We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good value for the town, and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ristorante Al Carugio

Ristorante Al Carugio
Via S. Pietro 9, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
0039 0187 817367
Website
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Central Coast, NSW, Australia
Top Contributor
347 reviews 347 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 96 cities Reviews in 96 cities
314 helpful votes 314 helpful votes
“Very good value for the town, and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

This one was recommended to us by the place we stayed at. We were there in May 2012 just after they re-opened. To hear stories of how deep the place was in mud only months before was amazing. The food was great and the atmosphere fantastic. Very friendly english-speaking staff. Highly recommended in a town where it can be difficult to get a good meal at reasonable prices.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    95
    37
    8
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Readington, New Jersey
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
“Fabulous pesto!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

After getting lost from our group in Monterosso - we were so fortunate to stumble upon Ristorante Al Carugio! It's tucked away just off the beaten path. We sat at a little table for 2 outside. The service was very good and the help were very pleasant to us! We started with a carafe of the house wine... it was terrific! The pasta is all homemade - and very fresh! We had the ravioli and the trofie a la pesto! Both were fabulous!!
If you make a trip to Cinque Terre - and visit Monterosso - you MUST grab a bite here!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Had a great time at this restaurant. I loved the trofie with pesto, and the local house wine was some of the best wine we had on our whole trip! The staff was friendly and helpful as well. I accidentally left my jacket on the chair at the end of the meal and didn't realize it until two days later. When I went back, the jacket was still untouched on the back of the chair, which they had moved into a back room for safe-keeping in case I returned.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Hill, Virginia, United States
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent pasta”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

loved the ravioli here and the house wine was very tasty. This place is very affordable with friendly staff and large menu.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“An excellent meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We started off with an excellent salad including tuna and shrimp, and they had no problem with our request to serve the seafood on a separate plate. Their seafood pasta and pesto was excellent and was the best of our trip. Our server was most pleasant and friendly. An excellent experience.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ristorante Al Carugio also viewed

Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
 
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
 

Been to Ristorante Al Carugio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ristorante Al Carugio, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.