We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“LOVE this restaurant!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Barabba in White

Barabba in White
Via Fegina 11, Monterosso al Mare, Italy
+39 0187 819238
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $18 - $25
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
North Hampton, New Hampshire
1 review
“LOVE this restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

LOVE this restaurant! Under new management this year...food was FANTASTIC! We returned for the local fresh fish entrees, but the pizzas looked great too. What really set Barabba's apart was that unlike other restaurants in the area, the entire staff made us feel extremely welcomed and ensured that the chef was aware of my gluten-sensitivity. The restaurant is right on the water, with beautiful views. HIGHLY recommend!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgio C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Barabba in White, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. Our goal is to make people feel at home and we hope to succeed in what we do. Your comment is very nice and makes us all very happy. We would love to make our customers happy as you were you. The staff of Barabbas in white
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    46
    15
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A fresh start for new owners”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

This restaurant had only reopened the previous day and the new owners were especially keen to impress. We were invited in and the staff were all friendly and attentive. We were given a complimentary wood oven baked focaccia before we had even ordered. This was delicious. The risotto was very nice although the other meal we ordered came with fries rather than what we thought would be freshly cut and prepared potatoes. A complimentary Limoncello finished the meal. Their ATM did not work so we needed to go and get cash which was a negative. Nice vibe though!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giorgio C, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Barabba in White, responded to this review, April 9, 2014
Thank you so much for your comment. We are very sorry for the inconvenience of payment, but we solved the problem immediately. We hope to see you soon from us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasantville, NY
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Stay away - terrible.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Had lunch here with a group. The food was the worst of the trip. The staff is rude and not at all friendly or helpful. The wine tasted as if they added water to it. The food was not fresh and they were out of almost everything. The location is directly on the water, however, they have their dirty plastic shades down so when you ate you didn't even know the water was right outside. Spend your money and time somewhere else.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great pizza”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

I absolutely loved the pizza Italian which is their pizza with arugula pesto....love wood fired pizza and arugula in general but this particular pizza had a thin layer of cheese nearly to the edge of the pie and fabulous fresh tomatoes as well. My husband enjoyed mine more than his calzone. We had no schedule so did not need nor want fast service. I would say in general if Americans considered the "slow" service of Italy a gracious gift to travelers we would be happier with it. And if you want fast service try asking for it at the beginning of your meal. I am sure many like us would be happy to enjoy our seaside table longer in lieu of others'food being prepared first.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We had breakfast there two mornings, dinner one night and were very surprised by the amount and quality of the food. The service was great! We can't say enough about Katerina, she was a pleasure to meet. Very friendly and nice. When we checked out of our room we had a couple of hours before our train she watched our luggage and fixed us some wonderful sandwiches and snacks to take on our journey home. Would go back a thousand times over!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barabba in White also viewed

Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
 
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
 

Been to Barabba in White? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barabba in White, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.