We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Room; Great Food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Stella della Marina

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Stella della Marina to your Saves list
Hotel Stella della Marina
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via XX Settembre 11, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable Room; Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Our room was on the third floor and we used the small elevator to get our luggage to the room. The room was small, but very clean. We enjoyed a small balcony. We loved a delicious pasta snack in the afternoon and wonderful breakfast (included in the stated rate). There was a 10% discount for paying in cash instead of using the credit card. The staff was friendly and helpful. The hotel was a 15 minute walk from the train station, but it was well worth it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    31
    9
    1
    2
See reviews for
13
55
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I can't believe that this hotel is still operating. The DK Italy travel guide rates this hotel as one of the best in Monterosso but I can honestly say that it is probably the worst hotel I have ever had the misfortune of staying in. Tucked away up a back alleyway, access from the main car park is difficult with a 10 minute walk dragging suitcases through the street.
The two rooms that my family stayed in were very small with sliding doors to get into the toilet/shower/hand basin cubicle! The balcony looked onto a brick wall.
The restaurant was unstaffed in the evening and chaotic in the morning with none of the non-italian staff fully competent on operating the basic coffee making equipment. The whole experience was topped off when I went to pay my bill and was greeted at reception by a member of staff who wreaked of stale alcohol and had clearly had a heavy session the night before.
At 135 Euros per night my advice to all fellow travellers heading for Liguria and the Cinque Terre experience is avoid this hotel at all costs. There are plenty of other new hotels and guest house in the town.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

LOVED this hotel. Our room was charming and immaculate, the staff was incredibly friendly and helpful, and the location was the closest to perfect you could ask for. Other reviewers commented on there being no elevators, but this was no problem for us, and the staff was great helping us with our luggage. Breakfast is delicious, and served on the rooftop terrace. Every day should start with cappuccino and a view that magnificent. We will definitely come back to both Monterosso and Hotel Stella della Marina as often as possible.

Room Tip: The rooms are unique and each one we saw seemed quite nice. Ours had two floors connected by a beaut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Monterosso was our final stop on our Italian adventure and Stella della Marina was a great way to end our trip. The staff was friendly and helpful. The rooms were quaint and quiet. The breakfast was OVER THE TOP. Made to order omelets, fresh cut fruit and cappuccinos like you've never had before. The view each morning at breakfast was breathtaking. Definitely worth waking up to. The location of the hotel was perfect. Located right in the heart of Monterosso within walking distance of the beach. Be sure to have Cinque Terre's specialty pasta, Trofie pasta, and the Gnocchi with homemade pesto at Ciak. I highly recommend Stella della Marina, a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Please note: showers and bathrooms are very small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Some were local and knew about festivities and such and this was especially useful info. The Breakfast was WAY more than I expected- hearty and delicious (it is included in the price of your room!). The room was charming. It was a FANTASTIC LOCATION. I was so glad I chose this place. And what a deal! The WiFi was spotty one night, but the rest of the time came through good and clear. I just can't say enough nice things about this place. Star of the Marina indeed!!!

Room Tip: I was on the 4th floor. I didn't have a problem as I travel very light, but there is no elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This hotel was what it said, great value and in a great location. Monterosso is the flattest of the Cinque Terre and the easiest to get around. There are plenty of bars and restaurants in both the old and the new towns.
The hotel has five floors. Floor five a long way up a lot of stairs but walk in to the room and open the window and you forget about the climb. The view is over the church and the marina and just fantastic.
The terrace on the fourth floor serves as the breakfast room and the breakfast provided is terrific.
The staff were friendly and helpful and overall staying at this hotel was a great experience.

Room Tip: Ask where your room is before lugging cases upstairs. If you are on an upper floor take one bag up a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

The accomodation is a 2 star Italian experience with comfy beds and very very clean rooms and small bathroom but the service is just great. Max and his team went all out to make sure we were happy and well looked after. He made sure we had water before our walks, was happy to accomodate a last minute room change due to a personal matter and the breakfasts except for the juice were just great. The roof terrace is underused! Every night me and my girls bought salami and mozzarella and had our aperitif up there...

really great for the price and the location is fab!!! Best restaurant nearby is alta mare

Room Tip: depends how fit you are..no elevator..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Stella della Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Stella della Marina

Address: Via XX Settembre 11, 19016 Monterosso al Mare, Italy
Location: Italy > Liguria > Italian Riviera > Cinque Terre > Monterosso al Mare
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Monterosso al Mare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Stella della Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Stella della Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Stella Della Marina Monterosso Al Mare, Cinque Terre, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Stella della Marina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.