We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely hotel with a gorgeous view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Porto Roca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Porto Roca to your Saves list
Hotel Porto Roca
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via Corone, 1, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Walpole, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“A lovely hotel with a gorgeous view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We recently returned from 2 weeks in Italy and had a great experience at the Porto Roca. While our room was small it was very clean. We did not have a balcony but did have a fantastic view from the terrace. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was good with a broad selection. The walk up the hill was good exercise with all the food and wine. Cinque Terre was amazing. We would definitely recommend the Porto Roca.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    154
    113
    41
    23
    11
See reviews for
57
207
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Italy
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We simply don't understand any negative reviews about Porto Roca. Our room was basic, but clean and quiet, not to mention that incredibly beautiful view of teal sea water. We had a small balcony but spent much of our time on the veranda below watching ships and waves roll in. The wait staff brought us wine, snacks and just about anything we wanted. In the restaurant, we had sole fish and swordfish that were de-boned at the table and simply wonderful. When we left, we accidentally left behind a bag of small souvenirs. The staff located the bag in the common area and shipped the purchases to our hotel in Venice AND NEVER CHARGED US FOR THE POSTAGE. We thought Porto Roca was divine. In fact, I miss it already!

Room Tip: Just get one with that breathtaking view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Cinque Terre was our first excursion on our honeymoon cruise. Once we arrived to Monterosso we immediately escaped our tourist filled area and headed up the trail to Hotel Porto Roca to find lunch away from the main areas. We had the best wine, pasta and salads with gorgeous views. The service was excellent. We're definitely putting this hotel on the short list when we return to Italy.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013 via mobile

This hotel offers stunning views if you're fortunate enough to get an ocean balcony. The staff was nice and friendly but the accommodations are average...for a couple nights, it's an adequate place to stay.

Stayed April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
British Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My husband and I just returned from our honeymoon in Europe and I had to share some of the experiences we had at some of the hotels we stayed at. Once we left France and were headed for Italy the level of hospitality increased ten fold! Hotel Porto Roca was an amazing location and a wonderful hotel. We travelled to all 5 villages in Cinque Terre and our hotel was the most amazing by far. This hotel is built up on a rock face looking down to the ocean. The waves crash up onto the rocks and the view is unreal. The hospitality was superb. Everyone at the hotel was polite and smiling. They were also accommodating to us. I definitely recommend this for others traveling to Cinque Terre.

Room Tip: I suggest you splurge and get a room on the third floor. The room is smaller but your balcony is a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glendale, Arizona, United States
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We just returned home from a week at the Hotel Porto Roca, celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary. We used the hotel as our home base to explore the towns of Cinque Terre and the surrounding region. The breakfasts were included and were delicious, with both hot and cold choices available. The dinners at the Ristorante La Terrazza del Porto Roca, which was the restaurant at the hotel, were so wonderful that we ate there nearly every night. This is a seafood lovers paradise. It is also a wonderful location for active people who like to hike, bicycle, and explore. It is also a photographers paradise. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and multilingual. We stayed in room 202, which is a comfortable two room suite overlooking the ocean with a balcony. It had a jacuzzi tub and shower and a bidet. It also had a walk in closet, wireless internet access, and a very comfortable bed. We also used the hotel laundry service, which allowed us to only pack half the clothes we needed for the trip. The hotel would launder your clothes at a very reasonable price. We dropped off our laundry in the morning and it was clean and folded back in our room that same afternoon. They are also nearly finished building a swimming pool on the side of the cliff on the far end of the hotel, which will be incredible when it is finished. The hotel also offers direct access to the hiking trail to Vernazza. We strongly recommend good hiking shoes and two telescoping hiking sticks per person for hiking the trail from Monterosso to Vernazza.

Room Tip: Although the suite (202) was expensive, it has an incredible ocean view, walk in closet, large bathr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

The hotel is on a cliff about 15 minutes walk from the train station. The city is pedestrian only, the hotel send a taxi to pick us up.

The hotel is old and past its four stars glory days. Our room was a standard sea view and small. The decor is pathetic, yellow painted wall, old painting, furniture is ok. The bathroom was big . We also had a bacony with two chairs an a small table. This is were you can enjoy the view of the sea.

The hotel has a large outdoor covered dinning area with the view of the sea, this is were you also have breakfast. Breakfast is typical but the juices are just water, sugar and flavour. If you want a fruit juice it's 7 euro, omellete 9 euros additonal (there is scramble eggs at the buffet).

The price is too much 295 euro with breakfast. We were a bit last minutes for a long weeked but still it is absolutely not worth that price.

The service is competent and friendly. You can also start the Cinque terre trail right from the hotel. ( Beware, you can only do Monterrosso - Vernazza (1:15h) as the rest of the trtail is still closed due to rock sliding)

So, only if you want to pay for the view....

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Porto Roca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porto Roca

Address: via Corone, 1, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Porto Roca 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Porto Roca is located 200 metres from the historic centre of Monterosso and at the start to the 5 terre path. Its extraordinary location between land and sky on the sea offers a relaxing oasis far from noise and stress of everyday modern life. It boasts 40 air-conditioned rooms and 3 suites. Our chef offers traditional and typical local dishes in our panoramic inside and outside restaurants overlooking the sea and harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Porto Roca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Roca Hotel
Hotel Porto Roca Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Porto Roca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.