We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ristorante by the sea...under the railway tracks in the old town!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Belvedere

Ristorante Belvedere
Piazza Garibaldi 38, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
+39 0187 817033
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Al Ain, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Ristorante by the sea...under the railway tracks in the old town!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

My sister and I went to this restaurant because the tour guide said it was good value for money. We did a day trip to Cinque Terre and had the three course meal and all the wine we could drink for 20euros. Really good value. Starter was curled pasta with a basil pesto sauce, a famous product from the area and white wine, second course was grilled fish and roasted rosemary potatoes (fish & chips) and white wine, the third course was vanilla ice cream with chopped seasonal fruits and white wine. I have no photos of this meal, because I was too busy enjoying the lovely company we met that day and the food and the wine!! Great service too, food was hot and delicious.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

568 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    208
    222
    77
    38
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Escondido, California
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Nice view and good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The outside seating was full when we arrived so they told us to come back in 20 minutes and there would be a table for us. We got a front row table when we returned so we had a great view of the water. The food was good, but not great. Appetizers of meats and cheese and caprese salad were fresh, pasta with pesto was good, and swordfish was fresh but could have use a little sauce with it. Dessert of creme brulee and fruit salad were both good. Coffee was best I've had in Italy so far. Service was fast for how busy they were. It was a good meal but nothing outstanding.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“awesome seafood soup”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

We went there twice for dinner during our 2- day trip. Their service are good and food are tasty. Seafood soup is amazing and presentation is really interesting. We even got discount for dinners beacause of staying in their hotel. Good value.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Home of pesto”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

On the beach in the old town. We had heard that this part of Italy was where pesto was invented. Not being a fish eater, I ordered the pasta. Best pesto ever! I've been trying to recreate it ever since. The restaurant is simple and quaint. The staff are great. The number of locals who eat there tells you that the food is good. Bravo!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telluride, Colorado
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“I'm still thinking about the Fish Soup”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

What more is there to say...The fish soup was the best seafood dish I've ever had. The lobster, octopus, mussels, prawns etc etc etc Absolutely fantastic. I've never had octopus that tasted so good. The soup dish we had was 48 euros for the mega sampler and we split it 3 ways, easily. The 4th even joined in.

The service was on par with most of the restaurants in Italy...which, from my experience was pretty mediocre. Our server was very nice, but not timely.

We should have eaten here every night!! Great recommendation from Andrea at il Carugio hotel!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Belvedere also viewed

Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
 
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
 

Been to Ristorante Belvedere? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Belvedere, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.