I would not recommend this place based on the owners rudeness and lack of basic customer service. Also, the location is very inconvenient.

Room Tip: The rooms are BASIC. Tiny, capsule like shower! The lock box in the room is a tackle box, bolted to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

We booked a quad room at monterosso alto and we were pleasantly suprised. We got to choose between the room with a bath or the one with the shower and as we were two couples we chose the bath one because it was two separate rooms with a bathroom in the middle! The rooms were nice, clean and fresh but the first night we didnt get a blanket in either bed so had to request one the following morning and the room with the pull out sofa had no room to put suit cases! Overall the hotel was lovely the location wasn't too bad except if you end up with the grumpy shuttle driver. Breakfast was good and the staff very friendly and helpful even making us a breakfast bag for our 6am departure! I'd recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Monterosso Alto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monterosso Alto

Address: Loc. Colle di Gritta, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Monterosso Alto 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Monterosso Alto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monterosso Alto Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Monterosso Alto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.