We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get the sea food spaghetti” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Ancora della Tortuga

L'Ancora della Tortuga
Salita Cappuccini, 6, Monterosso al Mare, Italy
0187-800-065
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Huntington Beach
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Get the sea food spaghetti”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

I just got back after spending 4 weeks in Italy. My best meal was at this place. Other people on this site disagree but I found it outstanding. The view is exceptional.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    154
    96
    26
    9
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, MD
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable evening at L'Ancora della Tortuga”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We had a particularly flavorful dinner at L'Ancora della Tortuga. Perched atop the rocky coastline between the new and old parts of town, this restaurant has a dreamy view of new Monterosso and the sea. Unfortunately, we were not able to dine outside because of weather, but the inside was comfortable and pleasant.

We started with the best appetizer of our trip, a mixed seafood grill and smaller mix of fried seafood thrown in for good measure. The whole meal was excellent, but the appetizers were truly outstanding for their creativity, presentation, taste and freshness.

The service was also very good.

Between our outstanding lunch at Ristorante Belforte earlier in the day, and dinner at L'Ancora della Tortuga, this was a most delicious day of travel.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“It was okay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

It's hard to find bad food in Italy but of all the places I visited in Monterossa this was my least favorite. It tasted a bit generic. The view was gorgeous so if you're looking for a nice place to relax maybe it's worth trying.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel Valley CA
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Music of the ocean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We had a great meal at this gem.. I had a vegetarian pumpkin lasagna dish that was very good. Simple and delicious. We sat above the ocean and listened to the waves-very romantic! The servers do not have it easy, the kitchen is below the outside eating area-but very professional and nice.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, WI
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Listen to the staff!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We chose a seat insice, due to rainy weather. We ordered our wine, and were not quite sure what to order for the meal. We asked the waitress for advice. She mentioned what she liked, and what was popular. We went with her preference, and ended up with one of the best meals of our entire 3 week trip.

It's a smart idea to stop in early or call for a reservation.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Ancora della Tortuga also viewed

Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
 
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
 

Been to L'Ancora della Tortuga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Ancora della Tortuga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.