We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Listen to the staff!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of L'Ancora della Tortuga

L'Ancora della Tortuga
Salita Cappuccini, 6, Monterosso al Mare, Italy
0187-800-065
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Milwaukee, WI
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Listen to the staff!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We chose a seat insice, due to rainy weather. We ordered our wine, and were not quite sure what to order for the meal. We asked the waitress for advice. She mentioned what she liked, and what was popular. We went with her preference, and ended up with one of the best meals of our entire 3 week trip.

It's a smart idea to stop in early or call for a reservation.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

79% Recommend
    125
    80
    23
    8
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Unfortunately the wonderful location (if you have an outdoor table) does not make up for the poor food and service. Our waitress was rude, distant and inattentive. We needed to ask another server for assistance during the meal and we were only one of three occupied tables. The seafood salad was average, the seafood lasagna was overcooked and mushy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverside, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Can't beat this setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Sat outside "upstairs" overlooking the water right between the old and new parts of town. A perfect location to eat our last meal in the Cinque Terre. A mixed seafood antipasto was mind blowing. Very good Branzino. Cannelloni were unfortunately just too heavy for the summer. All the kids had pansotti with lobster and licked their plates clean. Sadly, the service was atrocious (and we're pretty tolerant/easy we like to think). Worst service in our entire 9 day trip.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Molto Buono!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

It is a romantic restaurant perched on the side of a cliff overlooking the Ligurian Sea. The service and food were very good and the dinner prices were reasonable. As we ate dinner, we watched the sun set over the shimmering sea. I ate braised octopus and my wife ate linguine pasta with bolognese sauce. It was a delightful memory.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food and fabulous setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We enjoyed our eating experience here both for the good, local food and the atmosphere. We found that attempting to speak at least some Italian helped to show respect to people in shops, hotels and restaurants and we always had good service. I liked the simple, tasteful decor inside and the beautiful view from the outside terrace. The seafood was delicious and the fresh pasta sublime.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed L'Ancora della Tortuga also viewed

Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
 
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
 

Been to L'Ancora della Tortuga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage L'Ancora della Tortuga, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.