We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great fried calamari” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Da Oscar

Trattoria Da Oscar
Via Vittorio Emanuele 67, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
339 4628739
Improve this listing
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great fried calamari”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We had some of the best fried calamari that we've ever eaten here. The pastas were done perfectly and the sauces were just right. Salad mista topped off the meal.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    37
    9
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing meal, well priced, highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

His was one of our favorite meals in Italy. It's tiny, and they speak very little English (less than most in Italy). We each had a great seafood pasta dish and the house wine. Our tab was only 35 euros or so. The pasta was fresh and the location is in an uncrowded alley. We would go back here any day and highly recommend trying this over the restaurants on the main stretch.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“reasonably priced home style pasta marinara”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

no fuss fresh ingredients good serviice and best pasta marinara ever had at a fair price generous serivngs

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, BC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best meal of our Europe trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

My fiance and I are still talking about the dinner we had here. I had the pesto pasta with potato and he had the penne arribiatta. Both were amazing! Finished off with the seafood sampler, fantastic. Wish this restaurant was closer to home!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Yum and honest cooking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

I went there for dinner twice during my holiday.
I think its own by a family and they are very friendly.
Food is really good. Short menu but straight and honest home cooking.
First night I have the tuna carpaccio for antipasti which was divine, and big portion. pansotti con salsa di noce tasted great.
Second night I has the whole plate of pasta with clams (for 2 ppl) and I finished them all... Could hardly walk that night.
I will definitely go back to this little gem next time when I'm in monterosso

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Da Oscar also viewed

Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
 
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
 

Been to Trattoria Da Oscar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Da Oscar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.