We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Trattoria Ciak La Lampara

Trattoria Ciak La Lampara
Piazza Don Minzoni, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
+39 0187 817014
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $60
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Closed Wednesday and from December to March
North Yorkshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Fresh and simple...my family loved the meal and service from this well run family restaurant, Mother, Father and two sons. I really enjoyed my pasta with seafood cooked in front of me, followed by char grilled baby octopus. I personally could not fault anything and the local wine was 1st class. The kids enjoyed their gnocchi pesto and Maree really enjoyed her perfectly cooked beef fillet.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    195
    121
    67
    55
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“Very happy to stumble across this EXCELLENT restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

I knew that we were in for a treat once we walked inside to a room buzzing with happy customers. The decor is modern, yet cosy. The kitchen is open and fronts onto the dining area, and all the staff, including the chef, were sumpremely friendly and playful, cheeky even!

We ordered:

Smoked salmon with toasted bread
Shrimp ravioli to share (min 2 person: served piping hot in a pottery bowl. A MUST!)
Grilled fish skewers (Octypus, lobster, prawn, calamarie)

The food was incredible! I saw other plates going out to customers and it was all mouth watering. I am not a huge pasta eater, but you must try pasta at Ciak. It is out of this world good.

A definte must if you are in Monterosso.

Cost of meal, no alcohol, 80 EURO. Very reasonable for an excellent meal!

Enjoy!

Kate xx

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, CA
Top Contributor
218 reviews 218 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 153 cities Reviews in 153 cities
170 helpful votes 170 helpful votes
“Get over it you are in the Cinque Terra”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Forget the 3 euro per person pane charge, the bottled water, no tap water, at 3 euro, and wine only available by the bottle (starting at about 19 euro). A lovely indoor/outdoor restaurant with good food and service. Next time I will look at the tables of other outdoor restaurants (and there are plenty of them) for carafes of water and wine. Oh stop being such a Cheap Charlie!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good lunch, lousy hospitality”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Had lunch at thursday noon. Waiter was rude, misheard us and thought we only wanted drinks. We were planning primi and secondi platti but because he did not pay attention we just had spaghetti. Which was very nice but a bit overpriced. It seemed like they were busy enough and therefore did not pay attention to customers.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville, CA
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Slightly pricey, but worth it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Waiter was nice and friendly. The pesto gnocchi was awesome. Outdoor seating is packed and crowded but definitely lively and fun.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trattoria Ciak La Lampara also viewed

Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
 
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
Monterosso al Mare, Cinque Terre
 

Been to Trattoria Ciak La Lampara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trattoria Ciak La Lampara, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.