We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For seafood lovers, a good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Via Venti

Ristorante Via Venti
Via XX settembre, 32, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
+39 0187818347
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“For seafood lovers, a good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

Menu is seafood heavy. My husband ordered the seafood ravioli and found a very strong fish taste (although he regularly eats seafood). Service was friendly and professional. Atmosphere was lovely sitting outside on a quiet side street. If you love seafood you will be happy with this choice.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    68
    22
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“LOVED LOVED LOVED it”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

Went after seeing the reviews on Trip Advisor and was really happy with the experience.

The server took the time to explain each dish, telling us how the fish/scampi/crab was going to come out i.e. with or with out bones/shell etc. All of the seafood is completely fresh so you can see it before it is cooked so you really do know it is fresh. We had the mixed meats for anti-pasti which came with a surprise helping of home-made pesto (yum), crab gnocchi and also scampi gnocchi (both divine) and a mixed fresh fish plate and a pork escalope.

The food was amazing but it was the service touches that helped set this restaurant apart from others with great food. Also, whilst you are on the street it is not the Main Street so you feel quite enclosed whilst still eating outside.

Definitely worth a visit!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely local food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We had a very nice meal at Via Venti, the location isn't great (view wise), but food was very good. Delicious seafood and wine list to match!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

There are many places to choose from in this area. We went there based on good reviews in Trip Advisor. There is nothing wrong with the place and the food was tasty but it had nothing than any of the the others didn't have.

Service was slow as they were busy with one waiter. Food came out reasonably time wise but we ordered pasta dishes ... A minor irritation was that every other restaurant has house wines for a couple euros ... This place had their house bottles, half bottle 9euros for wine that was not really much better than the 3euro in all the other places.

So overall not bad but not outstanding, still worth going there but there are others of the same standard.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A very good meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were not disappointed in our experience at Via Venti, and only wished that it wasn’t raining so we could have sat outside. The fish seemed to have been caught that day and certainly looked fresh, and the rest of the food was quite tasty. The restaurant is run by a family and they manage it beautifully – we wouldn’t hesitate to return on our next trip to Monterosso.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Via Venti also viewed

Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
 
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
 

Been to Ristorante Via Venti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Via Venti, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.