We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE BEST HOTEL AND RESTAURANT IN CINQUE TERRE” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Porto Roca

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Porto Roca to your Saves list
Hotel Porto Roca
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   via Corone, 1, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Moscow
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“THE BEST HOTEL AND RESTAURANT IN CINQUE TERRE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2011

We lived at the Hotel Porto Roca for 10 days from 7 September. From the first minutes at the hotel we were delighted with almost everything we saw. We had a room on the top floor with large terrace. Highly recommend the rooms on top floor or at least rooms with view. It's worth it. All 10 days we could not get enough of the beauty of the surroundings. Having this great location and views they don’t need nothing more, but the hotel have a lot of very good facilities. It is the only hotel that has private beach with free sunchairs, umbrellas and towels. I'm not afraid to say that the hotel's restaurant is the best in the town. Only a few restaurants in the world have such a picturesque location with such a marvellous view. They cook very good traditional dishes with elements of haute cuisine. We tried almost all the menu. And it's not overpriced. The service is worthy of all praise. Even if some of young waiters cannot speak English very well but they try to please, and it has its own charm. Porto Roca is very close to the old city center but in the isolated position. Scenic route to the hotel clinging to the cliff is the first steps of the famous hiking trail. Every time we walked up and down on the way to the hotel I couldn't help but take pictures again and again... I have to say about Monterosso people. They are very kind and talented. We were happy to take part in two local events that habitants of Monterosso organized for themselves and tourists. It was a great funny performance on the streets of old town. Besides, almost every night there was a concert or performance on the pier of old seaport. Also we saw a magnificent firework and a cycle race. We live in the city of 16 millions people, but don’t see so many events during whole year, as we have watched in 1,6 thousand Monterosso for 10 days.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    113
    41
    23
    11
See reviews for
58
207
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

Had three nights here with two teenagers during half term. The service really is exceptional - from being picked up from the train station to all the various arrangements. In terms of walking the cingue terre, the nicest walk by far is north from Monterosso to Levanto; there are a couple of routes and there are far fewer people walking the route. The second day with the kids we walked the other way along the main cinque terre. The first leg is nice, but then it gets progressively busy. Nice to do, but if I was in the area again I'd research the high route, and maybe try to walk all the way down to Portovenere. Presumably lots of the route have been washed away in the recent floods. Ben

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2011 via mobile

Perfect position high in the rocks overlooking Monterosso. Yes, it's expensive, but the views are worth every penny. Staff is very friendly and helpful. Strongly recommended!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

We stayed here as part of a tour. Someone important was staying while we were there so we had a police guard outside our terrace the whole time! Whilst it made us feel safe, it did stop us from sitting on our deck as we felt a bit uncomfortable with the "fuzz" so close by. The walk up the hill was a killer but worth it. We dined in the hotel restaurant one night because it rained so badly we couldnt walk down to the town. The restaurant staff were top notch, super friendly and efficient and with great English. Excellent breakfasts too. Yes, the rooms were a bit dated but very clean and we loved the fact that we werent down in the middle of all the busyness of the town. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel if you can spend the extra $$$ to stay there. Well worth it.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

The hotel is some distsnce from the train station but they supply a shuttle service to the hotel if you call them. The hotel is ideally located on aclifftopwith panoramic viewsof the sea. An ideallocation to relax and enjoy Montorosso. Just a a few metre down from the hotel is the beginning of the path to the next village. The road to the hotel is a bit of a climb but if you take your time it is ok. You are away from the hustle and bustle but within walking distance to get to the Motorosso town. Would go back anytime. Make sure you get a room with a seaview.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2011

Fantastic location with magnificent views from hotel and room balconies over ocean. Staff friendly and helpful. Great breakfast included in price.

Room Tip: Ask for room with ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

Hotel Porto Roca is like stepping back in time. The cliff side/ocean view setting, just minutes to town, is the best in the area. The food, especially octopus and shellfish dishes, is superb. It is not a new, glitzy property and it isn't the most updated in the world but the setting and the people are the best.
Absolutely get a balcony view room and try to stay on a corner so you get the most sea view.
The path just below the hotel takes you to the other 5 towns, and a quick walk down the hill takes you to all the bars and restaurants and focaccia bakeries you could desire. Then, at the end of the evening, you walk back up the hill and observe the town and sunset without having to be in the thick of things. Charming, and wonderful. The only caution would be to avoid the Cinque Terre in high season...we visited in May and that was right on the edge of being too crowded.

Room Tip: Corner room; higher level ask for best sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Porto Roca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Porto Roca

Address: via Corone, 1, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
#8 Family Hotel in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Porto Roca 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Porto Roca is located 200 metres from the historic centre of Monterosso and at the start to the 5 terre path. Its extraordinary location between land and sky on the sea offers a relaxing oasis far from noise and stress of everyday modern life. It boasts 40 air-conditioned rooms and 3 suites. Our chef offers traditional and typical local dishes in our panoramic inside and outside restaurants overlooking the sea and harbour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Porto Roca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Roca Hotel
Hotel Porto Roca Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Porto Roca, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.